I Wrote Haikus About Cannibalism...
iwrotehaikusaboutcannibalisminyour...


5.0
classic

Review

by speedkills1995 USER (15 Reviews)
September 8th, 2012 | 18 replies | 2,110 views


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: "The music is feelings, and the lyrics are thinking too much and out loud."

It truly is a shame that I Wrote Haikus have not earned as much attention as bands like Saetia, Orchid, Jerome's Dream, and others. Regardless of being a bit ignored in the "limelight", they manage to maintain a somewhat loyal following of fans.

I Wrote Haikus was active from 2004 to 2006, and in that time, they released a 5-song demo (2004), an 8-song demo (2005), and in 2010, the jackpot: The discography LP on Discos Huelga. This record compiles renewed versions of the 13 tracks from those previous releases.

The record opens with a mellow "intro", which is merely two guitars intertwining together to create a very atmospheric backdrop. Despite being a bit of a sore thumb when compared to the other tracks, it fits in quite nicely. Instead of quickly jumping into the album, you are slowly prepared for what is about occur. As this opening track ends, Trei's feral scream is heard, and with that, Track 2 begins. You may now sit back, and enjoy 12 tracks composed of noisy guitars, messy drumming, and dark, passionate vocals.

The quality of the album is not fantastic, however, it is much better than the quality of the two demos. While the demo tapes simply resembled organized noise, the Discography presents us with somewhat clear sound. The guitar work is a bit more distinguished and understandable, rather than being static-laden and somewhat incomprehensible. The vocals are always impactful: Freddie and Trei screaming in unison. It is a heart-wrenching performance.

One of the stand out tracks is Track 7. The screaming of "Save me from my room...save me from my thoughts" leads into a harmonic, post-rock style dimension. Another fantastic tune is Track 10, which appears to have been recorded live, or in front of friends.

Never under-estimate this band. They will display a variety of emotion: Everything from anger to sadness. The album explodes, mellows, and then prepares to collapse into a frenzy of teenage feelings. And this not a very repetitive record, though one may assume it to be on the first listen. The guitar interlude after Track 10 is a very experimental and unique touch. Also, the growled vocals on Track 11 are worth noting. On the demo version of this track, growled vocals were not present. I suppose this is an example of the band's bravery to experiment, an activity that turns away many bands.

I Wrote Haikus deserve much credit for creating such beautiful, diverse music. I believe Discos Huelga no longer carries the record, though I did manage to grab a copy of the red vinyl from there a while back. I recommend that you search around for a copy of this LP. It likely spends more time on my turntable than anything else in my collection.



Recent reviews by this author
Beartrap Sleep EradicationIron Lung White Glove Test
Jungle Juice Involuntary ConvulsionsAbolition The Language of Violence
Circle Takes The Square Decompositions: Volume Number OneThe Sorrow The Sorrow
user ratings (61)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
skramz whore (5)
This is the sound of growth and triumph....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
September 8th 2012



17319 Comments


terrible band name

Digging: Monolake - Interstate

Adabelle
September 8th 2012



4155 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Just gonna copypasta my rym review for this b/c to lazy to explain what i think of them:

"If you can force yourself through the first 5 tracks, which are badddd, there's some solid stuff on
here, e.g 12. It's a shame they're so inconsistent because when they're up for it (read: tracks 10-15
or thereabouts), I really like them. Also vocals end up sounding like the Spirit of Versailles' by the
end, judge that as you wish."

Pleased to see this reviewed though, stick around dude

FilupLees
September 8th 2012



344 Comments


This isn't a real release. You should have just reviewed the discography LP. This is just an internet and fan made compilation.

Also, the fact that the LP sells for 70 dollars on ebay sort of puts a damper on the idea that they're unknown.

speedkills1995
September 8th 2012



8 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I assumed this was the LP. This is the only listed album. And also, anyone selling this LP for $70 is high, crazy, or both.

Ire
September 8th 2012



41453 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yea

Funeralopolis
September 8th 2012



10420 Comments


can't believe this didn't already have a review

Digging: CunninLynguists - Oneirology

sixdegrees
February 26th 2013



15707 Comments


awesome band name

Digging: TIMO DA LEGEND - molsom love/my life

Kman418
March 2nd 2013



8553 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Only 38 ratings are you kidding me

Digging: Kanye West - Late Registration

foxblood
March 2nd 2013



6797 Comments


i've never been able to track this one down so i never got to hear it, haven't tried in a while though maybe i wasn't very thorough

dude 39 ratings is good by sput standards, half of my favorite albums are rated only by me or like 10 other people

Kman418
March 2nd 2013



8553 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Damn I'm just used to like 100+ ratings on most albums, haha. But yeah I actually just found this browsing random music blogs, didn't take me too long. New links must have been posted since you tried or something cause I had no problem finding it.

Keyblade
March 2nd 2013



13237 Comments


lemme guess...a grind band

foxblood
March 2nd 2013



6797 Comments


nah emo/screamo, and really really good from what i hear
full name is I Wrote Haikus About Cannibalism In Your Yearbook but sput can't fit it

dimsim3478
March 2nd 2013



3942 Comments


Woah this has got somebody(s) from Loma?

Digging: Trophy Scars - Holy Vacants

Adabelle
March 2nd 2013



4155 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Go listen, there are some wicked tracks on here

Kman418
March 2nd 2013



8553 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I wouldn't be surprised if this had guys from Loma in it, it honestly seems like every screamo band is just made up of members from other defunct screamo bands.

dimsim3478
March 8th 2013



3942 Comments


Have no idea how to feel about this. It's just such a behemoth of an emotional mess.

Kman418
March 8th 2013



8553 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Well yeah that's what makes it so good

DanielNightLewis
August 13th 2013



524 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Listening to this now after it jumping out at me during a "stare at my record collection until something catches my eye session".

It's still wonderful.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy