Abyssal
Denouement


4.0
excellent

Review

by xVision USER (2 Reviews)
September 6th, 2012 | 31 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Mind-blowing throughout the whole record, Denouement sounds extremely depressing and showcases great musicianship - all you could hope for in a black/death metal album.

Think about something in your life that you loved and couldn’t get rid of, without knowing the exact reasons as to why this is; something that doesn’t have any particular striking feature. Take a bathroom for example: whether it’s to take a ***, brush your teeth or take a shower, you couldn’t live without it. Or food: do you like the taste, the smell or the look of it? You like it as a whole and appreciate it for its completeness.

That's the case with Abyssal's debut album Denouement, an atmospheric blackened death metal band. Mind-blowing throughout the whole record, which clocks in at 50 minutes, it showcases excellent musicianship and vocals – don’t get me wrong, you will not understand a word of what he says, but these raw-sounding growls do add aggressiveness. Guitars sound great, and while riffs are not always extremely technical and might sound repetitive after a while, they give the album a depressing and sad tone. “When Paradigms Supplant Gods”, using an outstanding combination of blast-beats and melodic guitars, is definitely one of the top tracks on “Denouement”. As for “Swansong of a Dying Race”, a 10-minute epic, it is an absolutely amazing song mainly because of its second half sounding so depressing and sad. However, there is an overly obvious lack of human touch when it comes to the drums, which are programmed. Also, like previously mentioned, the vocals aren’t understandable to the slightest, and this may be a bummer for some. Nevertheless, Denouement remains an exceptional debut by a promising band, and the overall feel is what makes this album what it is: great.


user ratings (72)
Chart.
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
Hawks (4)
You need a mind condom for the mind fuck you're about to experience....


Comments:Add a Comment 
xVision
September 5th 2012


662 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Short write-up: I felt like giving a second opinion on the album. Constructive criticism appreciated.

xVision
September 5th 2012


662 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks man, appreciate it.

xVision
September 5th 2012


662 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks for the amazing feedback bro, I appreciate it. I just corrected it.

xVision
September 5th 2012


662 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks bro

CrimsonFloyd
September 6th 2012


469 Comments


While I do not find it to be as depressing as you make it out to be, have a pos.

xVision
September 6th 2012


662 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks man. I think this comes from you knowing a lot more Black Metal or Blackened Death Metal bands than me.

bach
September 6th 2012


13968 Comments


A little short, but solid none the less. Pos'd

Digging: Thou - Heathen

zaruyache
September 6th 2012


9267 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The computerized drums sound terrible, but the rest of this album is good.

xVision
September 6th 2012


662 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks guys. Appreciate it.

xVision
September 6th 2012


662 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Don't even mention that lol, makes me scared.

xVision
September 6th 2012


662 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yup, and I am one.

xVision
September 6th 2012


662 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

What do you mean? Collaborate to buy myself drum mics?

xVision
September 6th 2012


662 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

We should man! But I don't have mics at the moment, sadly... been playing for 6 years though, what do you play?

xVision
September 6th 2012


662 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Damn nice man! That's about the time I've lived for fyi lol, hope that isnt something that could fuck up if we collaborate in the future, u good with that?

Shuyin
September 7th 2012


12454 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

cool review pos



and dont think youre in the green zone yet, ima still find out your name

xVision
September 8th 2012


662 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks for the 'pos.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
September 8th 2012


16780 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Decent review, couple tips:



That's the case with Abyssal's debut album "Denouement", an Atmospheric Blackened Death Metal band




It's usually standard practice to italicize album names, and genres don't need to be capitalized.



don’t get me wrong, you will not understand a word of what he says, but these raw-sounding growls do add aggressivity




Anyone listening to this album will know that you won't understand the vocals, so saying so is pointless. Also, "aggressivity" is absolutely in no way a word.



Also, like previously mentioned, the vocals aren’t understandable to the slightest, and this may be a bummer for some.




See above.



Your descriptions are also pretty sparse - you really only use "depressing" and "sad" to describe the album as a whole. You could have elaborated a lot more on each instrument and then describe how it all comes together to create an overall mood or atmosphere.

xVision
September 8th 2012


662 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Alright, thanks for the tips man. I wasn't sure about "aggressivity"... Agressiveness is the good word to use right?

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
September 8th 2012


16780 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah that would be the correct word to use there. Just develop your descriptions and try to tie it all together and you will see your writing get real good real fast.

Wizard
September 8th 2012


19897 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I agree with Kyle.



Tid-bit error:



alackened death metal band



*blackened



I would say that when you use words like "mind-blowing", you really need to back it up. Other than that, welcome to the site.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy