Gallows
Gallows


4.0
excellent

Review

by Joseph Viney STAFF
September 3rd, 2012 | 117 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Keep on swinging

What’s in a name? Everything apparently. The debate over which is better – Frank or Wade’s Gallows – rages incessantly on the internet’s intellectual hot-spots; Last FM pages and YouTube video comments. Luckily, the group gives their verdict in a typically defiant fashion. “Everybody loves you/when you’re f*cking dead” barks MacNeil on the similarly titled second track. The implication here is that Gallows, or at least what remained of them after Carter’s departure, would rather burn out enveloped in failure than slide cosily into awed reverence after a mere two albums.

Whether Gallows is better or worse than what came before is a moot point. Some of the hallmarks remain; wanton aggression, breakneck pace and disparate moods planted throughout. What does stand out here is the album’s lean qualities. Eleven songs fly by in a matter of 32 minutes; fat trimmed, excesses dispensed with and a more palatable, back-to-basics approach is implemented. In accordance with their imposed and circumstantial philosophy, Gallows concentrate solely on the present and my word, these fellas have a LOT to say about the modern world.

Where songs like “London Is The Reason” became the soundtrack to England’s 2011 summer riots, Gallows’ newly-found trans-Atlantic flavour means that further, wider issues are being explored. The notion that Gallows are happy to highlight and subsequently tear down the zeitgeist is very much apparent. The upcoming U.S. elections provide the ammunition against the “religious right” on “Cult Of Mary”; the child’s chorus singing along with MacNeil providing a suitably macabre take on things. “Victim Culture” bulldozes the increasingly litigious state of affairs those nations either side of the ocean have to endure. “In us we trust,” growls MacNeil before his cohorts join him in affirming that “victim culture’s on the rise.” “Austere” might well appeal to those feeling the squeeze as a result of the economic crises and world government attempts at belt-tightening, and whilst “Vapid Adolescent Blues” could alienate a sizeable number of their fanbase, it is dead on in its assessment of a world becoming dumb and dumber by the minute.

An uninspired choice at first, MacNeil sounds very much at home with Gallows. The group too sound a lot more comfortable and free to express themselves. As much as a talisman that Carter could be, his persistent will-he-or-won’t-he-leave pantomime became as much a part of the band as the music itself. Instead, everyone involved contributes with aplomb. There is not one note out of place; the music remaining tight, aggressive and addictive throughout. Gallows once again sound like a gang with their backs to the wall displaying a newfound sense of ‘f*ck the world.’ Then again, it’s already f*cked.

“You can stare at a car crash/but it’ll stare right back” state Gallows on “Odessa”. It is a self-fulfilling prophecy. Where Gallows might have turned into a sputtering wreck on the side of the road, they have instead gone eyeball-to-eyeball with all and sundry, releasing what is perhaps their most defining statement thus far.



Recent reviews by this author
Morrissey World Peace Is None of Your BusinessArchie Bronson Outfit Wild Crush
Manic Street Preachers FuturologySweet Apple The Golden Age of Glitter
Parquet Courts Sunbathing AnimalSKATERS Manhattan
user ratings (161)
Chart.
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
NothingForSomething (4)
"Gallows" does not skip a beat....

fish CONTRIBUTOR (4)
Gallows “II” peer out of their nest, and jump...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Aids
Contributing Reviewer
September 3rd 2012


24098 Comments


this is a wonderful review, nice work jviney.

i was never much of a Gallows fan, and I'm irrationally mad at all the various side-projects resulting from Alexisonfire's split, so I probably won't get this. but it was a great review.

Digging: Mitski - bury me at makeout creek

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
September 3rd 2012


7427 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Good to see there's someone else here that likes the new Gallows. I've not heard this yet but I liked the EP quite a bit.

Excellent review as per.

DatsNotDaMetulz
September 3rd 2012


1918 Comments


While it's gonna turn out better for Gallows, I still see comparisons with Sepultura after Max left and they brought in Derrick. People will always want Frank back no matter what happens and despite the fact that I expect this to be a great album (no stream yet iirc?) I do fear that the whole frontman thing will hang over them for a long time yet.

Captain North
September 3rd 2012


6792 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Aside from my love of frank and the Britishness of old gallows, my only real issue with the new Gallows is they sound like every other toughnut hardcore/metalcore band. How can you give them a 4 when they totally fail to stand out?

JViney
Staff Reviewer
September 3rd 2012


322 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I did consider that when listening to the record and writing the review. I think that whilst it *might* not stand out when placed next to their contemporaries sound-wise, the fact it has been made at all, is actually a great record and shows great promise for the future marks it out immediately.

StagnantWords
September 3rd 2012


318 Comments


Im really looking forward to listening to this, nice review.

I've never heard anything else from this band besides the ep when wade just joined them (honestly only reason i tried this band) does this compare to previous works? Are they REALLY worth checking out

JViney
Staff Reviewer
September 3rd 2012


322 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm a big fan of their second LP, "Grey Britain". Particularly the songs "London Is The Reason" and "Leeches". Give them a whirl if nothing else.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
September 3rd 2012


7464 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I had a feeling this was going to slay. Good review, except this part:

"Gallows concentrate solely on the present and my word, these fellas have a LOT to say about the modern world."

^I have no idea why "my word," is there.

JViney
Staff Reviewer
September 3rd 2012


322 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's supposed to be a bit more informal and conversational. That was the plan anyway.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
September 3rd 2012


7464 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cool. Now I get it. I've just checked the meaning of 'my word' in this sentence.

JViney
Staff Reviewer
September 3rd 2012


322 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's a British thing mainly, I think.

InFiction
September 3rd 2012


3714 Comments


Boo. Bring back Frank.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
September 3rd 2012


22059 Comments


has this leaked or are you using staff privileges?

need to hear this but after the EP my expectations are low

Digging: Andy Stott - Faith in Strangers

JViney
Staff Reviewer
September 3rd 2012


322 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Staff privs, I'm afraid.

shanshanson
September 3rd 2012


49 Comments


Lame band

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
September 3rd 2012


22059 Comments


just a week to go

Hep Kat
September 3rd 2012


15399 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

i am 100% certain this is at least as terrible as all their other work

whether sputnik will come to embrace this, however, i am 76% uncertain



*The above message contains a totally-not-veiled reference to a classic hardcore band. If a user can figure out this codex they shall win at sputnik and gain 500000000000 internets points*

Digging: Burning Kitchen - Many Wonder About the Meaning of Life

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
September 3rd 2012


22059 Comments


http://www.discogs.com/artist/76%25+Uncertain
that took about 30 seconds

Captain North
September 3rd 2012


6792 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Dammit, anarchist won the Internet again

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
September 3rd 2012


6515 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Must acquire!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy