Be'lakor
Of Breath and Bone


4.5
superb

Review

by thegreywind USER (1 Reviews)
September 4th, 2012 | 19 replies | 1,345 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Be'lakor have created an outstanding album mixing the progressive and melodic aspects of music with their Unique style of playing

1 of 2 thought this review was well written

The Australian Progressive Melodic Death Metal band is back with their new offering " Of Breath and Bone". I was very excited before playing this album because i had high expectations from this legendary band after listening to 'The Frail Tide', and unforgettable 'Stone's Reach'.

The album opens with 'Abeyance'. As soon as you hear the very first note, you will realize that this album is no different from Stone's Reach. It has the same depressive yet beautiful atmosphere alongside the best riffs you will find these days. The riff at 2:41 gives me goosebumps every time i listen to this song. With its ever evolving song structure, this song screams out to be one of the best songs from this album.

'Remnants' starts with beautiful acoustic intro followed by a great riff to carry the song. I really like the vocals done by George Kosmas. He has a powerful voice which suits the music very well. Listen to 3:55, you will notice that guitars are played flawlessly here. Another perfect song.

Rest of the songs are also very catchy. I want to keep this review as short as possible so I'll talk about only 'In Parting' now.

In parting is the longest and the most beautiful song here. Without any hesitation i can compare this song with the epic 'Countless Skies'. The song starts with a good guitar riff creating a gloomy atmosphere which continues for about 2 and 1/2 mins. At about 2:45, another insanely melodic riff comes in. The keyboards are played very well. This song is full of surprises (exquisitely crafted acoustic part) you might be waiting for.

The expectations were high and yet Be'lakor surely have exceeded them!!

Pros: Excellent musicianship, Great song structures

Cons: Songs are similar. It may be a deal breaker for some but i enjoy this album as a one single epic song.

Recommended Tracks:
Abeyance
Remnants
Fraught
In Parting


user ratings (252)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
Kenneth E. Rathburn (4)
It's all about momentum....

Kyle Ward STAFF (3.5)
Be'lakor show how good they really are when an album that may not be their best still towers over mo...


Comments:Add a Comment 
FictionalFlames
September 4th 2012



1516 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

you need to work on your grammar buddy.

Vakarian12
September 4th 2012



3709 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

ya. Album rules. Not quite as much as Stones Reach, but enough.

Digging: Sepultura - Arise

BodomThrashMachine
September 4th 2012



316 Comments


Band sounds pretty sick, I'll definitely have to check their stuff out more in-depth.

The review however is pretty poorly written. As said above, work on your grammar. I would also recommend describing the music more than you did and doing so in a less personal way. Won't neg though.

LudsWig
September 4th 2012



254 Comments


review is lol terrible as is the band

Shuyin
September 4th 2012



11422 Comments


band isnt terrible even tho this album was kinda boring.

stones reach is pretty much the shit

Digging: Integral - Sercosa

LudsWig
September 4th 2012



254 Comments


its better than this and yea this IS very boring

I prefer early Insomnium

LudsWig
September 4th 2012



254 Comments


"of breast and boners"

Shuyin
September 4th 2012



11422 Comments


lol yea, insomniums first 3 albums rape anything these guys ever released.

still this band is far from being terrible.

LudsWig
September 4th 2012



254 Comments


they just do nothing for me, ive given all their albums many listens

thegreywind
September 4th 2012



3 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

My first review ever :P
and i dont speak english..took me a long time to write this review..lol

LudsWig
September 4th 2012



254 Comments


because of that i posd ur review

BodomThrashMachine
September 4th 2012



316 Comments


ludswig classical music elitist or just alt of riff/fade ?

FadeToBlack
September 4th 2012



10913 Comments


srsly?

LudsWig
September 4th 2012



254 Comments


is bodom gay or just gay?

guizpom
September 5th 2012



45 Comments


1st review? Nice one pal


guizpom
September 5th 2012



45 Comments


what language do you actually speak?

thegreywind
September 5th 2012



3 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I speak hindi (india) only..

SlMBOLlC
April 25th 2013



4944 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

geez this review is horrid sorry man. but its like a track by track that only covers 3 tracks and a half assed summary at the end.

Sorry man you need to spend more time on your reviews.

Vakarian12
April 25th 2013



3709 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

don't think the guy has been active since this review lol



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy