Urinals
Negative Capability... Check it Out


5.0
classic

Review

by porch USER (8 Reviews)
August 30th, 2012 | 43 replies | 3,894 views


Release Date: 1997 | Tracklist


3 of 4 thought this review was well written

Formed out of L.A. in the late 1970s, initially as a punk parody band, the Urinals music was basically a deconstructed mix of garage rock, no wave and surf rock that resulted in a sound akin to an even more minimalist punk take on Pink Flag era Wire, influencing later greats like the Minutemen in the process. Regardless of things like influence and importance, the quality of the music hasn't diminished one bit; this is a record I could listen to all day.

The Negative Capability...Check it Out compilation is the best way to discover the Urinals and includes their three self-released 7”s in chronological running order along with several live performances and assorted odds and ends. Outwardly crude in terms of overall sound and presentation, a couple of listens to these songs should reveal that these guys were actually a good deal more sophisticated than most of their contemporaries. Despite my earlier lazy comparisons to other bands it was also a sound that was really their own. With most tracks coming in at just over a minute in duration and stripped down to their bare elements, it’s a record that demands repeat plays, as twangy, harmonized classics like “I’m a Bug” "Black Hole" and “Sex” manage to be at once catchy, rockin and smart under their endearingly shambolic lo-fi veneer. After renaming themselves as 100 Flowers in the early 1980s they would go on to make music of a slicker, albeit still worthwhile kind but to experience them at their best, look no further.



Recent reviews by this author
Meat Puppets Meat Puppets IIFlipper Gone Fishin'
Stick Men With Ray Guns Some People Deserve to SufferCliff Martinez Drive
Void Sessions 1981-83Wipers Youth of America
user ratings (20)
Chart.
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
porch
August 30th 2012



8439 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

so good. listen to this band you fucks

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oiTPZ63rODM



DarthMann
August 30th 2012



13474 Comments


fuck yes the only length of reviews i read

WeepingBanana
August 30th 2012



10035 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

been meaning to check these guys out for a while

and yeah short reviews ftw. if your review exceeds the information on the right then i'm not reading it

KILL
August 30th 2012



70298 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is great stuff, one of the only albums i got through justice that i actually like lol, nice review too

Digging: Gal Costa - Gal Costa

MO
August 30th 2012



18181 Comments


sweet

porch
August 30th 2012



8439 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

thanks yall

will prob write a few more like this to fill in some of the blanks in the database for stuff like flipper, black flag, amebix, no trend etc that should really have reviews



alachlahol
August 30th 2012



7471 Comments


always like bands that remind me how nice it is to piss

WeepingBanana
August 30th 2012



10035 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yo porch i covered squirrel bait ;)

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
August 30th 2012



20569 Comments


cool band name

Digging: Opeth - Pale Communion

KILL
August 30th 2012



70298 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

justice dettys sputnik pass is urinalsrule

LudsWig
August 30th 2012



254 Comments


haha i love the artwork on this

porch
August 30th 2012



8439 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

who is this justicedetty character

porch
August 30th 2012



8439 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

yo weeping have you listened to any other grubbs affiliated stuff like gastr del sol and bitch magnet

should be up your alley as well



WeepingBanana
August 30th 2012



10035 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah i'm starting to really like grubbs. i've listened to gastr del sol, bastro and bitch magnet. slowly working my way through his catologue

Spec
August 30th 2012



27047 Comments


Pretty great album.

Graveyard
August 30th 2012



5590 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

downloading this now, i have high exceptions for this

Lenix
August 30th 2012



793 Comments


31 tracks? damn

WeepingBanana
August 30th 2012



10035 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah dude it's a punk compilation, duh

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
August 30th 2012



49739 Comments


yeah it's probably like 40 minutes

Digging: Kyary Pamyu Pamyu - Pikapika Fantajin

Lenix
August 30th 2012



793 Comments


true true



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy