Two Door Cinema Club
Beacon


3.5
great

Review

by Davey Boy STAFF
August 29th, 2012 | 148 replies | 19,437 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A wise and predictably executed follow-up in all the right ways.

For any reviewer required to provide a numerical rating - and with a preference to write something a little more detailed than a three sentence blurb - Two Door Cinema Club's likeable, if overly familiar, indie-pop debut LP 'Tourist History' was a frustrating assignment. While one could easily argue that it was a one-trick pony, that equine was one hell of a charming and infectious one. Single 'I Can Talk' may have contained an opening refrain which sounded like a five year old had forgotten the remaining three vowels, but it was difficult not to chant along to its "I-O-I-I-O" hook. As one-dimensional as it was catchy, a delicate balance was necessary to communicate both its lack of diversity, yet thoroughly delightful nature. On the flip-side, the review for the Northern Irish outfit's follow-up 'Beacon' almost writes itself: a wise and predictably executed record in all the right ways.

In attempting to avoid the notorious "second album blues", Two Door Cinema Club choose not to reinstate Eliot James (Kaiser Chiefs) as producer, instead utilizing the services of Jacknife Lee (U2, Silversun Pickups), whose crisp, spot-on production is undoubtedly a strength of 'Beacon'. Strikingly beginning with exaggerated electronics, many could be forgiven for thinking that Lee has influenced the trio to have made the switch to chart-baiting electro-pop. However, that incorrect notion would be ignoring the debut's value-adding latter half synth infusion. What has noticeably been adjusted this time around is the tempo, with only 'Someday' replicating the upbeat and urgent energy of 'Tourist History'. This means more importance is placed on crafting Beacon's melodies, with numerous tunes carrying a danceable quality which not only makes it difficult for listeners to keep still, but does so in a manner that does not batter them with repetition and monotony.

And what of that jangly, angular dual guitar-work of Sam Halliday and Alex Trimble which captured the attention so satisfyingly on 'Tourist History'? Well, they initially appear to have been dialed down markedly, but in reality are still omnipresent, playing their role within the fuller sound evident here. Most importantly, those guitars merge seamlessly with synths and a sublimely subtle use of horns to the point of sounding completely natural, while the beats - whether programmed or via live drumming - constantly hit hard. All the while, lead vocalist Alex Trimble now delivers an assured croon, rather than over-relying on his near-falsetto, which had previously strayed off-key on occasions. Furthermore, Trimble now has absolutely no issue supplying tunes of varying tempo and style, as exemplified by the jazzy 'Sun', tropical sounding 'The World Is Watching' and the verging on ambience of 'Settle'.

In one sense, 'Beacon' is not entirely dissimilar to its predecessor. And in another, it feels like the work of a completely different band... Still undeniably Two Door Cinema Club, yet a matured version with a greater attention to detail. With the arguable exception of its closing triumvirate - which do not add a great deal other than some effective Kevin Baird bass-lines - 'Beacon' is a more even, consistent and cohesive LP than 'Tourist History', even if it does not reach the same individual heights. Where the album ultimately succeeds is in its song-craft, with everything from its diversity and song structures clearly improving, without significantly forsaking the trio's effortlessly catchy and engaging melodies. How 'Beacon' will age is still to be determined, but it is the refined record which Two Door Cinema Club had to release for the sake of both consolidation and advancement. At the very least, the dreaded sophomore slump has been successfully averted.

Recommended Tracks: Someday, Settle, Handshake & Sun.



Recent reviews by this author
Emmure Eternal EnemiesThe Pretty Reckless Going to Hell
Broods BroodsThe Jezabels The Brink
Fanfarlo Let's Go ExtinctAbandon All Ships Malocchio
user ratings (191)
Chart.
3.2
good
other reviews of this album
Sam Cowen (4)
The Northern Irish trio continue their trip to the top....


Comments:Add a Comment 
DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 29th 2012



20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Follow the light people, follow the light.

Fugue
August 29th 2012



7353 Comments


Love.

Steoandnoodles
August 29th 2012



2832 Comments


I like where they were going with this album but it's still not enough for me. =( I mean, the lyrics are hard to listen to. Really hard.

Gyromania
August 29th 2012



15655 Comments


predictably executed

Fugue
August 29th 2012



7353 Comments


Handshake is the best song they'll ever write, don't even care how predictable it is.

Steoandnoodles
August 29th 2012



2832 Comments


Really? I thought there were better songs to be honest. =P



DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 29th 2012



20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

That's a bit personal to air here Rosco... How about this album; What do you think of that?

Stephen, your sound-off needs a "foot in the door" reference. ;-) Understand where you're coming from mate, but until they fully decide which way they want to take their sound, I think this is the perfect 2nd album for them. Having said that, the lyrics didn't do a great deal for me. I didn't really feel the need to mention them in the review though.

... But in all the right ways Gyro.

I think most people around here will like 'Sun' the best... But it's the catchy 'Someday' for me. The chorus of 'Handshake' does rule though.

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
August 29th 2012



7333 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Without wanting to sound elitist, the fact that these guys have become huge has really irritated me.

I'll check this out, and most likely find it mildly enjoyable, but I really can't get past how utterly derivative they are.

Excellent review as always Davey :-)

Steoandnoodles
August 29th 2012



2832 Comments


Oh no, it's a good second album. It shows that they're all for fuller sounds and not just a one trick pony. They've adopted they're old sound into a new setting really well but the lyrics are just... I can't let them slide.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 29th 2012



20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Ignoring the whole "who isn't derivative these days" argument, they're definitely not reinventing the wheel Ali, but I think they do what they do very well... So their success definitely does not irritate me.

I guess part of it all comes down to what people view them as. You could make a case for them being a pop band with some indie quirks... Or an indie band with pop hooks. Same thing? Maybe. But expectations & all.

IfYouRun
August 29th 2012



292 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Was just writing a review to this aha, still going to post mine soon as you focus on some aspects I didn't.

Personally the album isn't quite as good as tourist history in my opinion, that album was samey, yet it was damn enjoyable and they did that one indie-rock style well. The way the lead guitar is further down in the mix slightly annoyed me though, I was really hoping for more guitar lines like What You Know.

minty901
August 29th 2012



1994 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

awesome review. agree with the score and pretty much every point you made.

Fugue
August 29th 2012



7353 Comments


Album's mint Davester, but you already know that. Review says most of what I would to be honest. The
whole sound is just clearer and more pronounced than on their debut, the vocals are so much better,
and it doesn't take as long to get going. Correct rating and correct song choices; this has to be the
first time in a while I've agreed with you this much, hence love.

Gyromania
August 29th 2012



15655 Comments


yeah the review is definitely good. should add 'well' to that bit in the summary though.

beacon, next year, and sun are my favourites.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 29th 2012



20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

One thing I will say about the lyrics... I learnt what a drumlin is.

Steoandnoodles
August 29th 2012



2832 Comments


Their success doesn't annoy me because I know they're trying and they seem like nice lads too. =)

But it's just not hitting the right spots for me. =/ I'd like it to but they still aren't going the full way, you know?

IfYouRun
August 29th 2012



292 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

As for the lyrics, I don't think they're THAT terrible. They're just average?

Fugue
August 29th 2012



7353 Comments


It's got nothing on Antidotes however, shooting for the stars with that recommendation surely?

minty901
August 29th 2012



1994 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

lyrics are fine. i think you're exagerating. they're not poetic genius but they don't make you cringe either. they're just... standard indie rock lyrics. i don't see how they can be that much of a problem. obviously this band isn't for you steoandnoodles, which is a shame.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 29th 2012



20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Unsure I disagree with anything you say IfYouRun. I find this a more consistent listen, but in 12 months time will probably return to their debut a little more.

Thanks minty.

This place is just full of love Rosco. The improvement in Alex's vocals can't be stated enough. He's (maybe with a bit of help from Jacknife) has really put in some work there, so good on him.

Gyro, as in "predictably well executed"? But that's not the point I'm trying to make. As for your song choices, I must say that the opener was the real grower for me... But the closer did nothing for me.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy