The Chariot
One Wing


4.5
superb

Review

by Sean Mc USER (2 Reviews)
August 28th, 2012 | 50 replies | 2,758 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: "Now that we got the change, we make the song sound like what we want"

6 of 6 thought this review was well written

Metalcore veterans The Chariot are well known for their trademark sound that epitomizes controlled chaos, whether it be on record or the stage (most shows end with shattered instruments and bruised bodies); They’ve stayed true to that sound since their inception, steadily streamlining it as the years have passed. Their recent jump from Solid State to the up-and-coming record label Good Fight showed a new sense of cohesion from the members, as evidenced in their well-received 2010 studio release Long Live. Jump to the present, and the band is back with a fifth record, 2012’s One Wing.

One Wing is everything Long Live was and more; it’s more visceral, streamlined, and experimental. Opener “Forget” bursts out of the gates with conviction, showcasing off-kilter rhythms and time/tempo changes in the vein of Coalesce and Botch; the guitars swirl and bend as Josh Scogin screams his lungs out in what is possibly his most passionate and varied vocal performance to date. Tracks like “In” and “And” (The song titles when said in sequence form two sentences) reveal that The Chariot’s math roots are in full effect, but also have evolved significantly since previous albums; songs appear to be a bit more linear in their progression, but they have a greater sense of flow as a result. Matt Goldman is once again in the producer’s chair and his results are effective as always, giving the record that blistering crunch while making every extra little bit and piece stand out where it should.

One Wing proves to be The Chariots most diverse album. The aforementioned tracks are juxtaposed by odd nuances that appear all over the place; the ballad “Speak” is one such example, which is nothing but Scogin belting over a simple chord progression played on the piano, but is somehow moving and quite effective. “Tongues” is a trudging sludge-fest that is brought to a slow halt by a piano-based bridge before bringing the guitars back in to close out the track in a strong fashion. Also of note is the track “First”, which starts with the same heaviness that is expected, but soon cuts out to make way for a Western-sounding guitar line that is quickly built upon with drums and horns, followed by Scogin’s blistering voice once again. As odd as it may sound, it’s deeply satisfying and one of the highlights of the album. The album closes in fine fashion with “Cheek”, which slowly builds over top of an incredibly moving speech by Charlie Chaplin; it almost brings Godspeed You! Black Emperor to mind until the clip ends and Scogin comes back in with the rest of the band, closing out the album in good form.

One Wing realizes The Chariot’s full potential; the band has a sure grip on what they’re doing and it shows. They’ve outdone themselves in what could possibly qualify as one of the best hardcore albums of the year. Recommended to fans and newcomers alike.


user ratings (630)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
calmrose9 (4.5)
Now that we have painted faith, shout, "Victory is ours!"...

CollectTheLeaves (4.5)
The Chariot release their most ambitious - and best - album to date...

G.M.B. (4.5)
"Let us be heard, now it's our turn"...


Comments:Add a Comment 
jesterhead92
August 28th 2012



58 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

First time reviewer, tried to not make it sound too pretentious or anything, hope it's good and stuff.


Can someone tell me how to do italics and such?

YourDarkAffected
Contributing Reviewer
August 28th 2012



1629 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

here ya go. http://www.sputnikmusic.com/forums/misc.php?do=bbcode

good first review. The summary is just a bit awkwardly worded and "Speak" isn't the opening track if that's what you meant. The first track is "Forget". Good review nonetheless. pos.

Digging: Sallie - Moonlight Detective

jesterhead92
August 28th 2012



58 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Oops, got those switched around, my bad.

Thanks for the pos. I've been listening to this nonstop and I thought I should write something for fun, dunno if I'll keep doing it.

jesterhead92
August 28th 2012



58 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Fixed the summary, thought it was appropriate

YourDarkAffected
Contributing Reviewer
August 28th 2012



1629 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yea, the album is amazing. I've never been able to make it to their shows but I can't wait. I've heard they are insane live.

jesterhead92
August 28th 2012



58 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I saw them at Cornerstone back in '06 right after Fiancee came out, they were pretty sick. I'm gonna
catch them on the Unbreakable tour, but I REALLY wish the Every Time I Die tour with them was coming
my way...no Florida dates.

Calc
August 28th 2012



11927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

how are yall getting this?

Digging: Kashiwa Daisuke - April. #02

jesterhead92
August 28th 2012



58 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

My preorder package came on Friday

Calc
August 28th 2012



11927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

looks like ima have to go hot topic....oh god..

SadAndHolyGlow
August 28th 2012



1498 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

My pre-order package better get here soon. I cam't wait for this! I have been wait for so long. Great review. And I think it's really cool how you referenced a post-rock band (Godspeed You! Black Emperor) in a Chariot review. Now I NEED to listen to this haha.

Digging: Thantifaxath - Sacred White Noise

YourDarkAffected
Contributing Reviewer
August 28th 2012



1629 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yea, I live in Alabama and there are like no tours here or even in their home state of Georgia on both the Unbreakable tour and the Every Time I Die tour. What's going on?

jesterhead92
August 28th 2012



58 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sorry, it's called UNSHAKEABLE. I'm tired or something. And the tour dates say they're playing in
Mobile, AL at the Alabama Music Hall on 10/14.

Sucks to miss Every Time I Die and letlive though. The Converge tour is skipping out on Florida
too...bleh

YourDarkAffected
Contributing Reviewer
August 28th 2012



1629 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Oh right, forgot about the Mobile date. Still, that's like 4 hours away from me so I'm not sure I can make that. Hope so though

WeepingBanana
August 28th 2012



10035 Comments


not gonna get this album cause the track list pisses me off

forshoredividesusger
August 28th 2012



34 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great review, considering this is your first. Have a pos.

Just listened to this for the first time. Blew me away. Rating may jump to 4 in the future.

KILL
August 28th 2012



70298 Comments


lol same banana

Digging: Gal Costa - Gal Costa

guitarnater
August 28th 2012



917 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

God forbid they do anything (even a little bit) out-of-the-ordinary with the track list.

WeepingBanana
August 28th 2012



10035 Comments


yeah but then you're left with a song called "And" wtf is that shit

i've only heard one song from these "David De La Hoz" and i thought it was actually pretty good but i can't see myself listening to this band a whole lot

guitarnater
August 28th 2012



917 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I never really care what the song name is, as long as the music is good.

ChuckyTruant
August 28th 2012



15691 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

my pre-orderrrr isn't here yetttt

Digging: Coheed and Cambria - From Fear Through the Eyes of Madness



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy