Katatonia
Dead End Kings


4.0
excellent

Review

by Lambda USER (68 Reviews)
August 27th, 2012 | 21 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist


It looms black and white in the distance; a creature of melancholic despondency. Looking at it, the beauty in its roar's underbelly may be surprising to some, but roar it does; loudly, and with purpose. This roar is of a different kind though- one filled with sorrow, and one of heavy emotion. Each facet is crystal clear; parts of the same whole. The way it ends is most impressive, with lurches and peaks and valleys of the likes previously unheard. In entirety it is almost frightening with depressive atmosphere, but that is said as a positive testament to the success of its purpose. Previous encounters with this creature have elicited similar results, but this is a satisfying and thoroughly engaging one all the same.

The dead end king has arrived, bringing with it a sound of disconsolate sorrow the past has so familiarized us with. Some nice new touches such as female voice accompaniment, ("The One You Are Looking For...") ambient-based beats, ("Leech") and more prominent keyboard melodies ("Dead Letters") all help this creature stand alongside, and yet apart, from its brethren. A couple of parts don't make much impact ("Ambitions," "Undo You") but that is a minor problem. As it stands, this is an excellent arrival and will surely get only better with time. This is a roar of great accomplishment, of fierce emotional impact- and this is one creature not soon forgotten.



Recent reviews by this author
Dog Fashion Disco Sweet NothingsCasualties of Cool Casualties of Cool
fresh beatZ The MisunderstoodAvenged Sevenfold Hail to the King
Buckethead Pike 13Buckethead In Search Of The - Volume 10: 'F'
user ratings (617)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
BrianE (3.5)
...

a est . . i . c el (3.5)
Kings, Because they believe in what they are creating, in their own disturbing faith. Katatonia are ...

Kyle Ward STAFF (4.5)
Dead End Kings is the culmination of Katatonia as they are in their post-death/doom metal form...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Lambda
August 27th 2012


2465 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Excellent album- tried something different with the review- comments appreciated!

Piglet
August 27th 2012


4662 Comments


"melancholic despondency", "sound of disconsolate sorrow"
well, you know, if you like looking up synonyms

GiaNXGX
August 27th 2012


4867 Comments


refrain from posting till an album actually comes out

Gyromania
August 27th 2012


15966 Comments


It looms black and white in the distance; a creature of melancholic despondency.


lmao! this is so pretentious.

i'm not going to lie, i think this is a terrible review. but you should know that you can't say stuff like "[...]all help this creature stand alongside, and yet apart, from its brethren" and "In entirety it is almost frightening with depressive atmosphere, but that is said as a positive testament to the success of its purpose." without being open to ridicule.

Rikardur
August 27th 2012


731 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Leave this for a sound off or something. I didn't enjoy reading this, despite its length. It's better than the album itself though!

Lambda
August 27th 2012


2465 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I really wrote this to try and challenge myself... an "out-of-the-box" style review, I guess :P

However, I am open to ridicule and criticism, so hit me with it if you must! I was happy with how it turned out for what it was, but I understand that others might not be. I do appreciate all criticism; I just wanted to try a different style of reviewing than the norm.

GiaNXGX; it actually came out in Europe today.

Gyromania
August 27th 2012


15966 Comments


rikardur: contradiction

GiaNXGX
August 27th 2012


4867 Comments


Yeah, wtf it is 230 words long

Gyromania
August 27th 2012


15966 Comments


lambda: i don't mean to sound all haughty or anything, but a good bit of what you've written here is
just flat-out incoherent. you know that saying, 'less is more'? that can easily be applied here. i
know that sounds kind of ironic given its length, but i'm referring to how overbearing your writing
is. i would suggest trying to adopt a more conversational approach.

Rikardur
August 27th 2012


731 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

"rikardur: contradiction"

Probably.

Lambda
August 27th 2012


2465 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Gyromania: Yup, I definitely get what you mean. I typically do my reviews in a more conversationalist tone; this time though I was trying to write in a rather abstract manner. Just an experiment, really... the next review I write will probably be more in line with my typical style. : )

Gyromania
August 27th 2012


15966 Comments


Looking at it, the beauty in its roar's underbelly may be surprising to some, but roar it does; loudly, and with purpose.


like, what the hell does this even mean?

Gyromania
August 27th 2012


15966 Comments


sorry for being so frank, but i know you're capable of much better than this. i quite enjoy your reviews (if i remember correctly).

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
August 27th 2012


16466 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I tried a review like this once.


Never again. Never again.

Lambda
August 27th 2012


2465 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"like, what the hell does this even mean?"

On the surface, the album is quite heavy in spots; however, even when it's at its heaviest, there is beauty there, underneath the crushing foreground, which may be surprising to some.

"sorry for being so frank, but i know you're capable of much better than this. i quite enjoy your reviews (if i remember correctly)."

Noo, I appreciate it. As I said, this was an experiment. I just wanted to try something new after 59 reviews, lol ; )

Gyromania
August 27th 2012


15966 Comments


On the surface, the album is quite heavy in spots; however, even when it's at its heaviest, there is beauty there, underneath the crushing foreground, which may be surprising to some.

okay, what you originally wrote made no sense (particularly the 'roar's underbelly' part) so use that instead... but maybe omit the 'crushing foreground' bit

Hep Kat
August 27th 2012


15356 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

FIRE CONSUME MY ENEMIES

LAMBDA BURST

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
August 27th 2012


8935 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

yeah uhh

get a blog

Youtellme
August 27th 2012


1351 Comments


"The dead end king has arrived, bringing with it a sound of disconsolate sorrow the past has so
familiarized us with."

This sounds like some BS a marketing team would throw.

This is a soundoff. You only mention one complain, which you dismiss as minor. You don't explain
anything about the album other than "it's gloomy" and shizz and this is ridiculously short.

DeadBeat
August 28th 2012


529 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

sucks



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy