Signal The Firing Squad
Earth Harvest


4.0
excellent

Review

by Deuce8311 USER (16 Reviews)
August 11th, 2012 | 26 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: In what tends to be a genre surrounded by bands that mirror each other, Signal The Firing Squad prove they possibly can be a standout due primarily to one factor.

Plenty of deathcore bands pass on through nowadays dropping an EP or LP and are never to be heard of again. In a genre with a plethora of bands, what tends to make popular names such as All Shall Perish and Whitechapel to name a few stand out are great vocal performances. From the very first scream to his final breath on the album, the vocals of Kyson Shepherd offer an ear-piercing and very pleasing performance.

The opening track presents an ambiance that is as eerie as the covert art of the album itself, and then leads into some heavy blast beats followed by a shrieking scream. What is presented in “Pre-Destruction” is a sign of things to come, as Signal The Firing Squad inflict from start to finish the kind of relentless and punishing assault listeners of the genre want to hear. Throughout the album a heavy use of blast beats and breakdowns plus the excellent vocals mentioned above fuel this assault. Many will dismiss the use of breakdowns, but if a band knows how to use them tastefully such as STFS then it’s not a problem. While this may seem generic and boring to some, there are moments where the guitar work stands out.

An unexpected solo is dropped about halfway through “Birthing the Naught”. Short yet effective, it adds a nice break from the continuous formula and some most important variety. The opening of “Obliteration Of the Ages” is another example of this. The aforementioned song is my personal favorite due to its difference lyrically. The lyrics speak of how we’ve raped our Earth and need to save it. This is uncommon because many bands sing of how they want to destroy the world. This is just a small minor detail hopefully showing that this band can bring some variety into a genre that is plagued at times by dissimilarity.

It is hard to come onto the scene and offer something that has not been heard before. Offering a kind of instrumentation that has not been heard before is not done by many deathcore bands, nor is it done by Signal The Firing Squad. However this does not take anything away from the record, and that is the case for Earth Harvest. With excellent vocals to carry them, I have a feeling this will not be last we hear of this band.



Recent reviews by this author
Of Mice and Men Restoring ForcePop Evil Onyx
Crown the Empire The Resistance: Rise of the RunawaysGhost Atlas Gold Soul Coma
The Amity Affliction Let the Ocean Take MeBorn of Osiris Tomorrow We Die Alive
user ratings (53)
Chart.
3.7
great
related reviews

Abnegate

Comments:Add a Comment 
Deuce8311
August 10th 2012


90 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is my first review go easy please! I welcome any constructive criticism thanks!

Calc
August 11th 2012


12249 Comments


album art looks like a section from ME3 lol

Digging: Milo - A Toothpaste Suburb

ZedO
August 11th 2012


1096 Comments


nice first review, keep ur good job dude

xist
August 13th 2012


171 Comments


I have a feeling this will not be last we hear of this band.


Seems like a bizarre way to end a review - evidently it's not the last we'll hear since they've released another album since this one....

Storm In A Teacup
August 14th 2012


13149 Comments


Really good review for your first. Keep it up!

TheMoreira
August 16th 2012


7182 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

"I have a feeling this will not be last we hear of this band.


Seems like a bizarre way to end a review - evidently it's not the last we'll hear since they've released another album since this one...."

Ahah yeah. Deuce, good first review! I was going to review this myself in these next few days, but you beat me to it! Keep it up man, pos for good, objective review

Eulogize
August 16th 2012


2969 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Album is one of the best in the deathcore genre.

Tried buying one of their shirts one day but since they're from Australia the shipping was going to be $15, which is the original cost of the shirt, and I wasn't about to pay $30 for a shirt.

Eulogize
August 16th 2012


2969 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Also, good review.

TheMoreira
August 16th 2012


7182 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Thinking about reviewing Abnegate

Deuce8311
September 18th 2012


90 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks for all the comments guys I was thinking about reviewing Abnegate as well cause these guys are pretty badass and yeah I'm with you Eulogize they prob have sick shirts but they're hard to find :/

TheMoreira
September 18th 2012


7182 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Go for it man! Ive been busy, working full time and on my musical project and such. Lousy me

Deuce8311
September 19th 2012


90 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well you can probably write a better one for that album than mine I didn't do too good of a job on it cause I was in a hurry :/

Eulogize
January 14th 2013


2969 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Adapting To Genocide.

dixoncocks
March 21st 2013


2596 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this album tore my nuts out and fed them to my dog. Pretty sick album art as well

Eulogize
March 21st 2013


2969 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Yeah, after hearing this and being excited as fuck for their new album it was just disappointing.

dixoncocks
March 22nd 2013


2596 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I actually listened to this after i heard abnegate and really enjoy them both, But I can see what you mean.

TheMoreira
March 22nd 2013


7182 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Yeah both albums are outstanding imo. But this was more hum, organic? I think that's a good adjective for it.

Jacquibim
Contributing Reviewer
March 22nd 2013


14706 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

There is nothing "organic" about this, sounds as mechanical and lifeless as DM/DxC can get.

Digging: Off Minor - The Heat Death of the Universe

TheMoreira
March 22nd 2013


7182 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Well, it's less produced.

Jacquibim
Contributing Reviewer
March 22nd 2013


14706 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Dammit Moreira, get some Suffocation in ya1!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy