Dark Angel
Time Does Not Heal


4.0
excellent

Review

by Drew Tyler USER (68 Reviews)
August 8th, 2012 | 14 replies | 1,169 views


Release Date: 1991 | Tracklist

Review Summary: What was to be the bands last offering to the world may also be one of the most well rounded and technical performances of their career.

6 of 6 thought this review was well written

Dark Angel is often brought up of as an afterthought when thinking of classic 80’s thrash. They largely remained in the back of the thrash metal community, crafting fine albums and touring extensively but never quite finding the success of their thrash brothers. However, they certainly have garnered enough respect from the metal community so as to remain relevant even today, or else I wouldn’t be talking about them. 1991’s “Time Does Not Heal” was to be the band’s last effort, with the band finally calling it quits the following year. They left behind four solid enough albums, with highs and lows experienced on each record. This particular album is of the high category, with the band seemingly reaching their creative peek, writing lengthier songs with more technicality than their early work.

Don’t be fooled, the music found here is very much technical thrash. Perhaps the album’s biggest strengths come from the sheer amount of riffing going on. There are so many riffs contained in any given song that it is very hard to get bored with the material. The riff kicking off any given track is almost certainly not the riff found in the middle or the end of the song, so no one can stick the “repetitive riffing” tag to this album. In fact, it would seem that more emphasis was put in riffs than solos, and it somehow works. Combine this with the always impressive and lively drum work from Gene Hoglan, and you already have yourself a well rounded album from the get go. However, the varied riffing found here can work against the material, as there is so much material crammed in to these tracks that hardly any tracks distinguish themselves, with the exception of the title track and maybe a couple others. The prominent length of this album can also be a bit much to swallow, with the typical song clocking in at a whopping six to eight minutes in length, although each minute of this album contains technical thrash that is vital to the overall product.

As previously stated, the drum work is top-notch. Gene Hoglan drums with such technicality and energy that he may even occasionally eclipse the guitar work, a truly rare occurrence in any thrash recording. On the other hand, vocals are a bit lacking. Vocalist Ron Rinehart certainly has the right voice for metal, rough sounding without being to over the top, but he doesn’t quite use his voice to its fullest extent. At times his voice detracts from the music in a disconcerting way, with somewhat annoying lines haphazardly thrown in with the music. Still, most of the time he manages to sound evil enough to match the overall vibe the music puts forth. The brutal and complex riffing and the technical and energetic drumming makes for a truly volatile mix of angry and dark sounding thrash that is sure to please those who enjoy the more evil sounding sides of metal. This album and its subject matter are notoriously brooding and dreary. Topics such as insanity, murder, and rape all touch on psychological issues that humans go through.

It is very easy indeed to get lost in the countless riffs and musical moods this album paints for the listener. What was to be the bands last offering to the world may also be one of their most well rounded and finest. I won’t tell you that this album is going to please you, because that is not my place. It did however satisfy MY desire for brutal riffing and evil sounding thrash, and I certainly hope you take the time to give it a listen.

PERSONAL FAVORITES:
- Time Does Not Heal
- Act of Contrition
- Sensory Deprivation
- A Subtle Induction



Recent reviews by this author
Savatage Fight for the RockWitherscape The Inheritance
Blindead AbsenceArtillery Legions
Overkill I Hear BlackWhiplash Power and Pain
user ratings (136)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
Siamois (3)
9 songs, 67 minutes, 246 riffs... the excesses of this record are what makes it intriguing at times ...


Comments:Add a Comment 
ThrashTillDeath94
August 8th 2012



590 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Here it is, take issue with it, agree with it, do what you do.

ThrashTillDeath94
August 8th 2012



590 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I was looking at some older threads and I saw some old posts from you on this account, and your old
one. At one time you had an affinity for thrash. And i get it, you found greener pastures and moved
on. We all like what we like, and i would never put anyone down or detract from any kind of music
someone may be experiencing for the first time. At one point, you liked this form of music. You
explored it, delved into it, listened to it. When you were done with the genre you found new music.
The only problem is that you now resent the music and anything that has to do with it. Why is it so
hard for you to accept that you do not like it, and just leave those alone who do? let us explore the
genre and craft our own opinions without negativity shining threw ALL the time. Just move on bro, half
your posts seem to be about putting down "shit" music, but you don't seem to understand that by saying
these things people tend to not take you all that much seriously.

ThrashTillDeath94
August 8th 2012



590 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm sure that you have way more "important" things to do while your sitting at your computer all day,
rather than listening to someone being real with your fake ass once.

TheNotrap
August 8th 2012



7971 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Nice work man, have a pos.

Well I don't dig this album but to each his own.

ThrashTillDeath94
August 8th 2012



590 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks i'm glad you approve of and read my review, but might I ask why you don't like the album?

MO
August 8th 2012



18198 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

not the biggest fan of this

Digging: Immolation - Dawn of Possession

TheNotrap
August 8th 2012



7971 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

In my opinion the songwriting is poor. Despite some nice tracks like "Pain's Invention, Madness" most of the songs are just a multiple riff assemblage without a solid music structure.

But everything is subjective and I understand why most of the dudes like this.

ThrashTillDeath94
August 8th 2012



590 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Point taken, I can totally see where your coming from. But personally, I it is my opinion that thinking like that puts limits on what song structures entail, and that is extremely detrimental to song-writing as a whole.

A little surprised by your reaction to the album. We can't agree on everything, but I have come to respect your opinion on metal.

TheNotrap
August 8th 2012



7971 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Thanks man, I also respect your opinion.

"it is my opinion that thinking like that puts limits on what song structures entail, and that is extremely detrimental to song-writing as a whole."
Yeah I understand your point. Well a solid music structure doesn't necessary means a standard: verse, chorus, verse, chorus, solo structure. It's depends on the genre and specific songwriting.
A good example of an excellent thrash music structure is Seasons in the Abyss or Ride the Lightning. But you can find also excellent music structures on Chuck Schuldiner's more diverse style like Symbolic.

KILL
August 8th 2012



70528 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

fuckin rules and i will beat fags who disagree

Digging: Gal Costa - Gal Costa

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
August 8th 2012



4378 Comments


I actually havent heard this album yet, but i've listened to very few songs from their others. Solid review as always though, POS'd man.

CaptainDooRight
August 8th 2012



28300 Comments


thrash for contrib, pos

Digging: IQ - The Road of Bones

lostforwords
August 8th 2012



443 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"It is very easy indeed to get lost in the countless riffs and musical moods this album paints for the listener"

That's why this record is not a 4 imo, but somewhere around a 3. I have to agree with Notrap here, there are times this constant chaos works (like in Pain's invention, Time does not heal and Psychsexuality) and others that it gives you a headache.

As far as structures go, sure you are right that the standard structure may be restrictive, but there were other albums at the same time that did this non standard-structure thing pretty well, like Rust in Peace or Punishment for Decadence (Coroner).

Pos for the review, not because we agree, but because it is very well presented

ThrashTillDeath94
August 8th 2012



590 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Pos for the review, not because we agree, but because it is very well presented"

Thank you. If only more people had that in mind while reading my reviews. I don't expect everyone to agree with my opinion, but I always aim for quality material.

As for the music, personally it is more of a grower. I will admit that my opinion of this album was not very high upon my first listen, but as I would play it throughout the last week or so I have grown to appreciate it for what it is; brutal and technical riffing with dark overtones.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy