Brand New
The Devil and God Are Raging Inside Me


5.0
classic

Review

by kevin234 USER (18 Reviews)
July 26th, 2012 | 65 replies | 4,211 views


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist

Review Summary: This is hitting rock bottom.

8 of 10 thought this review was well written

I am fine to put a gun to my life
And I know I’m scared it won’t fire
You won’t know, you won’t know
You won’t know, you won’t know

Even Poe wasn’t this depressed. Poetry this telling is so startling coming from the same person that wrote “Last Chance To Lose Your Keys”. Can we even infer it is the same man or the same band? What happened after those demos leaked? Why was Mike Sapone kept in the dark about the recording? Jesse Lacey taunts us.
You won’t know, you won’t know

This is a man detached from every thing he once knew. Gone are the witty verses and boyish charm that gave them their bite. Now he writes-

I used to pray like God was listening
I used to make my parents proud
I was the glue that kept my friends together
Now they don’t talk and we don’t go out

Nothing here is radio friendly. This is the work of a man who spent sleepless nights questioning God and screaming in the dark. This is man who crawled deep into the gloomy depths of his own soul and found Limousine (MS Rebridge) in a small dark room. This is what happens when early mornings are spent penning regrets into verses because sleep never came, and when fears are belted over choruses while nothing but resentment feeds guitar lines. Maybe we are better off not knowing what he meant when he yelled “Alkaline” in Degausser. It is Emerson who said after all that a man is only half himself, the other half is his expression.

We can still be, ever so slightly, assured that we will never have to experience what Brand New has felt. Some of us are much better off never knowing what it feels like to have the floor pulled from under our feet, to feel as if happiness as we used to know it will never be attainable, to find our selves so lonely that the warmth of a friend will never be felt again.

But forget the creative drum fills. Disregard Vinnie Accardi’s obsession with distortion. Embrace, if for only a moment, the barely audible entity speaking to you in “Untitled” because even if you cannot understand its message right now there is still inherent meaning. It is when we can acknowledge this, this strange but somehow familiar sound leading us into the dark, when we can finally let go and accept what we are, what is and not what can be, that we may finally be content with our lives. For Brand New there is no going back.



Recent reviews by this author
Strawberry Girls French GhettoCirca Survive Violent Waves
Good Old War Come Back As RainKilimanjaro EP ONE
Strawberry Girls Italian GhostsAs Tall As Lions Lafcadio
user ratings (4156)
Chart.
4.5
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
kevin234
July 26th 2012



189 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

yes this has been reviewed too much but this album means a lot to me.

KeithStone582
July 26th 2012



1480 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

one review a day please.

kevin234
July 26th 2012



189 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

@Keithstone

this is my first review in several months

KeithStone582
July 26th 2012



1480 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

oh shit! sorry I misstook u for the other guy. my bad.

blastOFFitsPARTYtime
July 26th 2012



1477 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"nothing here is radio friendly"

You're listening to the wrong radio station.

kevin234
July 26th 2012



189 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

@ blastoffpartytime

what radio station would you suggest?

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
July 26th 2012



48541 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

alt rock ones

Digging: The Hotelier - Home, Like NoPlace Is There

loveisamixtape
July 26th 2012



5782 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I used to hear Sowing Season on the radio all the time

blastOFFitsPARTYtime
July 26th 2012



1477 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Depends where you're from. If it's 'merica, I can't really help specifically haha.

I know what you mean, though. But yeah, plenty of alt-ish ones around do the trick.

YankeeDudel
July 26th 2012



9291 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

the devil and god are boning inside my buttcheeks

Digging: Ravi Shankar - Three Ragas

KeithStone582
July 26th 2012



1480 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

"If it's 'merica, I can't really help haha."

pretty much.



kevin234
July 26th 2012



189 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0



be nice to hear anything other than nickleback here in the south chicago suburbs

mindleviticus
July 26th 2012



7938 Comments


Man, this is like the most reviewed album on sputnik

17WordHaiku
July 26th 2012



49 Comments


29 reviews, holy crap..maybe enough has been said.

MO
July 26th 2012



17357 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

ugh

Digging: Soundtrack - Turok 2: Seeds of Evil OST

kevin234
July 26th 2012



189 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

yeah, but at least half the reviews should be deleted. A lot of people write the same thing. song by song reviews or just trolls.

I pretty much wrote this for the same reason channing did. This album is a lot more to me than something to listen to in the car.

sixdegrees
July 26th 2012



15760 Comments


yeah, so I heard this is good.

Digging: TIMO DA LEGEND - molsom love/my life

kevin234
July 26th 2012



189 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

while you are entitled to you opinion i think you represent a minority opinion. what musicians have albums that are less shallow and plastique? I wouldhonestly like to listen to something better than this


and while you are at it perhaps formulate your opinions on these albums into reviews

kevin234
July 26th 2012



189 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

limousine is about a little girl who is killed by a drunk driver. it happened mere miles from the musician's homes. but i guess singing a cappella about rape is more...genuine?

it's all subjective

KILL
July 26th 2012



67082 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

i dont understand the emotions of this album



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy