Mark Tremonti
All I Was


3.0
good

Review

by Caleb C. USER (26 Reviews)
July 24th, 2012 | 33 replies | 2,611 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Adequate...

5 of 5 thought this review was well written

It’s not a rarity in today’s music to see the individual members of successful bands branch out and try to do something on their own. More often than not, these efforts are met with trepidation due to the spotty history of such side projects, most of which leaving much to be desired. Yet when Mark Tremonti set out to write an album all by his lonesome, there was a different kind of uneasiness surrounding the release. Tremonti had been such a big part of the writing process of Creed and Alter Bridge throughout the years that it’s hard to believe that this solo project could present anything he had not already displayed with his already solidified bands. Yet with a promise of a much heavier outing, Tremonti set out to prove that he’s not only a riff machine, but also has the finesse to write an intriguing LP.

Overall, the effort turned out to be entirely adequate. Each song is given life by the unsurprisingly strong guitar work from Tremonti, along with an impressive performance from the rest of the band keeping things together. It’s song after song of solid hard rock. Although nothing incredible, Tremonti’s vocals are also strong, showing that his talents do extend beyond the frets. This was all expected though. Nothing in Tremonti’s past indicated anything different from what is presented here. And that’s where a bit of the disappointment lies.

There is nothing here that is heavier than most of Alter Bridge’s material. The heaviness factor, that was the selling point of the album, was greatly exaggerated. Sure, songs like So You’re Afraid and You Waste Your Time have terrific guitar work, they are not anything that would be classified further then the hardest of rock. This presents us with a record that sounds almost identical to its predecessors from an instrumental standpoint. Add on to this the sloppier songwriting resulting from trying to achieve the aforementioned heaviness, such as song-derailing solos and occasional repetitive riffs, and we are left with a product that doesn’t amount to anything more than decent.

That’s not to say this is a bad album by any means. His choruses are catchy, if shallow, and overall the guitar work is fun, exactly what we’ve come to expect from Tremonti. And from the standpoint of a fan of his previous work, we have another fine slab of hard rock from one of the genres strongest guitarists. Just this time we don’t have the chops of Myles Kennedy or (to a much lesser extent) Scott Stapp to really grasp our attention. All I Was is an adequate album of above average hard rock tunes for fans of the genre, nothing more, nothing less.



Recent reviews by this author
Linkin Park The Hunting PartyMongol Horde Mongol Horde
Atmosphere SouthsidersThe Menzingers Rented World
Manchester Orchestra CopeLinkin Park Hybrid Theory
user ratings (92)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
Austin (3.5)
Hardly the departure from Alter Bridge that was promised, but still a successful solo debut from Tre...

Jake Scavello (4.5)
Tremonti's solo debut showcases his adept guitar playing and song writing while adding another talen...


Comments:Add a Comment 
iswimfast
July 23rd 2012



1253 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I was bored so I wrote this. Just for me to exercise my writing muscles I guess. Feedback is greatly appreciated, as always.

nononsense
July 23rd 2012



3322 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sounds like Alter Bridge to me.

Digging: Jason Lancaster - As You Are

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
July 23rd 2012



15303 Comments


Come on do guys like him try to come up with terrible album names? He had to be able to foresee all the "all I was" puns in reviews.

"Tremonti tries to recapture all he was, but falls way short"

etc.

Digging: Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds - Abattoir Blues/The Lyre of Orpheus

iswimfast
July 23rd 2012



1253 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I was actually going to go with "Tremonti couldn't quite take this Higher", but thought better of it.

truekebabpower
July 24th 2012



639 Comments


I guess he'll just have to Rise some other day...

KILL
July 24th 2012



70343 Comments


crap

Digging: Gal Costa - Gal Costa

iswimfast
July 24th 2012



1253 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

He might just have to make a Brand New Start.

KjSwantko
July 24th 2012



9046 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Album sucks; can't believe all the people rating this high. Tremonti's lyrical content is among the most cliche and sleep-inducing imaginable. The album really isn't "heavy" like a lot of people say (I suspect Slipknot is the world's heaviest to them). Tremonti still can't play a solo without wah because he sucks. Even the album artwork is boring and sucks the cack.

Basically the album deserves to be in the 2.5-3 range when you look at it objectively. There's nothing here that really impresses.

iswimfast
July 24th 2012



1253 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good rant.

KjSwantko
July 24th 2012



9046 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks. Pos'd your review by the way; pretty much agreed with most of it.

JakeStallion
July 24th 2012



398 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

KjSwantko, get over the fact that people have opinions different than yours. Seriously bro man dude. It's no secret that this is heavier than Alter Bridge or Creed. Using wah or other effects doesn't make playing solos any easier, so I don't know what you're trying to get at with that point.

Anyway, awesome review dude! Better written than mine, although I disagree with some points. Have a pos!

KjSwantko
July 24th 2012



9046 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"Using wah or other effects doesn't make playing solos any easier"

JakeStallion
July 24th 2012



398 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

All you're doing is pressing on a pedal to add effects to the notes. That doesn't make a solo any easier to play.

JakeStallion
July 24th 2012



398 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Jimi Hendrix sucked cause he used wah too, right?

KjSwantko
July 24th 2012



9046 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The difference between Hendrix and Tremonti is that Hendrix was good and COULD play without it (and did).

JakeStallion
July 24th 2012



398 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I don't understand where you got the idea that wah makes a solo ANY easier to play. The guitarist is still hitting all the notes that he/she would be hitting without wah, they're just using a pedal to add effects to said notes.

KjSwantko
July 24th 2012



9046 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Because you can play like shit and it sounds the same.

JakeStallion
July 24th 2012



398 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

>implying Tremonti plays like shit

iswimfast
July 24th 2012



1253 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks to both of you!

tiesthatbind
July 26th 2012



7370 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good review, man. I'll have my review up before too long, but my opinion is a lot closer to this review than the other one.

Digging: Anberlin - Lowborn



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy