Davidian
Our Fear Is Their Force


3.0
good

Review

by Magnus Altkula STAFF
July 21st, 2012 | 19 replies | 1,254 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Solid gym metal from Germany

Though Davidian have been around for quite some time now, only in recent years have they managed to work up their name and get more thoroughly noticed. With their third album, Our Fear Is Their Force, these German metallers clearly aim to be heard outside of Germany, too. Davidian’s third outing sees the band push their brand of chaotic metal to greater heights and with renown producer Tue Madsen at the helm this time around, the band have indeed managed to create their best work yet.

What’s great about this record is that it’s distinctly not genre bounded and many different sounds come together on Our Fear Is Their Force. You can hear the mechanical grooves of Fear Factory, thrash trems, apocalyptic melodies, clever breakdowns and more. Davidian have taken the thrash blueprint, added core influences to it, and built on it a sound that is familiar, yet entirely their own. Add to that Tobi Brausch’s vicious vocal performance, as he truly screams at the top of his lungs (like Davidian lead you to believe on "Behind An Angelic Smile"), and you get a well-working metal machine. Still, the record is not without its flaws. For one, although the band’s sound itself is interesting enough, it’s a constant beatdown with these guys and it does tire out the listener sooner or later, seeing as how the formula never changes. Secondly, the guitar tone is rather unorthodox and while the listener will get accustomed to it quickly enough, it's still weirdly flat when you put the disc on for the first time. It’s not bad per se and it is in correlation with the music’s destructive edge, but it could have been meatier, so to say.

When all is said and done, though, Our Fear Is Their Force is a valiant effort by these German thrash/core/clusterfuck metallers; just the few flaws it has bring the rating down a notch. It’s a solid album to put on when you wish to listen to some voracious shit or when you’re going to the gym, but its merciless nature and tendency to not deviate from its well-trodden path mean it's great in small bursts only. Still, we all could do with some in-your-face metal every once in a while and for that, Our Fear Is Their Force is a perfectly fitting record.



Recent reviews by this author
MiXE1 Starlit SkinDoom:VS Earthless
Nocturnal Breed Napalm NightsThyrien Hymns of the Mortals - Songs from the North
Iskald Nedom Og NordPsyclon Nine [Order of the Shadow: Act I]
user ratings (2)
Chart.
2.3
average

Comments:Add a Comment 
Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
July 21st 2012



8317 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

A high 3 this is.

Making my comeback into this reviewing game.

ZedO
July 21st 2012



1096 Comments


nice comeback mr. contributor

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
July 21st 2012



8317 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thank you, ZedO. I'll probably put a few more up in the coming days/weeks. I've been lacking in the creativity department recently, but I'll try to review more frequently again.

Gyromania
July 21st 2012



15162 Comments


Gym metal you say? hmmmm idk. Great write up though dude.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
November 23rd 2012



6921 Comments


Was going to review this, didn't have that much to say though

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
November 23rd 2012



8317 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

There really wasn't an awful lot to say yeah haha. It's a decent release but nothing really sticks out. Love the aggressiveness of it though and the last track is bomb, I have spun it a lot since I got the album.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
November 23rd 2012



6921 Comments


Once or twice then my laptop died and I never bothered to replace it. It's steady, kinda like [¡]results[/i]

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
November 23rd 2012



8317 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It is steady and it has surprisingly decent replay value when taking into account that it's basically a beatdown for 45 minutes.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
November 23rd 2012



6921 Comments


Also, I didn't really didn't understand the take on the album art too.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
November 23rd 2012



8317 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's pretty stereotypical tbh. When you see it up close, you can see what's written on the bottles and it goes along with the "humans suck" lyrical theme of this album (sorry but I was atm unable to find the ultra-big version of the cover where you could see exactly what's written on the bottles, but they were taglines like "jealousy", "fear" and stuff like that).

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
November 23rd 2012



6921 Comments


Yeah that would make sense especially with the atyoical imagery of being forced down a humans throat. I guess It's meant to tie in togetherness.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
November 23rd 2012



8317 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Or, and what I think is a more fitting explanation, it expresses how the higher powers in the world, who also happen to be crooked, dominate over us and control our lives (which would also tie in the album's title).

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
November 23rd 2012



6921 Comments


Oppression works better than suppression. : ] At least these guys can string together a concept.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
November 24th 2012



8317 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

At least these guys can string together a concept
True, it's far from being the most original of concepts, but hey, at least they are trying.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
November 24th 2012



6921 Comments


It's a lot better then throwing a few chug riffs together for 50 in the hopes of making a profit. It doesn't have to be original either, just accessible and understandable for the listener enough to engage them.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
November 24th 2012



8317 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Mhm, and besides, like I said in the review, while they do repeat their own formula musically, it's interesting enough.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
November 24th 2012



6921 Comments


Yep just nothing overly special.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
November 24th 2012



8317 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah, the chugging still takes the cake as the most notable feature, but at least these guys spice it up from time to time.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
November 24th 2012



6921 Comments


Maybe on another release...



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy