St. Vincent
Krokodil


4.0
excellent

Review

by G.M.B. USER (18 Reviews)
July 20th, 2012 | 23 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: St. Vincent experiments and the result is a couple of their best songs thus far.

In celebration of record store day, up-and-coming indie pop star Annie Clark released a two song 7". Instead of following her typical formula of cooky melodies and odd rhythms, St. Vincent experimented and the result is a stellar, albeit brief experience.

The first of the two songs, "Krokodil", is a fast punk influenced number. Take St. Vincent's quickest paced song and turn it up a few more notches, throw in some of her most intense lyrics yet ("Never was much for lives, but you're mine, by the sharp of my ***ing teeth") and combine all that with reverb-heavy guitars and Annie's trademark vocals and you have a very short but sweet song, and one of her best tracks yet.

"Grot" is perhaps St. Vincent's most experimental song so far. The track makes for a great companion of the "Krokodil" bring the same heavy punch, but slowed down. The sludgy sounding riffs and pounding drums take the forefront while Annie warbles on about how power can control our every thought. The result is an unsettling yet incredible five minutes of a side of Annie we haven't yet seen.

Despite the short seven and a half minute run time of St. Vincent's Krokodil 7", Annie and the rest of her crew give us just enough to hold us over until their collaboration with David Byrne. Perhaps these two songs represent some brief experimentation, or maybe they will find their way into the groups' new sound. One can only hope.



Recent reviews by this author
Letlive. The Blackest BeautifulThe Dear Hunter The Color Spectrum Live
Made In Heights APORIA: IN THESE STREETSJacco Gardner Cabinet of Curiosities
The Angels of Light We Are HimLindsey Stirling Lindsey Stirling
user ratings (58)
Chart.
4
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
ILJ
July 20th 2012


6742 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Short write up, but it's only two songs so there's only so much I can say about it.

Digging: FKA Twigs - LP1

Gyromania
July 20th 2012


16089 Comments


Something seems a little off with the spelling of that title... Hmmm

ILJ
July 20th 2012


6742 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Desomorphine#.22Krokodil.22

It's about the drug.

Gyromania
July 20th 2012


16089 Comments


Oh wow. Learn something new every day. Now my sarcasm just looks silly.

"8-10 times more potent than morphine"

As a person who had to use morphine after a terrible collar bone break all I can say to that is: holy.shit.

Btw, the review is good, albeit far too short - especially that first paragraph. But I get it, at 7 minutes I imagine it'd be difficult to write a lot for this.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
July 20th 2012


10383 Comments


Drugs? St. Vincent makes music about drugs?! Oh gawd, what do sheltered children like myself do?

On a side note, cute review. I'm glad you're reviewing more, man.

Digging: Thou - Heathen

FelixCulpa
July 20th 2012


1240 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I just assumed it was the German spelling for crocodile or something but I'm not sure why it would be
that since krokodil is the Swedish spelling for crocodile as well and Grot reminds me of the Swedish
word Gröt which means porridge. On another note I love the song. The song got me into St. Vincent.

ILJ
July 20th 2012


6742 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks everyone. I was shocked that this hadn't yet been entered in the database so I figured I would add it and do a write up so it gets on everyone's radar that missed it.

Can't wait for that collab to drop. It's gonna be goooooood.

"On a side note, cute review. I'm glad you're reviewing more, man."

I think I might shoot for a contributor position next year if I can keep up enough with new releases and keep reviewing frequently. And hone my skills of course, they do need work.

Whatsgood
July 20th 2012


177 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I would've added it but I thought singles weren't allowed. I guess things like this are sort of a different case though. But yeah, this rocks.

Xenophanes
Emeritus
July 20th 2012


10666 Comments


I experienced this with you in concert I feel like I'm a part of this review.....definitely.

Digging: Blut Aus Nord - Memoria Vetusta III - Saturnian Poetry

ILJ
July 23rd 2012


6742 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Dude yes, that show was amazing. I can't wait to see her again when she comes back around. She's just every bit as fantastic in person as she is on record.

Ire
October 17th 2012


41828 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this rules sup

StallionMang
May 18th 2014


6150 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Holy mother of kickass

Digging: The Smith Street Band - South East Facing Wall

StallionMang
May 18th 2014


6150 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Probably, but I'd love for her to expand on this sound in the future
A St. Vincent punk album would be a dream come true

StallionMang
May 18th 2014


6150 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

5.5

StallionMang
May 18th 2014


6150 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

5.6

StallionMang
May 18th 2014


6150 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Best New Sludge

Ire
May 18th 2014


41828 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this has nothing on her other stuff

Ire
May 18th 2014


41828 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

; )



Ire
May 18th 2014


41828 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yw keep it wag dude

danielito19
May 18th 2014


6720 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

why is this not on spotify i want scrobbles guh



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy