Cliff Martinez
Drive


3.0
good

Review

by porch USER (7 Reviews)
July 20th, 2012 | 32 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist


From the pink title font and panoramic shots of L.A.'s neon lit skyline to the morally ambiguous protagonist at its core, 2011's neo-noir Drive took the tropes and aesthetics of bygone film eras and reapplied them to a new one. While the end result wasn’t without its flaws, the source material drawn upon by director Nicolas Refn was implemented well to create an entertaining and visually impressive homage with a few tricks up its sleeve.

Cliff Martinez's score and additional tracks by artists such as Kavinsky, College, Desire and the Chromatics are given much prominence in Drive and play a key role in emphasizing both the previously mentioned retro stylings and tense undercurrent that slowly develops throughout the movie. Taken in isolation, Martinez's dreamy, Eno inspired pieces are pleasant enough but not particularly worth revisiting, and he fares better when echoing the ominous synth tones and rhythmic urgency of scores to likeminded crime movies such as Thief. Despite taking up the bulk of the duration, the most memorable moments don’t belong to Martinez; as can be expected from a movie score several of his compositions drift by anonymously when deprived of their visual accompaniment, denting replay value somewhat. The moody, slow burning synth-pop of Kavinsky/Lovefoxxx's “Nightcall” and College’s cheesily enjoyable “A Real Hero” are highlights and likely the tracks responsible for piquing most people’s interest in picking up the soundtrack, while Riz Ortolani’s melodramatic “Oh My Love” remains an unusual but somehow fitting inclusion. All in all, Drive’s soundtrack succeeds as both an important part of the movie and - albeit to a lesser extent - a worthwhile listen on its own.



Recent reviews by this author
Meat Puppets Meat Puppets IIFlipper Gone Fishin'
Stick Men With Ray Guns Some People Deserve to SufferVoid Sessions 1981-83
Wipers Youth of AmericaFugazi Instrument Soundtrack
user ratings (87)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
related reviews

Only God Forgives

Comments:Add a Comment 
Gyromania
July 20th 2012


16089 Comments


Really want to see this film.

Good work dude.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
July 20th 2012


31629 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

'Nightcall' was hands down the best track of 2010

Digging: Theo Parrish - American Intelligence

Gyromania
July 20th 2012


16089 Comments


Guess I should take a listen then.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
July 20th 2012


24098 Comments


good review

Digging: Mitski - bury me at makeout creek

MichaelSnoxall
July 20th 2012


12163 Comments


Nightcall kicks some serious ass.

porch
July 20th 2012


8460 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

cheers duders

SeaAnemone
July 20th 2012


20970 Comments


Good shit. I generally only listen to the first five tracks here but this was a nice complement to a movie I liked a lot as well-- I don't see a ton of movies but I think this was my favorite of 2011. And yeah Deviant.'s right about "Nightcall." I checked out other Kavinsky but it doesn't live up to that track. Well-done review as always.

Digging: Viet Cong - Viet Cong

KILL
July 20th 2012


72280 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

sweet bro

Digging: Throwing Muses - Throwing Muses

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
July 20th 2012


28829 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

review is basically right... i added this to the database and it felt right to put it under martinez instead of soundtrack but the only tracks i listened to a lot r the non-martinezes

Digging: Charli XCX - Sucker

porch
July 20th 2012


8460 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yeah, there's some martinez tracks like hammer and bride of deluxe that i'll usually listen to whenever i put this on but the opening 5 really overshadow the rest

chambered49
July 20th 2012


1727 Comments


great review man i really liked this movie

Kiran
Emeritus
July 20th 2012


6002 Comments


nightcall is the coolest song ever

mvood
July 20th 2012


818 Comments


Brilliant review. Best parts of the film was when the music and setting were at the forefront.

SeaAnemone
July 20th 2012


20970 Comments


yeah weirdly enough I think my favorite parts of the film was the intro with the timing and the basketball game and then the opening credits

KILL
July 20th 2012


72280 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

wtf

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
July 20th 2012


31629 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Nah, Kavinsky is awesome in general

SeaAnemone
July 20th 2012


20970 Comments


Is anything besides 1986 worth checking out?

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
July 20th 2012


31629 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

You might as well grab his other two major releases: Teddy Boy and Blazer. The former is probably my favourite release of his (partly because it resulted in one of SebastiAn's best remixes)

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
July 20th 2012


50960 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

The first three tracks are classic

Digging: Friendzone - Collection 1

TomAkaVeto
July 20th 2012


1690 Comments


"Nightcall was hands down the best track of 2010" [2]

Bold statement, but it's true



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy