Dope Body
Natural History


4.3
superb

Review

by Greg Fisher STAFF
July 18th, 2012 | 47 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Noise rock redefined.

According to Dope Body their main purpose is to reclaim the glory of basement hardcore shows. It goes without saying then that Baltimore-based band's music is often defined as a pulverizing, ballsy and ferocious brand of noise rock, akin to such seminal outfits as The Jesus Lizard and McLusky. Despite the affinity with these acts, Dope Body reveal their distinct identity during the course of their genre-bending sophomore album. This is still crushingly heavy rock completed by a lyrical spouting of clever wordplay and sarcastic observations. However, Natural History turns the aesthetics of noise rock upside down weaving through various twists and turns with admirable aplomb.

The foursome expand their sonic assault by making math rock-inspired, angular dynamics an integral part of their frenzied style. Nearly every song is shrewdly built upon a stomping groove that provides a backdrop for highly dissonant guitar play. Dope Body have hardly lost their psychotic power and vigour in the process of experimenting with new textures though. They've just directed their raw energy into a much more discordant, headier musical territory. As peculiar as they may be, the results are also surprisingly accessible, especially when the group adds some alternative rock features to the mix, like infectious chorus melody that propels “Powder” or melodic guitar leads that make “Weird Mirror” so endearing.

Actually, the major asset of Natural History may be its constant tendency to venture into a multitude of styles. A pounding heaviness of sludgy opener “Shook” fades away only to expose the band's delirious rhythm section on playful “Road Dog” that seamlessly combines punk rock with boogie, while Caribbean-echoing “Twice the Life” may raise more than a few eyebrows with its phenomenal progressions. Elsewhere, “Out of My Mind” bears more than a passing resemblance to inventive drumming displayed by great experimental post-punk rockers of The Ex, even boasting a similar buzz-saw guitar tone.

With all these various influences wearing on their sleeve, Dope Body build up the reputation as an adventurous rock band that's capable of swiftly integrating the myriad of influences into their explosive style, which makes their music highly distinctive. Bursting at the seams with creative energy, Natural History makes the best of its boisterous, yet experimental variety of noise rock which should appeal to everyone who has a keen interest in forward-thinking music.



Recent reviews by this author
Sparky HumanimationLo-Pan Colossus
Kimbra The Golden EchoDog Fashion Disco Sweet Nothings
So Slow DharaviMastodon Once More 'Round the Sun
user ratings (45)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
greg84
Staff Reviewer
July 18th 2012


7421 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

So... this is awesome.

Lazy Slave:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gaaIcfIjFNU

Weird Mirror:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qkXlRhFwfh8

Digging: Dope Body - Lifer

cryMore
July 18th 2012


469 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's p good, high 3 for me

kingsoby1
Emeritus
July 18th 2012


4950 Comments


another 4 review from greg!

i will listen

greg84
Staff Reviewer
July 18th 2012


7421 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

I tried to write a fairly negative review of another album, but didn't find the inspiration...

This is really cool especially after multiple spins. It's definitely a grower.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
July 18th 2012


7421 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

Hard to say dude. The record is very varied. There are some tracks on this that can even pass as sludge.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
July 18th 2012


7421 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

I'd tag it as noise or experimental rock. It's well worth checking out for sure.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
July 18th 2012


7421 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

Ah. Thanks. Beat is simple, but effective imo. Shook is my least favorite, I guess. But, it works well as an opener.

TheNotrap
July 18th 2012


8109 Comments


Excellent review Greg, short and to the point.
Your recent promotion to contributor was definitely an upgrade to this website.

Well punk rock is not my thing but I'll probably check this out.


Digging: Threshold - For The Journey

greg84
Staff Reviewer
July 18th 2012


7421 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

Somebody on last.fm actually labelled it as progressive punk, which means you need to check it out. LOL

Thanks a lot for the compliment. You're a great reviewer too.

TheNotrap
July 18th 2012


8109 Comments


Hahah Will check it for sure then.

Oh You're just being kind, my English is very bad..I'm an average reviewer, but thanks anyway sir

greg84
Staff Reviewer
July 18th 2012


7421 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

I know that approval rating doesn't mean anything, but 95% sounds cool to me. Don't be so modest. You should review more.

YankeeDudel
July 18th 2012


9313 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This sounds pretty interesting. Checking the stream.

Digging: The The - Soul Mining

TheNotrap
July 18th 2012


8109 Comments


My main problem (besides the language barrier) is finding some quality free time. But yes, I'll probably make a review in the near future.

Thanks again Greg.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
July 18th 2012


7421 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

@TheNotrap:
I don't know if you've heard a heavy metal group Dawbringer. If not, their latest album is also highly recommended.


TheNotrap
July 18th 2012


8109 Comments


I'm afraid not but I trust your word, will check their latest work in the next couple of days. Thanks for the rec.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
July 18th 2012


3450 Comments


Great review! Pos. I haven't heard of these guys before but I've just listened to this and the whole album is a blast.

Digging: The Ting Tings - Super Critical

YankeeDudel
July 18th 2012


9313 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yea this is really good man.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
July 18th 2012


7421 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

Thanks. Yeah. It is A BLAST. Another top-notch noise rock release this year. 2012 has been totally amazing for the genre so far: Kapitan Korsakov, Therapy?, Future Of The Left, Pop. 1280 and this. All killer stuff!

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
July 18th 2012


3450 Comments


Yeah, I'm really stuck on these year's albums as I always find one to listen to. I can't wait though for Valis to release their 4th album on August 31th :D:D.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
July 18th 2012


7421 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

@insomniac:
Yeah. I'm also stoked for this one. I'm sort of surprised you didn't get promoted as you had a couple of reviews featured. Keep up the good work man. Your time will come.

@YankeeDudel:
Yeah. It rocks!




You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy