Mark Tremonti
All I Was


4.5
superb

Review

by Jake Scavello USER (1 Reviews)
July 18th, 2012 | 145 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Tremonti's solo debut showcases his adept guitar playing and song writing while adding another talent to the list - singing.

DISCLAIMER: I'm a Mark Tremonti fanboy. This may or may not be evident in this review.

First thing's first, 'All I Was' is a metal record. Some of Mark's playing on past Creed and Alter Bridge records has been reminiscent of metal, such as "Ties That Bind" (Alter Bridge) or "Bullets" (Creed), but both bands are predominantly rock/hard rock bands. With this record, however, Mark isn't being held back by genre limitations of said bands, and he really lets his inner metal head out. Tremonti's deep voice is perfect for this type of music. Speeding guitar work, double bass drumming, shredding solos. You name it, 'All I Was' has it. Lead single "You Waste Your Time" exhibits Tremonti's metal side wonderfully with its thrashy riff, loud vocals, and pounding drums. "Wish You Well" is another metal song, and ends up being the fastest and heaviest on the album. The song's frantic pace gives it a sense of urgency and keeps you on your toes as soon as the opening riff kicks in, up to the guitar solo (which is one of the best on the album), all the way to the slower paced, dark-sounding "Brains." This song slows down the pace of the album a bit in order to prepare for the emotionally driven "The Things I've Seen." The track opens with a Creed-esque riff, but goes on to boast one of Mark's finest vocal performances on the whole album. Other than some ballad-like qualities on "The Things I've Seen," the only actual ballad on the record is "New Way Out." The powerful vocal performance and optimistic lyrics make this a highlight of the album, as well as containing my favorite solo.

Speaking of solos, this album is filled to the brim with Tremonti's melodic leads that he's shown countless times with Alter Bridge and Creed. Ten out of the record's twelve songs include solos, all fast, melodic, and tasteful. On some tracks, such as "Proof," the guitar solo actually ends up being the best part.

The only noticeable downsides to this record are the somewhat predictable song structures and the generic lyrics. Nearly all of the songs follow the basic intro-verse-chorus-verse-chorus-bridge-chorus formula that most bands in the genre seem to hold dear. Though Tremonti's excellent songwriting almost forgives this, it's still there and it can get tiresome. The lyrics are not bad by any means. They fit the context of the album very well. However, much of the lyrics on here sounds like its been done before, but I guess that's what happens when you're one of the primary songwriters for another band (Alter Bridge). These are the only two faults I have with the album, and even those aren't enough to keep this from being one the greatest heavy metal records of the year for me

Recommended Tracks:
"All I Was"
"New Way Out"
"The Things I've Seen"
"You Waste Your Time"
"Decay"


user ratings (94)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
Austin (3.5)
Hardly the departure from Alter Bridge that was promised, but still a successful solo debut from Tre...

Caleb C. (3)
Adequate......


Comments:Add a Comment 
JakeStallion
July 18th 2012


398 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I loved this album so much I had to make it my first ever review. I tried my best to not sound biased. Feedback is much appreciated!

KjSwantko
July 18th 2012


9309 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This probably isn't all that great, but decent review, Jake! Gave ya a pos.

Gmork89
July 18th 2012


5513 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I bet it's awesome, good review dude.

JakeStallion
July 18th 2012


398 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks guys!

Here's a little sample of what the album sounds like: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HXDv7_MNgw0&feature=channel&list=UL

The channel has the rest of the songs too if you're interested. The song "All I Was" has an insane solo/breakdown section.

Themac
July 18th 2012


52 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Album is okay, it's just more typical Tremonti. If you like AB then you'll like this, if not, then you probably won't.

JakeStallion
July 18th 2012


398 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@Themac

I somewhat disagree. Much of this album is heavier than any of Tremonti's work in Alter Bridge. I DO agree though that any fans of AB's heavier material (Ties That Bind, Still Remains) will like this.

Gmork89
July 18th 2012


5513 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's not really typical Tremonti, considering he hasn't ever really written anything this heavy before.

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
July 18th 2012


28586 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

best fucking username ive ever seen

Digging: Chris Brown - X

JakeStallion
July 18th 2012


398 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Jake Stallion was a nickname given to me by the seniors when I was a freshman in high school and it's stuck with me ever since.

KjSwantko
July 18th 2012


9309 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

How'd you earn it is the key question

JakeStallion
July 18th 2012


398 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Wanna know how I earned such a name? I was a supposed "beast" at Call of Duty 4 at the time and the seniors decided that Stallion was the only name fitting for such a dangerous man.

KjSwantko
July 18th 2012


9309 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

haha

Gmork89
July 18th 2012


5513 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Nearly all of the songs follow the basic intro-verse-chorus-verse-chorus-bridge-chorus formula that most bands in the genre seem to hold dear."

This pisses me off and is probably the reason I wont give this higher than a 4. It's like he doesn't quite realize that if he tried to make his music more progressive he could enter a whole new league.

JakeStallion
July 18th 2012


398 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It is a bit disappointing because I know he'd be more than competent with some progression in his music. Just look at his instrumental with AB, Ahavo Rabo Taco Salad. That song's got progressive elements and it's incredible. The basic song structures aren't too bad in this case though, because he does a pretty good job covering them up with interesting riffs and solos.

KjSwantko
July 18th 2012


9309 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I've always liked Mark's style as far as mainstream Rock goes, but I'm Very disappointed with this.

-the lyrical content is horribly cliche and rudimentary.
-very few memorable riffs
-almost all the songs sound the same and are highly predictable.

This is a painfully average-good album. A couple great solos, and 2-3 interesting songs songs saved this from being a 2.

JakeStallion
July 18th 2012


398 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I agree about the lyrics being cliche, but I think they work well in the context of these songs. Very easy lyrics to relate to, which is probably what Mark wanted for his first album. I disagree about the riffs not being memorable. I love his guitar work on here and a lot of the riffs have been sticking with me.

Apollo
July 18th 2012


10316 Comments


This is pretty fucking heavy for Tremonti...liking this so far

Cipieron
July 18th 2012


3508 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i thought this would end up being around a 3.5-4, but it far exceeded my expectations. getting better with every listen

JakeStallion
July 18th 2012


398 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I agree. I've listened to this about 10 times so far already, and I love it more every time I listen to it. Despite how much I love Tremonti, I was a bit skeptical at first about this record, but it's blown me away in almost every conceivable manner.

tarkus
July 18th 2012


5560 Comments


how could you expect anything from this clown to be higher than a 2



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy