Mellow Bravo
Mellow Bravo


4.0
excellent

Review

by Greg Fisher STAFF
June 29th, 2012 | 35 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: It enters the realms of classic rock with tremendous hooks and admirable diversity.

Following an excellent debut is never easy. With their first self-released disc Strut, Mellow Bravo upped the ante for themselves by presenting a distinct take on classic rock finding the middle ground between engrossing songwriting and vivid arrangements. This style perfectly translated into lively concerts which earned them a reputation for being one of the most entertaining underground rock acts in the US. As a result, the Bostonian sextet didn't have to wait long to release their sophomore LP under the wings of formidable Small Stone Records. On their slickly produced, eponymous album, Mellow Bravo expand their musical horizons merging their trademark infectiousness with the whole gamut of various rock influences.

Great diversity and refusal to stick to a fixed genre make Mellow Bravo impossible to pin down. “Sad Sam” opens the disc with thumping blues rock highlighted by superbly harmonized harmonica play and impassioned vocals. Keith Price's gruff voice shares the same register with Killing Joke's Jaz Coleman, yet he proves to be even more versatile especially when paired with keyboardist Jess Collins who delivers soulful, high-pitched singing. Their vocal interplay on numerous tracks is the asset that can't be underestimated. Inspired by both post-punk and reggae, “Where The Bodies Lay” relies on a startling contrast between their voices making for a truly enchanting tune, while driving heavy metal of “Ridin'” makes Collins shine with her assured leading vocal performance.

It's astounding how expertly Mellow Bravo perform in their every incarnation. Even when they venture into a potentially risky folk territory on such songs as “Prairie Dog” and “Big Block,” they remain stellar by means of quality song craft and a tangible sense of Americana these songs encompass. However, the band seems to embrace their hard rock tendencies to the best effect. “Lioness” is a highlight that embeds notable pop and funk aesthetics into the group's sound without sacrificing the meatiness of southern rock. Out of several ballads, bluesy “When I'm In Pain” stands out with its 1950’s doowop references which serve as an ideal backdrop for a heartfelt verse being followed by a booming chorus.

Brimful of infectious hooks and emotive vocals, Mellow Bravo is absolutely devoid of subtlety. The album hits hard though and thus delivers its fair share of addictive tunes that somehow steer clear of cheesiness while covering a multitude of subgenres. The band needs to be applauded for making rock music that's solidly composed, supremely accessible and deeply ingrained in American tradition. All these qualities merit multiple listens, especially in the summertime.



Recent reviews by this author
Sparky HumanimationLo-Pan Colossus
Kimbra The Golden EchoDog Fashion Disco Sweet Nothings
So Slow DharaviMastodon Once More 'Round the Sun
user ratings (5)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
BirthRite
June 29th 2012


1318 Comments


pos



greg84
Staff Reviewer
June 29th 2012


7421 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sad Sam:
http://www.brokenbeard.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/01-Sad-Sam.mp3

Where the Bodies Lay:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pGRHYUi5HGc

When I'm in Pain:
http://soundcloud.com/rslblog-com/mellow-bravo-when-im-in-pain-1

iTunes:
http://itunes.apple.com/us/album/s-t/id528301371

and thanks...

Digging: Dope Body - Lifer

WashboardSuds
June 29th 2012


5025 Comments


sounds cool. good review

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
June 30th 2012


10288 Comments


Greg, I always imagine you as Greg Puciato. It makes my day go by a bit easier.

Nice review, too. Doesn't sound like my kinda thing but you sell it well.

CaptainDooRight
June 30th 2012


29965 Comments


I didn't like any of those songs you posted but the beginning of this song is nice

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=zf-ewO2whQs

Digging: Fleurety - Min Tid Skal Komme

TheNotrap
June 30th 2012


8109 Comments


Excellent review as usual.
Will check this out in the next couple of weeks.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
June 30th 2012


7421 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks a bunch guys.

@OmahaStylee94:
Yes. We're akin to each other... in the sense that we're both awesome. ;)

@CaptainDooRight:
This entire song also rules. Strut is a great record too.


Jethro42
June 30th 2012


12484 Comments


Sad Sam is such a great song. Good job on the review, bro.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
June 30th 2012


7421 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah. The entire album's rad. I posted the links to 2 other songs in my first comment. Feel free to check them out.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
June 30th 2012


21048 Comments


Great review as usual, Greg.

This album rocks. Need to give it another spin, I've only listened to it once so far but I enjoyed it, particularly the rockier tracks.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
June 30th 2012


7421 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cheers Jamie. Mad props for checking this out.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
June 30th 2012


8371 Comments


Good review Greg. I think I'll pass on this but to make you feel better I'll let you know that my next review will most probably be about a solid Estonian riff-rock band.

CaptainDooRight
June 30th 2012


29965 Comments


Oh and pos bro your review is excellent!

greg84
Staff Reviewer
June 30th 2012


7421 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thank U Magnus and Captain.

@Magnus:
This sounds intriguing. I don't know any Estonian bands, not to mention riff-rock ones.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
June 30th 2012


8371 Comments


Here's a little preview for you, Greg: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6NiMEIEBoLM

greg84
Staff Reviewer
June 30th 2012


7421 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^Good track. The mathy instrumentation is tight, while the vocalist sounds like Chris Cornell.

SteelErectedb4you8er
June 30th 2012


2618 Comments


Nice review, Greg. Once again, killing it like a villain. I will check this out.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
June 30th 2012


7421 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cool Steve. The band's awesome. Be sure to check out their debut LP too.

Nagrarok
July 1st 2012


8259 Comments


Great review as always greg, I should like this.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
July 1st 2012


7421 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks man. I really think you'll dig this.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy