Deathspell Omega
Drought


4.0
excellent

Review

by Azazzel USER (1 Reviews)
June 26th, 2012 | 22 replies | 2,976 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A welcome addition that will leave you thirsting for more.

9 of 9 thought this review was well written

Deathspell Omega deliver a refined arrangement of their sound on Drought by compacting a potent handful of tracks into just 21 minutes while retaining the group’s illustrious suffocating density. Being their only EP with more than three songs and each being under 5 minutes, Drought is a distilled cogent sampler of their best attributes with a palpable aftertaste of things to come and is an excellent choice for anyone attempting to cut their teeth on Deathspell Omega’s unique brand of chaos for the first time.

The range of the music itself is dynamic, panning from thick and knotted oblique melodies and frenzied chaotic aggression to woefully angelic post rock/ambient influences. Each track offers its own brand of madness and complexity showcasing a different facet of Deathspell Omega’s unmatched style. Mikko continues to utilize his raspy growls to great effect and the drumming performance is still an insane mix of furious blast beats and impressive fills. With everyone on the mark the group continues to pave new ground through the metal sonic-sphere without missing a step.

The opener “Salowe Vision” paces itself with doomful conviction and enough mournful purpose to act as both a beautiful stand-alone song and introduction, something rarely implemented successfully. What proceeds is domination by a hellish aggression you would expect from the very best of Paracletus. Twisted and dark these songs rip you through a murky atonal undertow without pausing for breath. Yet each member’s contribution is clear and discernible thanks to the excellent production. The album’s latter half while at times slower and circumspect provides a balanced contrast to the rest of the EP providing a more stoic take on their obfuscated sound like the notably multifarious closer “The Crackled Book of Life” With such diversity, in the wake of the albums end listeners will be hard pressed to reach a mutual consensus for the best track which is likely to shift upon repeated listens.

Drought feels like a fitting epilogue to the two years since finished epic trilogy, perhaps not in ideology but rather a reaffirming summation of their accomplishments as well as a continued willing exploration, providing assurance that Deathspell Omega will be able to evolve their sound in new and interesting ways in the future and hopefully avoid the stagflating state of their genre whose conventions they continue to advance.


user ratings (171)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
Sputnik's official false metal authority (4)
Be sure to bring water......


Comments:Add a Comment 
Azazzel
June 25th 2012



135 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

First review guys. Would appreciate some feedback. What's your favorite track and why?

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
June 25th 2012



16299 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good first review, I will pos. You descriptions in general were great, especially ones like:

panning from thick and knotted oblique melodies and frenzied chaotic aggression to woefully angelic post rock/ambient influences


Your third paragraph sadly is rather derivative and track-by-track in nature, which detracts from the overall quality of the review. Still though, it was a good read.

"The Crackled Book of Life" is my favorite track here simply because of its atmosphere and how sinister it is.

Digging: Ulver - Bergtatt

Azazzel
June 25th 2012



135 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That third paragraph took the longest to write because I was trying to avoid being too xyz about track descriptions but I thought I needed some more meat to fill the review out.

I'd love to see where Salowe Vision would have gone with another 5 minutes.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
June 25th 2012



16299 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Just try to work your comments about tracks into the overall description of the album instead of devoting an entire paragraph to talking about each one in order. Pro tip: you don't have to mention every track by name in a review so long as you convey through other means what they contain.

For example, where you say:

panning from thick and knotted oblique melodies and frenzied chaotic aggression to woefully angelic post rock/ambient influences.


You could just as easily say:

panning from thick and knotted oblique melodies and frenzied chaotic aggression of "Abrasive Swirling Murk" to woefully angelic post rock/ambient influences contained within "Salowe Vision".


Doing this would render your entire third paragraph unnecessary. It is a huge flow-breaker to go from talking in such nice and colorful ways about the album and its instrumentation to a blocky, bothersome track-listing with brief asides. Just let it run its course naturally and talk about the album in general, not so much its individual pieces. You can most definitely still mention them, just don't waste your time giving us a track-by-track.

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
June 25th 2012



4400 Comments


Review is good. The summary needs to be edited. But you do a great job in your descriptions like Crysis said.
Anyway, Azazzel, you did a fine job. Hope to see more form you and welcome to Sputnik!

Digging: Shabazz Palaces - Lese Majesty

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
June 25th 2012



16299 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, don't take my criticism as me not liking the review. Your writing definitely has potential, I'm just trying to tell you where you might want to tidy things up a bit.

BirthRite
June 25th 2012



1318 Comments


pos




Azazzel
June 25th 2012



135 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks for you're input guys, I revised the intro and, I think, translated my song descriptions to better fit a general review.

MTObsidian
June 25th 2012



118 Comments


Job well done! Pos'd.

Tyrael
June 26th 2012



20798 Comments


Good job, some of your descriptions are spot on. Pos'd.

kingsoby1
Emeritus
June 26th 2012



4950 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good job and crysis' insights are spot on

Ovrot
June 27th 2012



10488 Comments



m/

Digging: Jean Michel Jarre - Oxygene

Spec
June 27th 2012



27102 Comments


thirsting for more

Digging: Rinoa - An Age Among Them

Azazzel
June 29th 2012



135 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

My review is the unloved ginger stepchild.

YUJOS
July 1st 2012



916 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Very good review for a fisrt one Azazzel. Hava a pos.

666Micrograms
February 3rd 2013



923 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

new album better be out this year. I'd love to see a continuation of the direction they took on paracletus, but with longer tracks

Hawks
February 3rd 2013



35392 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Why longer tracks? Paracletus was pretty much perfect.

Digging: Sun Worship - Elder Giants

666Micrograms
February 3rd 2013



923 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

call me old fashioned but I'd be all too stoked if Paracletus was 20 minutes longer. Im pissed its out of print on amazon just when I'm about to buy a slew of albums off there, its quite my favorite black metal album.

kingsoby1
Emeritus
February 4th 2013



4950 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Got on vinyl picture disc :]

666Micrograms
February 4th 2013



923 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

my gahd, thats sick dude. i wish i had the patience for vinyl, its the proper way to collect music



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy