Rush
Clockwork Angels


4.0
excellent


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: With lush production and some good ol' power trio riffing, it's all a fan could ever ask for

It's fair to say that every male knows a little of Rush. Hell, if you have a dad or lived through the 70's or 80's you've probably heard "Tom Sawyer" or "Closer to the Heart" at least a couple times. With that being said, Clockwork Angels is a surprise since it's their most energetic release since 1993's unexpected "comeback," Counterparts. It's interesting how many comebacks Rush has had considering that they've never really put out an atrociously bad album. Yes, unlike pretty much every classic prog band ever, Rush has never put out a Big Generator, a Calling All Stations or a Saga album. Clockwork Angels clearly doesn't break new ground in the way that the band's 1976-1978 trilogy did but at this point you can't fault them for it. Instead, the not-yet-senile progressive veterans present an album that's more focused than anything they've ever done. Maybe Clockwork Angels doesn't hit the mark in the way Moving Pictures did, but it certainly is the perfect album for any seasoned fan to have... even if bricked production isn't your thing.


user ratings (1040)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Ire
June 22nd 2012


41795 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

wrote this cos i promised kill two weeks ago before i lost my laptop, cos staff doesn't give a shit about rush and because i really wanted to review this.

sorry jomwilliechan

Lakes.
June 22nd 2012


28368 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

nice soundoff

pos'd hard

Digging: Weezer - Everything Will Be Alright in the End

KILL
June 22nd 2012


71957 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

hahaha sweet

Digging: Exodus - Blood In, Blood Out

KILL
June 22nd 2012


71957 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

they've never really put out an atrociously bad album.

dude i'd say they havent even put out a bad album in general, even test for echo is ok

Ire
June 22nd 2012


41795 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

that opening line excludes sea ofc


enjoy!

edit: they haven't put out a bad album at all but i don't wanna sound like a fanboy


...even tho it's the fucking truth

KILL
June 22nd 2012


71957 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

honestly review is perfect length it doesnt fuck around and the album rules so feature and flag this

ChuckyTruant
June 22nd 2012


15722 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

best soundoff ever

Digging: Queensryche - Operation: Mindcrime

Lakes.
June 22nd 2012


28368 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

agreed

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
June 22nd 2012


16137 Comments


Still not liking this as much as I was hoping I would and as much as most of you seem to. Bu2B is probably the only track I really like.

Lakes.
June 22nd 2012


28368 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

whaaaaaaaaat

KILL
June 22nd 2012


71957 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

angel wtf? the garden is the best song ever so much emotion and geddy cries at the end

Graveyard
June 22nd 2012


5746 Comments


rush is overproduced this time around

Digging: Nurse With Wound - Spiral Insana

KILL
June 22nd 2012


71957 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

wait neck every track rules i agree with sonic bu2b is the worst one but it still fuckin rocks my ass

Lakes.
June 22nd 2012


28368 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

wish them well is worst but they all rule

Ire
June 22nd 2012


41795 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

i was listening to the band's music from big pink while writing this so there's prob a band reference somewhere in there.

thanks bros glad you dig it ;3

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
June 22nd 2012


16137 Comments


Really? BU2B is like the only one with any memorable riffing or vocal hooks.

Lakes.
June 22nd 2012


28368 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ALL THAT YOU CAN DO IS WISH THEM WELL

KILL
June 22nd 2012


71957 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

dude every song here speaks to me! i dont hear the word of god i hear fuckin geddy lee

Lakes.
June 22nd 2012


28368 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Really? BU2B is like the only one with any memorable riffing or vocal hooks."

anarchist riff isnt memorable to you?

bro

Ire
June 22nd 2012


41795 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

tbh bu2b is my favorite off this

that riff is so heavy like god damn it's like rush were listening to isis and said "fuck this lets do it right"



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy