Inveracity
Extermination of Millions


2.5
average

Review

by Ben Worsfold USER (7 Reviews)
June 21st, 2012 | 26 replies | 2,420 views


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: There is a curiously puerile obsession with what constitutes ‘true’ death metal across the modern day scene. But perhaps this hasn’t grasped the true nature of music. The great and the poor are not distinguished by sonic density. And this is where I

1 of 1 thought this review was well written

There is a curiously puerile obsession with what constitutes ‘true’ death metal across the modern day scene. The internet is swollen with disturbingly close-minded misconceptions- even analysis of the most apathetic brevity would reveal that, to this great morass, personal taste and subjectivity prove concepts akin to anathemas. It is clear logic and reason have become firmly diluted. And replaced by a seething core of hate. It seems as if their palates have been sterilized to cater only for unengaging, uncreative noise: just a whiff of experimentation is like throwing a punch into a beehive. Bare-handed. A prime example proves to be the most recent Morbid Angel album, a work worthy of dislike indeed but not to the extent many purists acceded to, accentuating its ill qualities beyond that which they deserved. It boggles the mind why music should proliferate such arguments, such hostility- but listening to a band that thrives on elitism, such as Greek death metal quartet Inveracity, the mind is swiftly put to rest. Suddenly music appears all the more polarizing.

Inveracity certainly can’t be critiqued on their lack of inherent brutality: ‘Extermination of Millions’ ticks that box perfectly. The entire record simply seethes. Magnificent in its sonic density, the album is a swirling hotbed of extremely technical riffs layered over clattering drum patterns with the almost impossibly deep growl of vocalist George adding the final dimension. Just listening to the opening three tracks- of which ‘Exposing the Semi-Humans’ seems the most dynamic- it is easy to be impressed. Inveracity proffers a brutal death metal sound and that is exactly what the listener receives; there are no punches pulled here, no internet-baiting elements of experimentation. This is a traditionalist type of heaviness. And therein lies the problem. Of course, ‘Extermination of Millions’ embodies exactly what the purist desires, but, in appealing to such an entrenched audience, sacrifices what could distinguish it as a great album. It sacrifices variety, it sacrifices creativity, and therefore descends into monotony at an alarming rate.

Despite all the appeal of the band’s aggression, it is a gimmick swift to wear thin. After the fourth track or so, everything seems to blur into one swirling mass with nothing offering any particular notable distinction. Don’t mistake me: the guitars remain on full shred, the vocalist on maximum, vitriol-spitting savagery, the meters all firmly in the red. But there is nothing special here. There is nothing to draw Inveracity out from and above the masses of bands equally reliant on simply being brutal. The riffs present lack any sort of real, talented execution- they all eventually sound the same, even to the most dedicated listener, or are simply lost in the sonic battering each track seeks to inflict. Songs like ‘Visions of Coming Apocalypse’ and the simple shred-fest of ‘Raped’ have their interesting, engaging moments but, in the long run, are fleeting in memory. It is a shame a band that has the visceral capacity to provide such levels of the stripped-down death metal sound, so loved by internet purists, squander their inherent creativity- so much more could have been done with this album. Instead, Inveracity leaves it hanging like a disarmed scud missile.

Now I understand the dangers of baiting the beasts of the internet. I understand that many will dismiss this review as the chattering of some unknowledgeable fool, unable to understand the appeal of bands like Inveracity to its full extent. But take some time to return to this album and consider your opinion again. Don’t just embrace it to appear more ‘kvlt’ or ‘brvtal’ on the forums, or to use it as a weapon against those bands you personally disregard. It is high time arguments centered on the concept of death metal purity stop. Personally, Inveracity just embodies a band being brutal for brutality’s sake, adding little to the scene despite the competence of their work. By all means, like what you will: that’s the beauty of opinion. But reflect on why you like it- if it’s because you think it makes you appear different, that it makes you stand out from the masses, then perhaps you haven’t grasped the true nature of music. The great and the poor are not distinguished by sonic density. And this is where Inveracity- and all the polarizing pretenders of the internet- fall flat onto their collective faces.



Recent reviews by this author
Supreme Pain Nemesis EnforcerFlesh Consumed Ecliptic Dimensions Of Suffering
Lecherous Nocturne The Age of Miracles Has PassedOphiolatry Transmutation
Desecration Process of DecayMalevolent Creation Retribution
user ratings (49)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Athom
Staff Reviewer
June 21st 2012



17197 Comments


Nice review. I really like this album though. it's no
erosion if sanity but it's a fun listen.

HenchmanOfSanta
June 21st 2012



1852 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Just a tip: Your summary shouldn't be something from the review itself.

Also, this isn't a great review. Stop talking about internet perception and just focus on the album itself. It sounds like you went on a metal message board once and were insulted, so now you are lashing out against Inveracity for some reason. Brutal death metal in this style has been around for much longer than the weird internet metal hivemind you've conjured up. If you just expanded on the middle two paragraphs it would be a good review.

Also brutal death isn't even that popular on the internet and metal fans are always open to experimentation. Just not when that experimentation results in songs like "Radikult."

MO
June 21st 2012



18250 Comments


"it's no
erosion if sanity but it's a fun listen."

fucking right

Digging: Immolation - Dawn of Possession

scissorlocked
June 21st 2012



3508 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

these guys slay

I've seen them live several times in Athens' small underground gigs

Digging: John Roberts - Ausio

YUJOS
June 21st 2012



915 Comments


^ Kolofarde!!!!

Digging: Misery Index - The Killing Gods

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
June 21st 2012



18043 Comments


as far as brutal death goes this is about as good as it gets

plus the drummer is the drummer of dead congregation and he wrecks buildings

Digging: Huerco S - Colonial Patterns

Tyrael
June 21st 2012



20739 Comments


he wrecks buildings

band practice must be hell with this guy around

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
June 21st 2012



18043 Comments


hes probably responsible for most of the damage in greece right now

Killerhit
June 21st 2012



5209 Comments


There is a curiously puerile obsession with what constitutes ‘true’ death metal across the modern day scene. The internet is swollen with disturbingly close-minded misconceptions...


You should make dat into a fuckin book

TheRedPen
June 21st 2012



10 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

@HenchmanOfSanta:
The reason I opened the review with a tie-in to an alternate topic was to diversify the content, to make it a more readable prospect. I understand if you'd rather a review was blunt and direct, but sometimes a little interesting expression and exploration of ideas surrounding the subject makes for an engaging alternate approach. If you don't like it, that's more than fine- it's a free country. But please don't patronize me by telling me how I should write my own reviews. By all means, give advice- refrain from defining a different tack as a poor review. Thank you.

As for the whole 'metal fans are always open to experimentation' bit of your comment, that's an absolute pile of bullshit. I went to a Machine Head concert last year- the support bands were practically booed off the stage by the elitist fans in the crowd. And that's not the only example I can think of- the Morbid Angel album notwithstanding, metal is the music genre that most aggressively polarizes opinion. Look at all the people up in the air over deathcore- there's plenty of that on the internet, that's for sure.

Finally, I notice your own opinion of the album rates it at a hearty 4- could that have possibly drawn you into bias when you saw I had a less appraising viewpoint? I apologize, my friend, but this is the kind of metalhead fanaticism I have come to expect- give an album acclaimed by fans as 'great' a poor review, and they return to tear you- and it- apart.

Yours,
TheRedPen

P.S. Sorry about the last line of the summary- that really is a poor showing on my behalf!


Killerhit
June 21st 2012



5209 Comments


too retarded and long

didn't bother reading

alachlahol
June 21st 2012



7471 Comments


is that self parody ravenrock cause im pretty sure youre talkin about your own stupid fuckin reviews this was well written yours all suck

HenchmanOfSanta
June 21st 2012



1852 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0


The reason I opened the review with a tie-in to an alternate topic was to diversify the content, to make it a more readable prospect. I understand if you'd rather a review was blunt and direct, but sometimes a little interesting expression and exploration of ideas surrounding the subject makes for an engaging alternate approach. If you don't like it, that's more than fine- it's a free country. But please don't patronize me by telling me how I should write my own reviews. By all means, give advice- refrain from defining a different tack as a poor review. Thank you.
It's called constructive criticism, dude. This a site where people write reviews of music, not diatribes on musical culture. You don't have to take my advice, but it sure as hell isn't just patronizing.

As for the whole 'metal fans are always open to experimentation' bit of your comment, that's an absolute pile of bullshit. I went to a Machine Head concert last year- the support bands were practically booed off the stage by the elitist fans in the crowd. And that's not the only example I can think of- the Morbid Angel album notwithstanding, metal is the music genre that most aggressively polarizes opinion. Look at all the people up in the air over deathcore- there's plenty of that on the internet, that's for sure.
But what does that have to do with experimentation? Who were the opening bands? What the hell kind of person listens to Machine Head and acts elitist? They're one of the most mainstream bands in modern metal. And deathcore isn't a good example of experimentation at all! It's a genre full of copycat bands that play the same breakdowns over and over again. There's very little diversity. When I say metal fans are open to experimentation, I'm talking about bands like Gorguts, Sigh, Atheist, etc. Bands who were innovative and are extremely well-respected.

Finally, I notice your own opinion of the album rates it at a hearty 4- could that have possibly drawn you into bias when you saw I had a less appraising viewpoint? I apologize, my friend, but this is the kind of metalhead fanaticism I have come to expect- give an album acclaimed by fans as 'great' a poor review, and they return to tear you- and it- apart.
No, because the criticisms you give of the album itself are valid--that's why I said you should expand upon those. I listened to this album exactly once, found it highly enjoyable, and gave it a 4. This is a poor review because half of it is spent criticizing internet elitism that is entirely irrelevant to the album.

HenchmanOfSanta
June 21st 2012



1852 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Inveracity is a really random band to do this kind of review to, as well. A typical brutal death metal band with one album that's regarded as pretty good (A whopping 3.55 with 94 votes on rateyourmusic, a 3.8 here with 34 votes) isn't really the kind of band you should be making this kind of statement about. Why not go after some albums that are actually considered classic like None So Vile or Effigy of the Forgotten or something?

But take some time to return to this album and consider your opinion again. Don’t just embrace it to appear more ‘kvlt’ or ‘brvtal’ on the forums, or to use it as a weapon against those bands you personally disregard...But reflect on why you like it- if it’s because you think it makes you appear different, that it makes you stand out from the masses,
Literally nobody thinks like that when forming their opinion on music.

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
June 21st 2012



18043 Comments


how the fuck do you type that much about brutal death

alachlahol
June 21st 2012



7471 Comments


elitist comment^

ShadowRemains
June 21st 2012



20243 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

dis album iz gud

Madbutcher3
June 21st 2012



1081 Comments


Good album, the riffs are good and it grooves well.
Review is good too but I disagree with it personally.

CaptainDooRight
June 21st 2012



28340 Comments


I thought your review was really well written and you expressed your points quite well. Have a POS.

I haven't heard this.

Digging: IQ - The Road of Bones

scissorlocked
June 21st 2012



3508 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the drummer is indeed sick





You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy