White Lung
Sorry


3.5
great

Review

by Martin L. USER (44 Reviews)
June 18th, 2012 | 61 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: nothing to be sorry for

Because female-fronted bands are necessarily rarer than their male counterparts, there seems to be an underlying tendency to view them (especially in the punk realm) as sort of a novelty at times; they become ‘special’ merely because of the subsequent vocal shifts and judged on a different scale. White Lung and frontwoman Mish throw this platitude under the bus in their second LP, Sorry. The output is aggressive and rattly, but not quite so much as their debut It’s The Evil, and all the better because of it. Instead, the Canadian fourpiece concentrates more heavily on melody and it pays off in the form of catchy, little grooves that make nearly every song a highlight in its own right. There’s nary a straggling track to be found, as the remarkable sense of pacing and energy from the band makes up for what are rather unremarkable lyrics.

Sorry exists in a comfortable middle-ground between abrasive and poppy, and never commit too heavily to either side. The manic energy is uncontained and angry, at times, but always led on a straight path by the pure exuberance and bounciness of the record. The entirety is awash in influences and comparisons, from the unrelenting lack of tempo shifts a la 80’s hardcore punk, to the almost pop-punk-esque listenability to tracks like “Bag,” where guitarist Kenny McCorkell shows off lick after lick of talent. Luckily, Sorry retains its own swagger and identity; more so in the form of the pure adrenaline rush the album elicits, as opposed to the mere fact that it features female vocals (which have been aptly labeled as a neo-female Bob Mould). It’s surprising that White Lung has yet to break the ice that separates them from more critical acclaim this year, as the infectious release has definite potential to hit it big. Sorry leaves White Lung with nothing to be sorry for.



Recent reviews by this author
Aidan Baker Already DrowningPity Sex Feast of Love
NoMeansNo WrongHuata/Bitcho Split
The Men New MoonGiles Corey Hinterkaifeck
user ratings (73)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
ShadowRemains
June 18th 2012


20843 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

so good

porch
June 18th 2012


8460 Comments


"rating is too low."

it's more accurate than yours

cool record/review, you should apply for contrib if you care about that sorta thing


carouse
June 18th 2012


302 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks, porch. And yes, I figured I would apply for a contributor position even though odds are unlikely. I might review a few new releases in the meantime though to improve my chances.

cryMore
June 19th 2012


469 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Does the chick scream, or are these clean vocals?

artificialbox
June 19th 2012


628 Comments


kind of both. yelled on pitch?? something like that

cryMore
June 19th 2012


469 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

might as well check it out

carouse
June 19th 2012


302 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I would call it yelling. Definitely try checking it out.

cryMore
June 19th 2012


469 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I don't normally dig female vocals, but I think they were drowned out slightly by the distortion/reverb. I'd listen to it again, it was pretty good

carouse
June 21st 2012


302 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I agree, I didn't mention it in the review because I was trying to keep it concise but the guitars definitely neutralize the vocals a bit, but not necessarily in a bad way.

chambered49
June 24th 2012


1727 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

rules great review again man you're awesome

ShadowRemains
June 25th 2012


20843 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

u bashtard

sniper
June 25th 2012


19058 Comments


checking this out now, nice review.

alachlahol
June 25th 2012


7489 Comments


just finished a serious ride on my fixed gear schwinn, bout to pop this in the stereo and give it a look

sniper
June 25th 2012


19058 Comments


you don't even have it on vinyl wow please hand over your hipster badge

alachlahol
June 25th 2012


7489 Comments


tape decks only bitch

sniper
June 25th 2012


19058 Comments


yeah grainy sound and hiss are better anyway

ShadowRemains
June 25th 2012


20843 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

alach i hope you've heard that hammers album

carouse
July 2nd 2012


302 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

All hipster jokes aside this rules pretty hard.

chambered49
July 4th 2012


1727 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

RULES

ShadowRemains
July 24th 2012


20843 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

been playing this a lot lately



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy