Man Without Country
Foe


4.0
excellent

Review

by Jacob R. STAFF
June 18th, 2012 | 19 replies | 3,013 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: We're still dreaming, apparently.

M83 has done a number on us as a music culture. We’re still dreaming, apparently - this is more than alright, considering how much of a universal bombshell Anthony Gonzalez’s latest offering was and how immediately it affected the indie world as we knew it. The double album captured the ideologies of disillusioned teens and adults alike with its simple concept, letting your imagination and dreams run rampant. After all, the album featured a kid rambling about frogs at one point, and the album cover’s duo ignited fire in the hearts of those of us who never quite grew up. People of our ilk must be everywhere, because the album was too; Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming effortlessly climbed its way to the top of everybody’s lists of 2011 and then some. The catalyst for this mass movement was the youthful energy present on the release. We all ache for simpler times, the days when crayons and Sharpies were our utensils to success; enough of keyboards and ballpoint pens, we say.

Man Without Country have been taking notes on elegant simplicity, noting what Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming has cultivated in the modern indie scene and then applying the coats of paint accordingly. What the two have picked up overall is the overall atmosphere, jarring in the most beautiful way. Warm and lush textures coalescing into syrupy bliss. A healthy passion for the histrionics of 80’s pop music. These elements unite under the same flag on Foe, an alliance of hooks to purpose.

Foe’s success is so immediate because it respects the old while building anew. We have throwbacks to the heyday of our parents, and on the same token we witness a keen adoration for innovation and modern technologies. The computer voices featured on the most emotional songs add a touch of vacancy - they’re accurate for the theme of getting lost in electronics, but frustrating for those wanting to escape the world’s woes. However, those willing to forgive the sometimes melodramatic nature of the album will take solace in the ease in which the album was constructed.

All of the songs take flight without effort, feathers nudged by the evening gust. Each track gets lost in itself, curling up meekly only to unfurl in brilliance. The tension of “Migrating Clay Pigeon” tugs its shackles tighter and tighter, and keeps redefining what we took to be its limit. The most gripping aspect of the album, though, is how haunting it becomes as it snakes through each turn. “Parity” is one of the most emotional songs of the year, pulling off with flying colors what would never be considered a good idea on paper. Not much of this release should work on paper, actually - it takes an active imagination to get lost in Foe.

If M83’s double album was the flashlight illuminating previously aphotic dancefloors, then Foe is the moth relentlessly clinging to the light, sensing meaning and refusing to let go. The album utilizes tools of the past to construct meaningful music with a delightfully modern context, and displays which direction shoegaze-inspired dance music is planning on taking in the near future. It’s a dream from which we won’t be waking up anytime soon, and a much-needed respite from reality that we could all use.



Recent reviews by this author
Fallujah The Flesh PrevailsEvery Time I Die From Parts Unknown
Baths Ocean DeathClosure in Moscow Pink Lemonade
SOHN TremorsSZA Z
user ratings (11)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Omaha
Staff Reviewer
June 18th 2012



10056 Comments


Originally posted on http://www.muzikdizcovery.com.

"Puppets" - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0g2lLMmCtfE
"Ebb & Flow" - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=82GZL-XruXA&feature=related
"King Complex" - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BFVg_jtbb2Y
"Iceberg" - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vvjgjpAeqS4&feature=related

What a great album this is.

Digging: The Contortionist - Language

johnnydeking29
June 18th 2012



9012 Comments


So it's awesome?

Digging: Envy - A Dead Sinking Story

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
June 18th 2012



4408 Comments


Really good review. I liked "ebb & flow" and "King Complex". The Puppets video was kind of cool, very psychedelic. POS'd.

"All of the songs take flight without effort, feathers nudged by the evening gust. Each track gets lost in itself, curling up meekly only to unfurl in brilliance."
- really liked that line.

Digging: Shabazz Palaces - Lese Majesty

PuddlesPuddles
June 18th 2012



4772 Comments


Interesting... As weird as it sounds, I've been too into M83 to get into this.

Also, along with the reviews and them playing shows, it's going to be hard for this band to be looked
at as their own and not 'a M83 band' I get the feeling... It's already almost inescapable

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
June 18th 2012



2714 Comments


I'm not sure that it's possible to call Foe a response to Hurry Up, We're Dreaming seeing as some of these tracks dropped (in live format at least) back in the summer of 2010. They were promoted by Radio 1 or some shit.

These same tracks have been worked on since then, though some (Closet Addicts Anonymous) sound a little less like m83.

I didn't really like the album, but I'll go back and re-listen.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
June 18th 2012



10056 Comments


Thanks guys. :]

Jonny I didn't mean that MWC were influenced directly by Hurry Up, We're Dreaming but rather impacted by M83's success overall.

I meant that Foe isn't a proper response, but a counterpart. You see? The albums were being created at roughly the same time, and appeal to the same audience.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
June 18th 2012



10056 Comments


I can see your point, though, and that's a mistake I made in the first sentence of paragraph 2. I'll get it edited - thanks for the heads-up, man :]

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
June 18th 2012



4507 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Figured a review would tie in Hurry Up, We're Dreaming. It's comparable, but still a great album.

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
June 18th 2012



2714 Comments


I don't know, the review seems to steer closer to suggesting that Foe is almost playing off the vibe of HU,WD. Regardless, it's well written.



Omaha
Staff Reviewer
June 18th 2012



10056 Comments


Yeah, I definitely see what you mean. Thank you. :]

bloc
June 19th 2012



34761 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album rules hard

Digging: Interpol - El Pintor

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
June 20th 2012



10056 Comments


Definitely, dude. Listening to Parity right now, and gah it's definitely one of my favorite songs from this year.

bloc
June 20th 2012



34761 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

A lot of the time it's a bit of a M83 clone but I actually don't mind.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
June 20th 2012



10056 Comments


I definitely don't mind - it's also different, because it's like if M83 fleshed out his more ambient interludes into full songs.

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
June 20th 2012



4507 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"it's like if M83 fleshed out his more ambient interludes into full songs."

Yep, that's a good way of putting it. Though I'd put 'Puppets' along side the best of his work.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
June 20th 2012



10056 Comments


Yeah, Puppets is lovely for sure. Its music video is awkward as hell, but then again I can be awkward as hell. *shrugs*

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
June 20th 2012



4507 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Lol, yeah the video is awful. Why is this boring girl is mumbling words into the camera. Cut her up in stop motion or something, c'mon.

RollieQuibbs
October 20th 2013



430 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Massive, fat, lush production. Underwhelming song writing. Like a great painting of a landscape I don't care about.

RollieQuibbs
October 20th 2013



430 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The "Drummer" does not add anything special at any point on the album.

Overall, more of a consistent listening experience than m83, but the highs are not as high. The New EP in 2013 will hopefully be a step forward.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy