Motion City Soundtrack
Go


3.5
great

Review

by Adam Knott EMERITUS
June 13th, 2012 | 148 replies | 15,293 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Falling just short of the band's highest standards, but with all the charm and hooks you'd expect.

As I start writing this review, "Happy Anniversary" - Go's penultimate track - has just kicked into its pretty sinister chorus, and it's striking me that we need to stop calling Motion City Soundtrack "that one pop-punk band that's really fun with all the synths and lyrics about video games." Justin Pierre and company are best known for 2005's superb Commit This To Memory (although My Dinosaur Life gives that record a run for its money), but there's more to this Minnesota quintet than people would have you believe. Go marks another subtle shift in sound, abandoning the more aggressive nature of its pre-decessor and opting in its stead for a lighter aesthetic which still (obviously) sounds exactly like fucking summer, even if it takes a little longer to bed in.

So there are more bouncy tracks here than breakneck ones, however much the chorus of "The Worst Is Yet To Come" would love to argue. But if Go shares strands with one of the band's previous albums more than others, Even If It Kills Me will nevertheless be watching on in considerable envy at the way "Timelines" moves through quickfire lyrical soundbites to the most solid of hooks, and the wispy texture of next track "Everyone Will Die" is even more impressive. In fact, Go sparks in its second half with some gusto. "Boxelder" is a song I feel I should find annoying but really, really don't; the aforementioned "Happy Anniversary" is the most tangibly atmospheric thing the band have ever put to record; and last song "Floating Down The River" continues their knack for excellent closers with aplomb.

If there's a flaw, it's that Go doesn't seem to possess a distinct identity as a whole. Where the band have moved from hyperactive pop-rockers through almost-pop to the rock of My Dinosaur Life, their fifth studio release is more of a collection of songs than a cohesive entity. And some of those songs fall somewhat flat - opener "Circuits And Wires" struggles for a climax, and "Bad Idea" suffers from repetition which works perfectly well elsewhere. When they're offset by cuts like "Happy Anniversary", though, it's nothing irredeemable. It's another set of witty, catchy, interesting songs from a band fast becoming champions of their genre. For what it's worth to speculate, it sounds like Motion City Soundtrack are warming up for an absolute classic. This isn't it - but it'll serve just fine in the meantime.



Recent reviews by this author
Mumford and Sons BabelAbel (NY) Make It Right
The Gaslight Anthem HandwrittenSigur Ros Valtari
Silversun Pickups Neck of the WoodsiLiKETRAiNS The Shallows
user ratings (164)
Chart.
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
BenitoOfficial (3.5)
An effort to be proud of, but not an instant classic....

ChungStarr (4)
‘Go’ seems to be of good substance and contains a few killer tracks, but the songs with a darke...

Sam Cowen (4)
"I am attempting to change after years of destruction. Don't be alarmed."...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Knott-
Emeritus
June 12th 2012



10195 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

there you

GO

there's not a great deal to say about the album except that it's pretty great

lucasjcockcroft
June 13th 2012



3707 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

love this band so much

CaptainDooRight
June 13th 2012



29071 Comments


Just heard true romance and really liked it

Digging: Kangding Ray - Solens Arc

Phideaux
June 13th 2012



1654 Comments


I've liked every one of their albums thus far. Sounds like I should check this out.

Good review, Adam.

CaptainDooRight
June 13th 2012



29071 Comments


Just heard three other songs and didn't like them at all

SeveralAlpacas
June 13th 2012



6 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah, that puts it pretty well.

Recspecs
June 13th 2012



9829 Comments


Can't wait to listen to this and then read Davey's review.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
June 13th 2012



20857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Who said I'm reviewing it? Adam is staff, you know!

I've only had 1 quick listen through it. Adam pretty much has it nailed. I think I like 'Timelines' best.

klap
Staff Reviewer
June 13th 2012



10402 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this band reminds me of counter-strike, it's weird

Digging: Literature - Chorus

Recspecs
June 13th 2012



9829 Comments


"Who said I'm reviewing it? Adam is staff, you know!"

Lol this just seems like the kind of album you would be all over.

fromtheinside
June 13th 2012



18177 Comments


Anything close to pulp fiction on this bad boy? My Dino Life was a true gem that proved this band still had life but this worries me, starting with the title, moving to the album cover, and some of those track titles

Digging: Tragedy - Vengeance

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
June 13th 2012



20857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

No, I do the pop-punk that everyone hates. Adam review the genre known as Highbrow pop-punk. He's English.

Kris.
June 13th 2012



12345 Comments


he's english

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
June 13th 2012



50293 Comments


Are you in the show?
No I'm English

Digging: The Brave Little Abacus - Just Got Back from the Discomfort

SCREAMorphine
June 13th 2012



1752 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Motion City Soundtrack is a fun listen, need to hear this already.

joshieboy12345
June 13th 2012



5370 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Just listened to True Romance and Timelines on Youtube, i might have to check this out, i love My Favorite Accident and Everything Is Alright.

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
June 13th 2012



7333 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Good review as ever, I'm finding this to be rather disappointing though.

LifeAsAChipmunk
June 13th 2012



4854 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Very disappointing.

Davey, you should definitely listen to this, it's not all that high-brow at all. I enjoyed The Maine's newest effort more than this, to be honest.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
June 13th 2012



7257 Comments


2012 Adam Knott reviews > non-2012 Adam Knott reviews

Your writing really flows these days mate. Something to do (at least, partially) with all that excellent ByVolume work, I imagine =)

Digging: U2 - Songs of Innocence

Recspecs
June 13th 2012



9829 Comments


"No, I do the pop-punk that everyone hates. Adam review the genre known as Highbrow pop-punk. He's English."

Haha if it's any consolation I listen to most of the stuff you review.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy