Saetia
Demo Cassette


4.0
excellent

Review

by Adam S. USER (6 Reviews)
June 7th, 2012 | 15 replies


Release Date: 1997 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Uncertainty haunts my everything..

It isn’t very often that I find myself listening to a demo. Usually they are just a haphazard collection of a few poorly-recorded tracks with the purpose of interesting a record label, or just a way of having a point of reference to allow a band to adjust their songs for their first actual release. The majority of the time, they receive very little attention and have no real significance on the direction that the band chooses to take. But just occasionally, they happen to be a perfect illustration of the band and what they might become. In the case of Saetia, one of the most highly-praised bands of their era.

If you haven’t heard of Saetia, they were formed in 1997 in New York and existed for just under three years after which the drummer began Interpol, the bassist went to form Off Minor and later, the vocalist, a guitarist, the drummer and a bassist went on to play in Hot Cross. This demo tape was around in the same year that the band formed and yet, it is brilliant. Whilst the first track, The Burden of Reflecting is very enjoyable, it doesn’t quite reach the heights of the other three tracks. There are the pretty, lilting guitar melodies and the contemplative lyrics that Saetia would later become famous for and the passionate vocals which jump from spoken passages to unintelligible grating screams. This contrast with the beautiful instrumentation is one of the highlights and is epitomised on Venus and Bacchus, the song that is arguably one of the finest in the genre. Saetia follow the calm / intense formula that a large number of screamo bands utlilised (and still do), with peaceful melodies breaking into intense passages but I struggle to think of bands who do it better. To write four songs as excellent as these in a full-length would be impressive but here they are, on a demo cassette, wrapped in the simplest cover with just song titles and a black-and-white flower.



Recent reviews by this author
Morpheus Descends Chronicles of the Shadowed OnesHeroin Heroin
Wooderson Let The Man SpeakKukim Live Morgantown Sound Radio Show
Yaphet Kotto The Killer Was in the Government Blankets
user ratings (21)
Chart.
3.7
great
related reviews

A Retrospective
recommended by reviewer
Saetia Saetia
Jeromes Dream Presents

Comments:Add a Comment 
Adabelle
June 7th 2012


4258 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I don't know why I reviewed this but I did so here is my review..

chesse13
June 7th 2012


3887 Comments


i somehow didn't know that the drummer was in interpol. That's cool

Digging: -

Adabelle
June 7th 2012


4258 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"u and i are now mortal enemies"

Okay I will go and listen to a Belketre demo to appease you

Adabelle
June 7th 2012


4258 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

But first how do you do the indenting thing?

Oh and the drummer was only in Interpol for a few years.

chesse13
June 7th 2012


3887 Comments


was he on turn on the bright lights? i never knew that though

Skoj
June 7th 2012


1202 Comments


"There are the pretty, lilting guitar melodies and the contemplative lyrics that Saetia would later become famous for and the passionate vocals which jump from spoken passages to unintelligible grating screams."

Run on sentence.

"This contrast with the beautiful instrumentation is one of the highlights and is epitomised on Venus and Bacchus, the song that is arguably one of the finest in the genre."

Should be contrasts.

The second paragraph can use a little work, my suggestion is to use a little less passive voice. Aside, cool review, pos'd

Digging: Pianos Become the Teeth - Keep You

Adabelle
June 7th 2012


4258 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Cheers bro, thanks for the feedback (and pointing out the typo).

auberginedreams
June 7th 2012


6065 Comments


"was he on turn on the bright lights?"

nope, he was only on the fukd id #3 ep and the precipitate ep if i remember correctly. he left a couple years before totbl was released.

Adabelle
June 8th 2012


4258 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeahhhhhhhhhhh. If this had Postlapsaria on it instead of the Burden of Reflecting it would be like 4 of my favourite 5 songs by them haha

Spluger
June 10th 2012


1181 Comments


Venus and Bacchus was the first Saetia song I ever listened to. How is the demo version? I think I'm gunna have to check this out.

Adabelle
June 11th 2012


4258 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

A Retrospective (which is what I assume you heard Venus and Bacchus from) is a comp. of this demo, their s/t album, Eronel and there are a few extra tracks, so the real version, IS the demo version. [At least as far as I can tell.]

Spluger
June 11th 2012


1181 Comments


Ahhh, I see. I do have A Retrospective so that is where I heard it from :P. Song rules.

Adabelle
August 14th 2012


4258 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

R
I
P

Y
O

Adabelle
August 14th 2013


4258 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

1 year later exactly, I must really dig Saetia-pre-results-day haha

Pheromone
November 11th 2013


3662 Comments


Your review was better.

Digging: Starflyer 59 - The Fashion Focus



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy