Daytrader
Twelve Years


3.0
good

Review

by Adam Thomas STAFF
May 21st, 2012 | 83 replies | 11,693 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Baby steps.

Daytrader's debut EP, Last Days of Rome, was a great start for the band, but for as good as it was, it was quite a disjointed listen. Something about it never quite came together to form something that was cohesively their own, even though it hinted that they were more than capable to pull it off. Well, Twelve Years, the first full length from the Long Island, NY based pop-punk act featuring former Crime in Stereo bassist Gary Cioni, finally sees Daytrader consolidating all of their best moments from their EP into something a little more solid and refined. There are no longer the stylistic gaps from song to song that, while entertaining in their own right, made Last Days of Rome feel like a demo in approach rather than unified collection of songs. There's still the understated angst and simmer right beneath the surface and the dual vocal assault that makes it all burst like fireworks when it hits full steam, but the highs don't come quite as often as needed to make it fully engaging throughout. Even when considering its lulls in between the highs, Twelve Years is a big step in the right direction for Daytrader. Given their pedigree and their position in the punk retooling of Rise Records a lot is expected from the band from the get go, but if they continue making diligent strides in the right direction, no matter how small, Daytrader's stock can only continue to climb. Twelve Years might not put Daytrader on quite the same level as recent releases by labelmates Hot Water Music, Cheap Girls, and Sharks but they're well on their way.



Recent reviews by this author
United Nations The Next Four YearsMatter Teraphim
The Hotelier Home, Like NoPlace Is ThereOwls Two
Taking Back Sunday Happiness IsGridLink Longhena
user ratings (117)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
Mary Paultese (3.5)
Ah, the debut album......

TommyIcedB (3.5)
Expect the choruses to be BIG....


Comments:Add a Comment 
SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
May 21st 2012



15281 Comments


i can almost cover this review up with my thumb

mental pos

Digging: Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds - Abattoir Blues/The Lyre of Orpheus

Athom
Staff Reviewer
May 21st 2012



17195 Comments


yeah, i really didn't have much to say on this one.

Acanthus
May 21st 2012



9535 Comments


Eight sentences. Eight.

Digging: Die Sektor - Applied Structure In A Void

deathofasalesman
May 21st 2012



5809 Comments


Fucking cool album art.

Storm In A Teacup
May 21st 2012



12687 Comments


Album cover of the year

michael1002
May 21st 2012



2 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

This is one of my favorite releases this year. It sounds and looks like you din't like it as much as my. Twelve Years takes me back twelve years to the days of Brand New, Taking Back Sunday and Cauterize.

auberginedreams
May 21st 2012



5983 Comments


i only listened to like two songs, but this is just sort of meh for me. not bad, just kind of boring to be honest.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
May 21st 2012



23798 Comments


why are people complaining about short reviews? (here and the Death Grips one)

anyway, nice review. recs make me want to try this sort of but I probably won't.

Digging: Ought - More Than Any Other Day

Storm In A Teacup
May 21st 2012



12687 Comments


Fuck the haters short reviews are great when they say what needs to be said and don't say what's unnecessary.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
May 21st 2012



21548 Comments


found this pretty boring

Digging: Septicflesh - Communion

Blackbelt54
May 21st 2012



4268 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice review I haven't listened to this much but my opinion as of now is probably close to yours redsky

Irving
Staff Reviewer
May 21st 2012



7135 Comments


Your soundoff was too short, it has to be at least 50 characters

Blackbelt54
May 21st 2012



4268 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ok I'm actually digging this after some more listens, it's not amazing but solid nonetheless

Hep Kat
May 21st 2012



14983 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

dude

Digging: Nipsey Hussle - Crenshaw

Phideaux
May 21st 2012



1653 Comments


Album is pretty good. Nice baby review.

Blackbelt54
May 21st 2012



4268 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hep maybe it will grow on me

Hep Kat
May 21st 2012



14983 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i was dude'ing the review but you do that

pmmets07
May 21st 2012



5839 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

hep i'm awaiting your 4.5 review. i know it's in the works. i can feel it brewing

Acanthus
May 21st 2012



9535 Comments


Short reviews like this are what I'd expect from a magazine, not an online review website. If I wanted this length there are plenty of other places to go, and though it's cool that he can write like this it really isn't anything I enjoy reading.

Then again Deviant's are often overly long...

I'm just a hater.

iFghtffyrdmns
May 21st 2012



7047 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yeah i kinda agree



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy