Death Grips
The Money Store


2.0
poor

Review

by Sobhi Youssef EMERITUS
May 20th, 2012 | 2018 replies | 107,840 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Well at least there's no dick on the cover

Essentially, The Money Store is pseudo-intellectual music for non-hip hop fans. It attempts to present a curious combination of genre-bending ideas, yet falls into a very simple category of poorly executed shock rap. Veteran virtuoso drummer Zach Hill of math group Hella has a hand in the production here - surprising as it may seem - to the tune of regurgitated, noisy dubstep, strangely placed whirring, bleeps, bloops, and other sorts of progressive production techniques mish-moshed together in poor taste. Instrumentally, there is nothing groundbreaking here; when the Death Grips production crew does compose a serviceable track it feels like a wonky beat-tape reject. However, the real problem with The Money Store is MC Ride's consistently incoherent mumbling and meme-of-the-day approach to making hooks (case in point, look at Sputnikmusic's own soundoff/ rating section). Ride sounds like a lo-fi imitation of an electronic radio station hype man that doesn't just stop at the beginning of the track; his delivery kills any potential impact his actually insightful lyrics may have. Records like this, while laughable in execution, still bring interesting ideas to the table and fans to the genre of hip-hop - and that (at the very minimum) is something that can be applauded.



Recent reviews by this author
Nacho Picasso and Avatar Darko VampsterdamGorguts Colored Sands
Run the Jewels Run the JewelsThe-Dream IV Play
James Blake OvergrownTyler the Creator Wolf
user ratings (1243)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
robertsona
Staff Reviewer
May 20th 2012



15000 Comments


kool

Tyrael
May 20th 2012



20797 Comments


oh look

a fucking soundoff

Adabelle
May 20th 2012



4252 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Burnnn, wait till Malleussssssss gets in here

moderndaydrool
May 20th 2012



322 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This isn't a review, this is a soundoff.



I also disagree with your opinion.

;(

MalleusMaleficarum
May 20th 2012



14244 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i already was in here, read the review

didnt feel compelled to comment

Digging: Shabazz Palaces - Lese Majesty

Ire
May 20th 2012



41753 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

even adam wouldn't do this

Romulus
May 20th 2012



8423 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

hey this is correct

someguest
May 20th 2012



20393 Comments


It attempts to present a curious combination of genre-bending ideas, yet falls into a very simple category of poorly executed shock rap.


This is the impression I had just by looking at the artwork and the song titles. I'm glad I didn't waste time listening to this one.

Digging: Your Old Droog - Your Old Droog

greg84
Staff Reviewer
May 20th 2012



7346 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Great sound-off. I still don't know what to make of this LP because original doesn't necessarily equal good. I need to give it another spin.

Digging: Kimbra - The Golden Echo

someguest
May 20th 2012



20393 Comments


To the idiots calling this a soundoff:

pick up a physical mag and see how long the reviews are in there.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
May 20th 2012



7346 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

OK then. Nice mag review.

someguest
May 20th 2012



20393 Comments


The point is you're basing your standards of how long a review should be on the methods of one website, which is not only ignorant but incredibly insulting to a lot of people who write reviews for communities. You know, you.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
May 20th 2012



15556 Comments


Thank God for this review

Digging: The War on Drugs - Lost in the Dream

PuddlesPuddles
May 20th 2012



4772 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I mean, there's not a lot more to say

Athom
Staff Reviewer
May 20th 2012



17204 Comments


Album is shit. Great review


chambered49
May 20th 2012



1727 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

wow this review fucking blows awesome after rap music i guess i had unfair expectations of you sobhi

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
May 20th 2012



23800 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

thank you

"Essentially, The Money Store is psuedo-intellectual music for non-hip hop fans"

fucking thiiiiiiiiis

and also (can't believe I'm about to quote someguest):

"To the idiots calling this a soundoff:

pick up a physical mag and see how long the reviews are in there."

this. quality, not quantity.

eternium
May 20th 2012



16332 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album rulez, guise.

chambered49
May 20th 2012



1727 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Essentially, The Money Store is psuedo-intellectual music for non-hip hop fans"



replace the money store with immortal technique and you are correct

Athom
Staff Reviewer
May 20th 2012



17204 Comments


The only people on staff who like this are Cam and Conrad. the rest of us think it's horse shit



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy