Fucked Up
David Comes to Life


2.5
average

Review

by danielito19 USER (22 Reviews)
May 15th, 2012 | 30 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist


David Comes To Life is a bit of an enigma. The Canadian sextet's third album has been critically lauded and claims a devoted following across the internet. With eighteen tracks totaling over an hour of music, ***ed Up have likely created the longest album in hardcore. David is also likely the loftiest album in hardcore, boasting a confusing and convoluted plot that is undoubtedly the best plot ever written.

At least, that's what ***ed Up's innumerable fans want you to believe. The plot is a four act play about a man named David who is in love with a woman named Veronica. She dies, and then the plot falls apart; the fourth wall is pulled down with the same alarming sense of alacrity shown by those who pulled down the iconic Berlin wall, David is revealed to be a figment of the narrator's imagination, or so I believe. It's nowhere near as cohesive or relatable as ***ed Up's fanbase insinuate. The vocals are also very homogenous. Pink Eyes has the same yell throughout the album, and when the backup vocals come in, it's a relief, as there's finally something to break the monotony.

But, this is hardcore. Most don't listen to hardcore for the lyrics - as long as there's a few phrases that stick out ("Dying on the inside" comes to mind) the lyrics can just be ignored as long as the instrumentation is good. For the most part, it is. ***ed Up has three guitarists, and while they're redundant at times, there is an immense amount of riffing. The licks are ubiquitous, being repeated, and played off one another, ***ed Up's guitar work is fantastic. However, the novelty wears off after a few songs as the songs continue to drag on for minutes past their prime; this could theoretically be attributed to ***ed Up having so many good ideas that every song is just goddamn jam-packed with ideas; or, as is the actual case, the songs are just too long for their own good. What was new, fresh, amazing, and ground-breaking two minutes ago is suddenly mind-numbingly boring - and this happens with astonishing frequency; every single song is longer than three minutes, and a grand total of eight run for longer than four and a half minutes.

***ed Up does have plenty of great ideas, but they're so repetitive that any sense of wonder is gone after the sixteenth time the riff has repeated, or the point when you realize that they've been playing the same chord progression for four minutes. The album is in dire need of a higher entity to just cut the damn thing down by about half an hour. The amazing ideas they do have aren't quite amazing enough to outweigh the major flaws presented by David.



Recent reviews by this author
Mozart's Sister BeingGlenn Branca The Ascension
Seeker UnlovedUnwound Leaves Turn Inside You
Strung Out An American ParadoxCoerce Ethereal Surrogate Saviour
user ratings (351)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
Daniel Smith (4)
Beat your fucking steering wheel....


Comments:Add a Comment 
danielito19
May 15th 2012


6098 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Quick write-up. I could circumvent the profanity filters, but I honestly don't care. If you neg, please tell me why, I'd love to get better.

Digging: -

Blackbelt54
May 15th 2012


4276 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Pos'd even though I disagree

danielito19
May 15th 2012


6098 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Honestly, if Pink Eyes switched up the vocals a little more often, I'd bump this. He's too consistent.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
May 15th 2012


23909 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

damn the auto-censor raped this review. this is really overrated in my opinion. it's decent.

Digging: RATKING - So It Goes

Hep Kat
May 15th 2012


15351 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

old fucked up > new fucked up


but new fucked up is ok doe

Blackbelt54
May 15th 2012


4276 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't get it when people think this is like the best thing ever but I still like it a ton

danielito19
May 15th 2012


6098 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I can see how people like it, but I didn't see a single negative review on any of the sites I frequent, and since it frustrated me, I threw this together.

danielito19
May 15th 2012


6098 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

and as a side note, I Was There is pretty cool. it's also the shortest track. Not a coincidence.

LifeAsAChipmunk
May 15th 2012


4854 Comments


Damn 18 tracks.

guitarplaya91
May 15th 2012


485 Comments


most hardcore fans don't listen the lyrics, and care about the music more?

Really great review, and I'm not saying the plot of this album is perfect (very far from it) but this album is one where you pretty much have to listen to the lyrics.

WeepingBanana
May 15th 2012


10188 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yeah this album is good and all but it's just wayyyy too long for me to care

The Other Shoe is fucking amazing though

Spec
May 15th 2012


27190 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Come on banana, it's at least a 3.5

TooLateToGoBack
May 15th 2012


1775 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Disagree, but POS.

WhiteNoise
May 15th 2012


3216 Comments


I agree, I can see why people would like this but it's just not for me, and their live show was shit (or possibly just lost in an arena environment)

HenchmanOfSanta
May 15th 2012


1882 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Drop the stuff attacking the band's fanbase. It's unnecessary and sounds like you have an issue with them. Otherwise good review. I totally see where I'm coming from although I disagree.

Digging: Run the Jewels - Run the Jewels 2

AtavanHalen
May 15th 2012


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

their live show was shit


AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

agree with henchmen

also you kind of make it sound as though the band aren't allowed to do what they do on this record because they're a hardcore band

does not compute

otherwise pretty good writing

good to see some new blood and all that

HenchmanOfSanta
May 15th 2012


1882 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Who the hell were they playing with in an arena? When I saw them it was in a shady club in Columbus.

WhiteNoise
May 16th 2012


3216 Comments


"AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA"

Way to take my quote out of context ya jackass!

AtavanHalen
May 16th 2012


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Who the hell were they playing with in an arena?


they opened for foo fighters

saw them at their headlining show in sydney and it was fucking mental

too far out of croc's little corporate rock stadium spectrum

Satellite
May 16th 2012


20826 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

i can't even fathom anyone not digging them live. both times i saw them they fucking destroyed.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy