Linkin Park
Hybrid Theory


3.0
good

Review

by Soundknight USER (10 Reviews)
May 12th, 2012 | 34 replies


Release Date: 2000 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Due to it's repetitiveness and intricacies, Hybrid Theory is shockingly a tough album to judge.

Let us take a trip back to the year 2000. Back when George W. Bush won Florida's votes, the internet age was booming, and the entire human genome was deciphered. For many of you though, this is a trip back to a time when things were not as complicated. You would play whatever new Pokemon game that was out and bless the days you had enough money to buy all the junk food you wanted. Life wasn't complicated back then, and Linkin Park wasn't either.

In 2000, Linkin Park released their debut album, Hybrid Theory. While Hybrid Theory wasn't anything groundbreaking, it capitalized on elements that mainstream music could begin to incorporate. Short tracks filled with angst vocals, rapping, simple riffs, and turntable scratching, turned out to be the perfect storm for many kids. For good reason too, this formula gave Linkin Park the ability to make some "badass" music. Well.. about as badass as teen music goes without profanity.

Linkin Park comprises of several members. Three of them being integral members on Hybrid Theory. Chester Bennington is the clear frontman of Linkin Park. He contributes most of the material. This includes impressive singing, shrilling screams, and most of the lyrics found on here. His sidekick is Mike Shinoda. Shinoda plays the piano, adds his own lyrics, and is Linkin Park's second vocalist. His rapping is found on most tracks, adding rhythm to the verses and/or choruses. The final vital member is the DJ/sampler Joesph Hahn, a.k.a. Mr. Hahn. He basically gives the listener one more thing to listen to. The added beat or tune, with everything else, give Linkin Park a lot of moving parts.

The main problem with the Hybrid Theory is that it sounds like one big song. In a way, my second paragraph's descriptions sum up all the tracks. Many of them don't have distinguishable features or song structure. This has several consequences. The power-ballad "In The End" and the technical "Cure for the Itch" stand out well. Unfortunately for the rest though, it easy to only have one or two favorites since they are all so similar. That explains why "Papercut" and "One Step Closer" are "Hybrid Theory's" more assessable tracks. They're catchiest of the bunch. Tracks like "Forgotten", "A Place For My Head" and "Points Of Authority" often get lost in the mix.

The good news for the album is that there aren't any horrible tracks. If you fancy their standard song formula, at one point or another you'll enjoy each song on here. This is the reason many young listeners find this album so enjoyable. Repetition isn't as big a deal. The material is essentially rationed. That being said, once the listener gets through the entire CD, it doesn't have much replay value. From there on, it only serves to the purpose of nostalgia.

Recommended Tracks- Forgotten, Papercut, Cure For The Itch, One Step Closer



Recent reviews by this author
Various Artists Deep SixSoundgarden King Animal
Melvins Stoner WitchTAD 8-Way Santa
Alice in Chains Alice in ChainsSoundgarden Badmotorfinger
user ratings (4114)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
May 12th 2012


8019 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Cure For The Itch still rules

Gyromania
May 12th 2012


15966 Comments


If their standard song formula fancies you, at one point or another you'll enjoy each song on here.

In the context you used 'fancies' you're suggesting that if the songs feel a liking or desire for us, the listener, we'll be able to enjoy each of them... which makes no sense. I think you meant to say, "If you fancy their standard song formula..."

Aside that, there are about a dozen grammatical errors that you should be able to catch on a re-read, but if not, I'll be happy to point some out for you. The edit function is currently inaccessible, but you can always make the needed corrections to the actual document you originally wrote this review in and then copy and paste the new version once the editor is working again. Also, if I can just offer a suggestion: try to frame song titles in quotes rather than putting them in bold lettering, it makes the review look more put-together and doesn't unnecessarily draw the reader's attention to specific points.

Happy2review
May 12th 2012


114 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks for the feedback. Yeah that's what I meant. It's no typo. It's just my grammar isn't strong. Yeah I'm aware of the current situation. Thanks for the advice, I agree. But that's the effect I usually go for.. I can see it being distracting here though, since this review is on the shorter side.

Gyromania
May 12th 2012


15966 Comments


No worries, and if you want to keep using bold then by all means, it really just comes down to preferences. Also, just a heads up: italicizing tags (as well as any other tags) won't work in the summary box for some reason.

As for the album, I'm in agreement with you on the rating. Once upon a time, I loved this thing to death. I couldn't get enough of it. But even though I hardly ever listen to it these days, there's a lot of nostalgia to be had in spinning it every once in a while.

Happy2review
May 12th 2012


114 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Now I see what I did.. I tried to used "fancies" as I would "interests". Haha.

Happy2review
May 12th 2012


114 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

what's your rating then, if I may ask Gyro?

Happy2review
May 12th 2012


114 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'd imagine.. I've never seen them myself. I was introduced to LP through a series of final fantasy tribute videos. They each had LP songs on them. First time I really enjoyed rock. Aside from radio hits by bands like matchbox20 and 3 doors down.

Gyromania
May 12th 2012


15966 Comments


Happy2review: 3/5

Happy2review
May 12th 2012


114 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah.. I get the feeling though that if they experimented more with the song structure, added a few solos here and there, and possibly had better lyrics, this album would have been easily better. But hey, they got the success they wanted. They grabbed our attention.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
May 12th 2012


23964 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

dude are you happy 2 review?

but yeah I agree with the guy with the DAN FUCKING GIBBES avatar: this album was a classic when it came out and I was barely starting to grow pubes.

Digging: Taylor Swift - 1989

nononsense
May 12th 2012


3427 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Chester is just a vocalist, he doesnt provide any riffs, Brad and Mike provide those


Irving
Staff Reviewer
May 12th 2012


7318 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

You would play whatever new Pokemon game that was out and bless the days you had enough money to buy all the junk food you wanted.

Mmmhmm.

Digging: Portishead - Dummy

Storm In A Teacup
May 12th 2012


13191 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Chester sucks these days this band was at the very least good for the first two albums. Meh.

JamesSheasgreen
May 12th 2012


5 Comments


I miss the old Linkin Park

Sciroccu
May 12th 2012


782 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"The main problem with the Hybrid Theory is that it sounds like one big song"
Not at all, I can't understand why you're saying that.
Average review IMO, not enough explanations about the music to me.

Sciroccu
May 12th 2012


782 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Crawling and one step closer are great too.

Storm In A Teacup
May 12th 2012


13191 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Happy to review, I'm just curious, how long have you had this album for?

Happy2review
May 12th 2012


114 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The actual album? I think I picked it up in 2007. So that's about fives years. I downloaded the entire album about 2 years prior, once I got hold of my 1st MP3 player.

Happy2review
May 12th 2012


114 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

@Nonosense ah yes that is correct. Bennington only does the vocals. Geez I even have live footage of them. Must have slipped my mind.

Muisc4Life26
May 12th 2012


2893 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Meteora is their best!!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy