Lana Del Rey
Born to Die


5.0
classic

Review

by LaughingSkull USER (33 Reviews)
May 12th, 2012 | 57 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Hail to the Queen.

One can't help but sense a bit of unease, panic, perhaps even fear, in the way that critics and public alike are hesitant to award Born to Die the proper grand accolades it deserves, and instead settle for an offhand and unaccountable "sort of OK". Notably, accusations of ingenuity were often brought up...

...Which is strange. Suddenly people seem very intent on stripping music of its theatrics. Suddenly art is supposed to be all about a strictly unadulterated and honest expression of self, rather than the skill of putting up a convincing act. Why? Well, I'll be damned if this ain't denial. After all, the effortlessness with which "Born to Die" succeeds in being so fresh, alluring and believable at the same time is staggering. And all this attached to the captivating stage persona of Lana del Rey -- we might be witnessing one of the most elaborate deceptions in the industry's history. So on that count I can't really blame the aforementioned critics for their reluctance to accept a potential fraud.

I will toss caution aside, though. Let's not care about any discrepancies between the life of Elizabeth Grant and the stage act Lana del Rey. Let's not care if she was tricked up as a product of some convoluted corporate plot. The fact remains that "Born to Die" still comes off as convincing, and del Rey proves herself able to enchant her audience and to command love and fascination like very few can. The music she's made, the act she's put up, is believable. Lana del Rey is ultimately a good artist, even if she's not living her music.

So I'm buying it, buying her. Maybe I'm a sucker, maybe it's all a lie, but hey, it's a damn good lie, one I'll not be ashamed to have fallen for. I, for one, welcome the new Queen.

Album rules. Lana del Rey rules. All hail.



Recent reviews by this author
Diamond Head Lightning to the NationsLana Del Rey Ultraviolence
Arctic Monkeys AMMetallica Master of Puppets
Within Temptation HydraMetallica ...And Justice for All
user ratings (668)
Chart.
3.2
good
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
AtavanHalen
May 11th 2012


17927 Comments


HA!

mastille
May 11th 2012


532 Comments


hey look, an argument without an argument

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
May 11th 2012


31357 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

I really don't like it when people treat the review section like their own personal blog post

Digging: Objekt - Flatland

AtavanHalen
May 11th 2012


17927 Comments


shmer

ThroneOfAgony
May 11th 2012


3485 Comments


boririirriririring album

Drsmith4
May 12th 2012


1715 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I imagine Deviant as Condescending Wonka: "Your sentences are so oblique...you must know everything about art."

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
May 12th 2012


31357 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Haha

The thing is I actually kind of enjoy what's written here. But where's the review? I don't want a response to what other people have written/said, I want the author's response to the music. If I wanted to read an opinion piece on the image of the artist I'd go read a blog

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
May 12th 2012


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

100% agree with Dev. This is actually quite well-written & an interesting read... It's a great blog post as he earlier suggested. But you can't call it a review since someone wanting to know about the album gets absolutely nothing out of it.

PuddlesPuddles
May 12th 2012


4784 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Better than sleigh bells

AtavanHalen
May 12th 2012


17927 Comments


their album this year suuuuuucked

pacedown
May 12th 2012


174 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"I really don't like it when people treat the review section like their own personal blog post"

i agree.

before appreciating her to the fullest, got to watch her live, for she's awfully anxious and unprepared. both with her image and voice. (link below)

+ the production of the album is so much like a timbaland imitation, not an influence, indeed.

http://youtu.be/2I62I3r2f-8

the album ain't bad, she aint bad, but judging from this performance you can't seriously name her 'Queen' of anything.

LaughingSkull
May 12th 2012


221 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The fact that I think very highly of the music on the album was implied. Did I really have to talk at length about it? I chose not to. If anyone wishes to read more about this and that song, there are other reviews to check out.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
May 12th 2012


31357 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Why should I have to check out other reviews when I've come here expecting one? Do you not understand the concept of reviewing an album?

Did I really have to talk at length about it?


The only thing you talked about was Lana Del Rey as an artist, not the product that she produced. And certainly in no way did you attempt to justify why you think this album should be deserving of "classic" status, just that you're willing to buy into the hype whereas others clearly aren't

WillieDimension
May 12th 2012


666 Comments


where the fuck are my techno recs

Wolfhorde
May 12th 2012


13645 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I totally agree with whomever said she's trying to go all Nancy Sinatra and the opposite at the next time.

Also, what Dev said basically. The goal of a review is to inform people about a certain album, not praise it or the artist.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
May 12th 2012


31357 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Well, you can praise the album all you want. Just say why it is so good

Wolfhorde
May 12th 2012


13645 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Heh, I thought I should've added that. What I meant is that it's simply not the sole purpose. And I personally definitely enjoy a review more if the actual information outweighs the personal/emotional/hyperbolic statements.

Tyrael
May 12th 2012


20899 Comments


'I really don't like it when people treat the review section like their own personal blog post'

Have you read Chan's Born This Way review?

Wolfhorde
May 12th 2012


13645 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

The one where he spends one paragraph saying he loves Lady Gaga?

Tyrael
May 12th 2012


20899 Comments


No

the one that reads like a blog post



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy