Converge
Jane Doe


5.0
classic

Review

by Dil Samara USER (2 Reviews)
May 10th, 2012 | 68 replies


Release Date: 2001 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Twelve steps to bleeding oneself dry of humanity.

As beautifully portrayed as it is in fiction, love and everything assigned with it can be the most crushing defeat any individual will experience in their existence. It is the most frequently conversed premise in music and the most relevant kind for everyone, varying from expressions of dedication and adoration to the grief of not being loved. Regardless of my pretentious evaluation, there is no record sharing the same premise (at least in my listening experience) that can be held in the same bleak light as Converge’s masterpiece, Jane Doe.

From its frenetic, two-piece opener, ‘Concubine’ and ‘Fault and Fracture’, Jane Doe is conceived. She is bitter, marred and devoid of everything that makes a human being what it is. Like her name suggests, she is the anonymous dead. Voiceless and fuming with anger, her story is told through the gut-wrenching, often inaudible screams and harmonies of vocalist and lyricist, Jacob Bannon. Though it may seem like a hindrance to its telling, the inaudibility of Bannon’s voice – once familiarised with – is needed to fully understand and appreciate Jane Doe. Each of the twelve tracks is a retelling of the events in a relationship she shared with another human being, leading up to her transformation in the apocalyptically beautiful closing title track. The vocals are backed by the masterful Kurt Ballou, Nate Newton and Ben Koller, who constantly trade technical blows with Bannon, creating a perfectly chaotic backdrop for these events. To delve deeper, the lyrics express more than what is apparent upon first listen through the cryptic vocals (deafening screaming for no apparent reason). There is a reason, and that reason is to feel for her as she can no longer do so.

Every second of Jane Doe’s forty-five minutes is airtight, masterfully executed and raw, leaving no room to breathe as this bitch ruins you in her wrath. So few artists can express emotion and passion vocally, lyrically and instrumentally as Converge have done with Jane Doe, especially in such an inaccessible and vulgar manner. It is easy to not understand and hate Jane Doe at first, but it is difficult not to embrace and love her with time. In all her fury and ugliness, she is a keeper.


user ratings (3487)
Chart.
4.4
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
synysterdjs
May 10th 2012


101 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

inb4 same review as everyone else.

I only started listening to Converge this passed February. Been working through their records in order of release and quite slowly (haven't bothered with EP's). I've been eating, drinking and sleeping Jane Doe for the past two weeks, so yeah, explains the score and all the cock sucking present in this review.

Sorry for the pretentiousness in it, too. I didn't want to sound too much like an amateur posting dodgy reviews on Tumblr.

MichaelSnoxall
May 10th 2012


12163 Comments


A bit short and seems to focus more on the album concept than anything else.

synysterdjs
May 10th 2012


101 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

@Michael: The album's 11-years-old and reviewed to death. I'd rather focus on the concept of it and the album as a whole, seeing as it's a concept album, than break it into pieces and write a lengthy review where I'll blabber about things I don't know and risk repeating what's been said before. I do wish I could learn about music on deeper levels (instruments and all) than what it is at face value.

@foxxxy: Thanks, dude. I'd write more if I knew more about music. D:

TheSpirit
May 10th 2012


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Yeah this review is awesome. I clicked on this review with the "urgh another jane doe review" kind of attitude but the brevity/the concentration on the concept rather than the music made this a really, really enjoyable read. Props, especially considering it is only your second. Hope to see you around and posting more.

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
May 10th 2012


21453 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

this desperately needed another 5 review

anyway good review pos'd

Digging: Aspherium - The Fall of Therenia

SpiritCrusher2
May 10th 2012


3156 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

amazing review, well done! pos'd

Digging: Mare Cognitum - Phobos Monolith

synysterdjs
May 10th 2012


101 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

@TheSpirit: Thanks very much for the positive feedback. I'd read enough reviews of the album prior to listening to know that it is incredibly technical, but I doubt I could have produced a review that expressed what I enjoyed about it while differentiating from the mass of reviews praising it as the holy grail of metalcore if I'd talked about instrumentation and whatnot. I'm not too familiar with musical terminology either.

@Insurrection: I'm waiting on IcyLily to drop in here and show me how to write real reviews, lol.

synysterdjs
May 10th 2012


101 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

@SpiritCrusher: So many Spirits. :o Thanks!

@foxxxy: Never heard of 'em. Will look them up and see what I can do after listening.

SpiritCrusher2
May 10th 2012


3156 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

nah, I'm spirit crusher, the other guy is just spirit. but I won't crush him, he's ok

synysterdjs
May 10th 2012


101 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

^lol^

synysterdjs
May 10th 2012


101 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

@System: Not sure if Aussie or fond of Steve Irwin.

Esky
May 10th 2012


170 Comments


Lived in Australia 23 years, never heard anyone say crikey. Disappointing.

Also, minor critique - inaudible = can't be heard. Unintelligible, maybe? Nice review though, very succinct.

MO
May 10th 2012


18859 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

meh

TheSpirit
May 10th 2012


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

i have still never been compelled enough to listen to this album in its entirety

MO
May 10th 2012


18859 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

you're not missing much

Storm In A Teacup
May 10th 2012


13149 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Dude great review for your second.

What foxxxy said, keep writing!

Katechon
May 10th 2012


684 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ohlookitsthisthreadagain.jpg

Storm In A Teacup
May 10th 2012


13149 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hahaha, you know it!

DirEnRefused
May 10th 2012


2188 Comments


"no room to breathe as this bitch ruins you in her wrath".

Pos.

synysterdjs
May 10th 2012


101 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

@Esky: Haha, my friends used to say "crikey" jokingly. I've never used it myself bar once in my 9 years here. Also, thanks for pointing that out.

>Not sure how to edit my review

Thanks to everyone for the positive feedback yet agian. Lub joo gais.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy