Mr. J. Medeiros
Pale Blue Dot


3.5
great

Review

by Wayne H. USER (14 Reviews)
May 7th, 2012 | 17 replies | 1,508 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: "I was born on an island, floatin' in the cosmos..."

Although potentially cheesy and naive in its straightforward earnestness, Pale Blue Dot EP is first and foremost an attempt at resolving catchy, consonant music with worldly, uplifting content. With little regard for generic divisions that many people construct in their minds, Mr. J, Medeiros recklessly incorporates and features any sounds he finds agreeable. From the beat-driven rhythmic verse central to most hip-hop artists to soulful vocal and instrumental features running the gamete from electronic producers to rock trios, Pale Blue Dot is an eclectic, if ambitious little EP, to be sure.

While I don't at all consider myself one well-versed or even mildly familiar to the rap and hip-hop scene these days, I find it hard to deny this collection's inspirationally uplifting properties. Most notably, the remix for Pale Blue Dot features Canadian Hip-Hop artist Shad in a pertinent pop-political verse.



Recent reviews by this author
Erra AugmentShadow of the Colossus END GAME
Balance and Composure The Things We Think We're MissingLemaitre Relativity 3
Elitist EarthErra Impulse
user ratings (3)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Winsomniac
May 7th 2012



7957 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's short and poorly written, I know. Neg me after you listen to the EP though.

Winsomniac
May 7th 2012



7957 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Current favorites: These Hands feat. The Nigel Bird Trio and Pale Blue Dot 20Syl Remix feat. Shad.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
May 7th 2012



31047 Comments


Got any artwork?

Digging: Marcel Dettmann - Fabric 77

Winsomniac
May 7th 2012



7957 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I tried uploading it, it didn't seem to work. It's on his bandcamp here: http://mrjmedeiros.bandcamp.com/album/pale-blue-dot-ep


Also, the EP is free. SERIOUSLY EVERY ONE OF YOU FOOLS LISTEN TO IT.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
May 7th 2012



31047 Comments


It won't show up immediately, it has to be approved. But in saying that, I added it for you and cleaned up the tracklist

taylormemer
May 7th 2012



4916 Comments


lol so did I. How similar were we?

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
May 7th 2012



31047 Comments


short hand ugh

taylormemer
May 7th 2012



4916 Comments


You know I hate long hand.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
May 7th 2012



31047 Comments


My long hands being the exception

Winsomniac
May 7th 2012



7957 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks Dev. That being said, whose e-peen do I have to fellate to get some more reviews up for Mr. J.?
Also, these hands...

taylormemer
May 7th 2012



4916 Comments


Ok Dev, I changed it to long hand. I still don't like it though.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
May 7th 2012



31047 Comments


It just looks more official and such

That being said, whose e-peen do I have to fellate to get some more reviews up for Mr. J.?


You want more people to know about this guy? Go on a shoutbox spree, make a list about him maybe?

Winsomniac
May 7th 2012



7957 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah I would like it to be so that this pathetic little write-up isn't the only thing the site has on him.

taylormemer
May 7th 2012



4916 Comments


Also Winsomniac, you don't need to place "EP" in the title for an EP, for the same reason you don't put "LP" in every full release title. Just for future reference.

Winsomniac
May 7th 2012



7957 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The bandcamp listed it as "Pale Blue Dot EP," which I decided to copy straight. If it didn't, I wouldn't have.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
May 7th 2012



31047 Comments


I think that was just as a way of referencing it as such. I only keep "EP" in the title if it actually appears on the album itself (re: the artwork etc). Which, 99% of the time it doesn't

Winsomniac
May 7th 2012



7957 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I see included and excluded in seemingly random instances on the site, so that's pretty confusing. But noted.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy