Jimi Hendrix
Band of Gypsys


4.5
superb

Review

by Hernan M. Campbell STAFF
May 6th, 2012 | 22 replies


Release Date: 1970 | Tracklist

Review Summary: "Well my mind is goin' through them changes..."

Following the unfortunate break-up of The Jimi Hendrix Experience, it's leading member brought together a group of musicians consisting of Billy Cox and Buddy Miles to form a new musical project. Band Of Gypsys is their eponymous debut composed by recorded material from one of their few live performances. The album opens with "Who Knows". After a brief introduction, Jimi Hendrix lies his fingers upon the strings of his guitar and the amplifiers soon flourish with an alluring sound. We find Band Of Gypsys embracing a more traditional style of Blues music, rather than the exploratory voyages of psychedelia that comprised the work of The Jimi Hendrix Experience. Though this effort lacks the experimental ambitions of his previous ventures, that familiar atmosphere of intensity remains well preserved.

This performance is possessed with an exuberance of energy. Whether its Buddy Miles' passionate cries in the soulful "Changes" or the explosive release of aggression from Hendrix's guitar in "Power To Love", every song induces a captivating experience, one that immediately seduces our attention with ease. "Machine Gun" is perhaps the highlight of this performance. This is our first encounter with the song, and its a very interesting listening experience because we have seen this particular piece evolve through time. This is one of the most mesmerizing performances by Jimi Hendrix. His guitar work is flourishing with intensity, bombarding the listener with an eruption of solos that are almost overwhelming to the sense. The guitar work is decorated with an abundance of distorting effects to simulate a chaotic atmosphere, reflecting the turmoil in the experience of war. Band Of Gypsys proves to be another accomplished addition in Jimi Hendrix's already illustrious repertoire, and one that should not go unexperienced by any fan.



Recent reviews by this author
Trioscapes Digital Dream SequenceBroken Bells After The Disco
Sound and Fury (FI) PulsacionJail Weddings Meltdown: A Declaration of Unpopular Emotion
Chick Corea The VigilPond (AUS) Hobo Rocket
user ratings (322)
Chart.
4.3
superb
other reviews of this album
fendercustomstrat (5)
...

keep on phishin' (5)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
May 6th 2012


4453 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

All of the reviews for this were track by track so I thought Id do a regular review for it. Hope you guys like the album.

tarkus
May 6th 2012


5560 Comments


pos havent heard

tommygun
May 6th 2012


25138 Comments


Great review as usual, pos from me. Can't believe I haven't heard this yet, gonna buy it today when I'm at the shops

Digging: Banks - Goddess

CaptainDooRight
May 6th 2012


30251 Comments


Pretty sure I have this On DVD but yeah bro good review possie

CaptainDooRight
May 6th 2012


30251 Comments


Also my fab Hendrix song of all time is born under a bad sign

EverythingEvil2113
May 6th 2012


1280 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Machine Gun is SO good.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
May 6th 2012


10362 Comments


"Jimi Hendrix lies his fingers upon the strings of his guitar and the amplifiers soon flourish with an alluring sound."

This reads very awkwardly to me. But all the rest is very well-written, have a pos friend :]

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
May 6th 2012


4453 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hey Omaha.
It reads okay to me, but how would you have it?
I'm open to suggestions.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
May 6th 2012


6287 Comments


All of the reviews for this were track by track so I thought Id do a regular review for it

A lot of reviews are needed in that respect, so good call for the review.

pos.

Digging: Madred - Supersonic Brainfuck Overdrive

rockandmetaljunkie
May 6th 2012


3722 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Great review as always dude.
Billy Cox had once answered in a journalist question "How is he gonna be remembered?"
"As the worst of the worst", he answered.
lol

MarvinLapsus
May 6th 2012


133 Comments


Pos. Good condensed review for a great album.

ZedO
May 6th 2012


1096 Comments


whoa, good review man! pos. Jimmy was god.......

manosg
August 29th 2013


6538 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The best was yet to come for Hendrix but alas...

Digging: Witchfynde - Give 'em Hell

tommygun
August 29th 2013


25138 Comments


machine gun is the best song ever

rip hard jimi bro

tommygun
January 8th 2014


25138 Comments


god damn machine gun is some life changing shit

manosg
January 8th 2014


6538 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Definitely. Hendrix himself is a life changer.

tommygun
January 8th 2014


25138 Comments


a god among men

zakalwe
January 8th 2014


8879 Comments


Machine gun melts minds, you don't dig Jimi you are nothing, hardest R.I.P ever

Digging: King Buzzo - This Machine Kills Artists

rockandmetaljunkie
March 1st 2014


3722 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Jammed this after ages, what an amazing album.

"Power to love" has such a mean riff.

Muisc4Life26
March 12th 2014


2900 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Machine Gun is omg



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy