For the Fallen Dreams
Back Burner


2.0
poor

Review

by Tyler Christian Pifer USER (17 Reviews)
May 3rd, 2012 | 20 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Intense metalcore ruined by terrible clean vocals

For The Fallen Dreams are a metalcore band from Michigan. Their last album "Relentless" was a very well done metalcore album with heavy breakdowns and very few clean vocals. "Back Burner" is anything but a very well done metalcore album. The heavy breakdowns are still there and very good, however, the very few clean vocals have turned into what the **** are all these cleans doing here.

Dylan Ritcher is the vocalist for the band and he has very good gutterals. They get old rather quickly, however, and that also takes away from the album a little. On "Relentless", Ritcher incorporates some high screams, but they are very limited on Back Burner. His cleans as I mentioned before are terrible and take a lot away from the album. The song "Bottom Feeders" is completely clean vocals and might be the worst song that I have ever heard. Another thing Ritcher does that annoys me is how he runs his vocals together. "The Big Empty" is the best example of that. It gets very annoying very quickly. I thought that they should have had a guest vocalist on the album like Jeremy McKinnon on "Relentless".

The actual band is good, but the song writting by former drummer Andrew Tkaczyk is not there, and it shows big time. The breakdowns are no longer put in the right place and there is way to many in "Back Burner". The bass is inaudible as usual, so there is not much to say about that. The drumming, which was above average with Tkaczyk in the band, is lackluster at best. The talent is there, but there is a lot of room for improvement in the song writting.

For The Fallen Dreams put out two very impressive albums before "Back Burner", which is anything but impressive. It is unfortunate that their primary song writter is gone, but For The Fallen Dreams needs to suck it up and deal with it.



Recent reviews by this author
Close To Home MomentumFor the Fallen Dreams Wasted Youth
Man Overboard Heart AttackNew Found Glory Mania
Conditions Full of WarSkyway Finders Keepers
user ratings (208)
Chart.
2.7
average
other reviews of this album
TechieCore (2)
Turmoil can take a toll on any band....

Steven Spedding (2.5)
Stuck in a rut......


Comments:Add a Comment 
ILJ
May 3rd 2012


6710 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Not very descriptive, lots of grammatical errors present, short, and as always you focus primarily on vocals and say little about other aspects.

Album is.....eh

KSK1
May 3rd 2012


4090 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I agree this falls a little short and the cleans are overused, but they aren't terrible (live is
another story). The band tried to go from technical to catchy with this album due to lineup changes
and it wasn't well received. Also Bottom Feeders is awesome in my opinion but hey that's me. Review
needs work though. Each line kinda just states something and there's no real detail added kind of like
reading a list. I'm not being mean, just constrictive criticism.

nononsense
May 3rd 2012


3417 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I wrote this revie rather quickly, if you want to see a better review look at my For All Those Sleeping and Confide reviews

nononsense
May 3rd 2012


3417 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Also Hocking took over the song writting after Tkaczyk left. Thaczyk was the principal songwritter for the first two albums

nononsense
May 3rd 2012


3417 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

oops. I changed it.

bloc
May 3rd 2012


34925 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I remember Fist Fight being alright

ThroneOfAgony
May 3rd 2012


3485 Comments


I wrote this revie rather quickly,

AtomicShane
May 3rd 2012


1831 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

puttin in work on these reviews lol

bloc
May 3rd 2012


34925 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

The time has come

ZedO
May 4th 2012


1096 Comments


two reviews in a day, you're on fire dude!

KSK1
May 4th 2012


4090 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

lol

J0ckstrapsFTW
May 4th 2012


3652 Comments


Its not their best but not a 2

someguest
May 4th 2012


20879 Comments


Their last album "Relentless" was a very well done metalcore album with heavy breakdowns and very few clean vocals. "Back Burner" is anything but a very well done metalcore album.


Let me ask you a question: Did you really think this was the right way to approach a review?

Digging: Dexter Gordon - Our Man in Paris

nononsense
February 27th 2013


3417 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Holy shit I used to suck at reviews.

nononsense
February 27th 2013


3417 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Lol

nononsense
February 27th 2013


3417 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

If you look at this one, and then my Heroes for Hire one I'd say there is vast improvement.

Spec
February 27th 2013


27189 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Such a bad album.

nononsense
February 27th 2013


3417 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's okay andcas and myself are in the Sputnik ambidextrous club.

nononsense
February 27th 2013


3417 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Such a bad album.

Not as bad as Wasted Youth

nononsense
February 27th 2013


3417 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

you should be in the pos'd my new review club.

I am :D




You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy