Light Asylum
Light Asylum


4.5
superb

Review

by Major Tom CONTRIBUTOR (139 Reviews)
May 1st, 2012 | 10 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A spit in the face and a kick up the behind of modern synth-pop; Light Asylum is a ferociously brilliant debut by the Brooklyn duo.

There’s been a considerable coldwave revival these past few years – bands like Cold Cave who long to usher in the glory days of chilly synthetic music, with a motoric, danceable core underpinning their more bleak surrounding aesthetics. Light Asylum, a Brooklyn 2 piece fronted by the one of the meanest looking front-women the pages of the alternative music press have seen a long time, are part of this stock, but with their eponymous debut, quite literally shout their contemporaries to pieces with Shannon Funchess’ ferocious gothic growl, which sounds as though it could fire spittle as far as the back rows of a fictional audience throughout its 10 blistering electro –pop tracks.

There’s always been something compelling about the extremity of pairing frosty as winter synth shudders and robotic dance beats with rich, human histrionics, right back to the glory days of electro-pop when the bluesy vocals of Alison Moyet and Depeche Mode’s early golden boy Vince Clark were married up to form the refreshing Yazoo, back in the early 80s – but Funchess’ voice is something else. It’s not so romantic and soulful as it is more vicious and punky; gothic and booming, though as she proves at certain times, can also be turned down on the bile-o-meter for a sweeter, more warming change-up, such as on sections of ‘Heart of Dust’. It’s a real uncompromising, un-holstered performance, and is as enthralling and welcomed as it is fierce and frighteningly in yer face.

Almost as stunning is the music crafted by partner in crime, Bruno Coviello. He dips in to fluttering Trans-Europe Express era Kraftwerk on ‘Angel Tongue’; Alternative electro-pop should-be hits, with cuts such as the dramatic and glorious ‘Shallow Tears’ (pounding drums, a beautifully sad stream of synth and colossal vocals team up for a personal song of the year contender); menacing dance-floor steamrollers on ‘Hour Fortress’ and the superbly compulsive ‘IPC’ (in which Funchess spits out the hook “nobody’s insane / nobody’s insane no more” with absolute conviction behind nervous synths), and black as midnight, pulse-fests such as the nihilistic “does it make you wanna kill / at will” screams of “At Will”.

Simply put, Light Asylum as less of a breath of fresh air on the synth revival scene as there are a duo of badass bandits kicking down the door of staleness and screaming, shouting and doing whatever the fuck they like. That kind of tenacity and ferociousness is what a scene and its ‘sters’ need sometimes – a bloody good kick up the arse, and so far in 2012, no-one’s boots seem more suited to the task than those of Shannon Funchess and Bruno Coviello.



Recent reviews by this author
Metronomy Love LettersTemples Sun Structures
Bombay Bicycle Club So Long, See You TomorrowOasis Dig Out Your Soul
Oasis Don't Believe the TruthOasis Heathen Chemistry
user ratings (10)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Tom93M
Contributing Reviewer
May 1st 2012


1106 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Seriously impressed by this, so much so that i bumped it to a 4.5 - my first of the year. Anyways, give the review a try and if you're intrested, check the stream below:

www.nme.com/blog/index.php?blog=15&title=title_524&more=1&c=1&tb=1&pb=1

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
May 1st 2012


10310 Comments


Light Asylum, a Brooklyn 2 piece fronted by the one of the meanest looking front-women the pages of the alternative music press have seen a long time, are part of this stock, but with their eponymous debut, quite literally shout their contemporaries to pieces with Shannon Funchess’ ferocious gothic growl, which sounds as though it could fire spittle as far as the back rows of a fictional audience throughout its 10 blistering electro –pop tracks.

There’s always been something compelling about the extremity of pairing frosty as winter synth shudders and robotic dance beats with rich, human histrionics, right back to the glory days of electro-pop when the bluesy vocals of Alison Moyet and Depeche Mode’s early golden boy Vince Clark were married up to form the refreshing Yazoo, back in the early 80s – but Funchess’ voice is something else.

He dips in to fluttering Trans-Europe Express era Kraftwerk on ‘Angel Tongue’; Alternative electro-pop should-be hits, with cuts such as the dramatic and glorious ‘Shallow Tears’ (pounding drums, a beautifully sad stream of synth and colossal vocals team up for a personal song of the year contender); menacing dance-floor steamrollers on ‘Hour Fortress’ and the superbly compulsive ‘IPC’ (in which Funchess spits out the hook “nobody’s insane / nobody’s insane no more” with absolute conviction behind nervous synths), and black as midnight, pulse-fests such as the nihilistic “does it make you wanna kill / at will” screams of “At Will”.

Dude, your writing is really good but these sentences are insane. The last one is even connected by TWO semi-colons - you gotta split that stuff up to make it easier to read. It's a problem that I've had in the past as well, so I totally understand. I just feel like people won't even notice your great writing because of the sentence length, which is fortunate.



Tom93M
Contributing Reviewer
May 1st 2012


1106 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks for the feedback. I've noticed a few things i want to edit myself but sputnik is being gay and wont let me edit my review for some reason... : /

scissorlocked
May 1st 2012


3511 Comments


seems nice- will probably check

pos

Digging: Traumprinz - All The Things

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
May 1st 2012


10310 Comments


Ohhhh yeah, that's right. We can't edit reviews on the site right now... It's inconvenient.

Tom93M
Contributing Reviewer
May 1st 2012


1106 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks dude - i'm keen to hear what others think of this cos i had to add it to the database so the
ratings bar is empty. I clearly love it.

OmahaStylee94 - Inconvenient to the MAX! Hope it's fixed soon.

bloc
May 1st 2012


34951 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Heard a little bit of this not too long ago but I wasn't too interested. Just checked them out on Youtube again and I guess they do kinda sound alright. Definitely something different, that's for sure.

pizzamachine
May 1st 2012


12571 Comments


lol this album is a riot, not sure how to rate it though. Btw, the stream you posted is faulty, but this one works: http://www.spin.com/articles/hear-light-asylums-full-self-titled-debut-album

chrislee
May 9th 2012


4 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Good production, but too eighties for me.

Bagfacer
May 14th 2012


2 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I'm really enamored of this album. The tension between control and release is perfectly executed. And that VOICE. Jesus.

Was very upsetting to see Pitchfork throw such a mess at these guys. Very irresponsible of them.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy