Electric Wizard
Electric Wizard


4.0
excellent

Review

by Hernan M. Campbell STAFF
April 30th, 2012 | 38 replies


Release Date: 1995 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Exploring the open caverns of eternal midnight.

Electric Wizard is an album that has us descending into an ominous abyss of inescapable darkness. The album opens with "Stone Magnet", immediately unleashing a release of droning guitars drenched in harmonic dissonance. "Stone Magnet" has an almost mesmerizing effect to it, displaying slight touches of psychedelia that induce a cryptic setting for Jus Obron's drug-induced tales of fantasy and mysticism. The album has a very distinct aesthetic, with a retro musical sound that reflects a strong influence from the style of early heavy metal acts like Black Sabbath. "Behemoth" and "Electric Wizard" are perhaps the highlights of this album, taking us through lengthy passages decorated with the crunching sound of stoner riffs that fill our senses with that repetitive aggression. We also get to see the band beginning to dwell in musical hypnotism. "Mountains Of Mars", for example, leads us on an exploratory voyage through realms of cosmic ambience.

This eponymous debut acquaints us with a sound that is proficient, if not a particularly exemplary, style of Stoner-Doom music. I suppose one of the biggest diversion may be that all of the songs are formulated with a similar structure that makes them almost too identical, and this sense of repetition could prove to be a strenuous listen to anyone who isn't as familiar with the hypnotic quality in this particular genre of heavy metal. The guitar work also display a significant lack of that familiar usage of excessive feedback and distortion that coats the subsequent efforts. Inducing a much "cleaner" sound that makes this album an all the more refreshing listen. Overall, Electric Wizard proves to be an accomplished introduction to a band that would one day be recognized as one of the most prominent acts in Heavy Metal.



Recent reviews by this author
Trioscapes Digital Dream SequenceBroken Bells After The Disco
Sound and Fury (FI) PulsacionJail Weddings Meltdown: A Declaration of Unpopular Emotion
Chick Corea The VigilPond (AUS) Hobo Rocket
user ratings (173)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
Steve Firth (3.5)
The point where the fanatics started to come...


Comments:Add a Comment 
SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
April 29th 2012


4424 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Not my favorite Electric Wizard release, but i've been getting really into it lately.

Graveyard
April 29th 2012


5733 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm liking these short and to the point reviews your going for man. Pos'd

Digging: Sugary Sweet Machines - Controlled Breathing

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
April 29th 2012


4424 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Graveyard
Thanks, and yeah length has always been a problem with me in the past.

Graveyard
April 29th 2012


5733 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

As for Electric Wizard, this is my least favorite from them



SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
April 29th 2012


4424 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Not my favourite either, but it is growing on me.

17WordHaiku
April 29th 2012


158 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

This album is so awesome. The title track rips hard. So does this review.

Awesome job Paper.

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
April 29th 2012


4424 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@17WordHaiku
Hey thanks. And yeah that track is definitely one of Wizard's best.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
April 30th 2012


10203 Comments


Nice review, man.

One thing that I do notice that could make your writing a lot better is what I also struggle with. I sometimes go over the top with adjectives and adverbs describing the music, and speak a bit too "flowery" in my reviews. And you know that's the case when you read it aloud and it sounds awkward/forced. Like the first line here:

"Electric Wizard is an album that has us descending into an ominous abyss of inescapable darkness."

It's good imagery, but at the same it feels like too much. I think if you tried to say that in a more direct manner, it'd be more powerful. Otherwise it feels hyperbolic and therefore less credible, you know?

But the rest was great. I thought I'd try and help, because I really love your writing. :] very nice job, and you have a pos from me.

Digging: The Contortionist - Language

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
April 30th 2012


4424 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@OmahaStylee94
Oh thanks, I love constructive criticism. And I hear what your saying, like sometimes I try a too hard to "sound" professional with my writing and thats when I go over the top with my descriptions and at times it kind of comes out pretentious. I'll work on that. but anyway, thank you.

tommygun
April 30th 2012


24932 Comments


Great review as usual, pos from me. Been meaning to check this band out, where is the best place to start?

Digging: Broods - Evergreen

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
April 30th 2012


4424 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@TommyGun
I'd say start with Dopethrone- that's definitely their most popular album. Oh, and thanks for telling me about Dot Hacker, i've really been digging them lately.

tommygun
April 30th 2012


24932 Comments


Sweet I'll check it out, thanks man. Glad to hear you're enjoying Dot Hacker - if you like them and you like Ataxia I also recommend the Frusciante/Klinghoffer collab. 'A Sphere in the Heart of Silence'

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
April 30th 2012


4424 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@TommyGun
I've heard that album it's pretty good, along with a handful of Frusciante's other solo stuff. The Empyrean is my favorite though.

HitlerIsGod
April 30th 2012


746 Comments


this is decent.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
April 30th 2012


3400 Comments


I've only listened to Dopethrone from these guys, I'll check it out these days. Great & concise review. Too bad that line can't be edited. pos.

Digging: The Asteroid No. 4 - The Asteroid 4

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
April 30th 2012


4424 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Where did you discover them? Do you have a link?
I'd love to check them out.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
April 30th 2012


3400 Comments


@Baseline - introduce them in Sputnik's database and review them.

FruityCatOfDoom
April 30th 2012


2094 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Dig the review man and this is a great album.

CaptainDooRight
April 30th 2012


29133 Comments


I don't I've heard their first, I might check this out but as you and everyone else already knows, I'm proggin hard in the gnarliest progging phase of my life right now.

POS

Digging: Kangding Ray - Solens Arc

rockandmetaljunkie
April 30th 2012


3302 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Finally. This needed a new review.
I had this on my reviewing plans. But you did a good job and now i don't have to bother myself.

About the album:
I think this is the definite Sabbath rip off. Many bands try to imitate the style, few managed to do
it up to some extent, and EW is one of those bands.
This, sounds mostly like a Sabbath tribute.
Black Butterfly has the same riff as BS.
All the songs are based on bluesy scales.
The font used for the logo is the same style used for Black Sabbath's self-titled album, a nod to
one of the band's inspirations.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy