Rudimentary Peni
Cacophony


4.5
superb

Review

by Angel STAFF
April 19th, 2012 | 56 replies


Release Date: 1989 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Lovecraft, baby!

Brilliance often resides comfortably within the confines of madness, and this holds especially true when referencing premier anarcho-punk outfit, Rudimentary Peni. The group’s lead vocalist, guitarist, and lyricist, Nick Blinko, is, in fact, diagnosed with schizoaffective disorder and an “outsider” artist known for his pen-and-ink drawings, including the ones featured on the band’s releases. His dark but often witty lyrics play seamlessly into Rudimentary Peni’s concurrently fun and quirky instrumentals. Cacophony, arguably the group’s opus, is a wonderfully warped conglomeration of classic British punk and the bizarre and perverse nature of post-punk, all encompassing the life and writings of H. P. Lovecraft.

Thirty songs spanning about forty minutes, Cacophony boasts energetic riffing alternated with absurd monologues and peculiar noises. So much is packed into each brief track that it’s hard to take it all in, let alone get bored. Every element is engaging, whether it’s catchy hooks or frenzied ranting, and as the curveballs keep coming, it becomes easier just to sit back and expect the unexpected. Cacophony’s biggest strength is providing a backdrop of deceptively skillful instrumentation amidst the unorthodox vocal assault. As easy as it is to overlook the tight musicianship, there are lots of great guitar licks bass grooves to be had throughout the album.

Rudimentary Peni’s second full-length offering is an underground oddity, a punk classic, and a most fitting tribute to the legacy of Mr. Lovecraft. The unconventionality makes it a much more challenging listen than its predecessor, Death Church, but the ambition met with the superb execution makes for a more impressive artistic statement and one worth revisiting time and again. The album is exactly as its name suggests– a cacophony, dark, dense, and chaotic, much like Blinko’s cover art or R’lyeh itself. And, well, there’s nothing else out there quite like it.

Ph'nglui mglw'nafh Cthulhu R'lyeh wgah'nagl fhtagn.



Recent reviews by this author
Chelsea Wolfe Pain Is BeautyPrurient Through the Window
Muknal / The Haunting Presence SplitStorm Corrosion Storm Corrosion
Noothgrush Erode the PersonLycus Demo MMXI
user ratings (54)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
April 18th 2012


16137 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Listened to this on vinyl today and remembered it didn't have a review. Good one for getting me out of
my unproductive slump.

eternium
April 18th 2012


16338 Comments


I need this.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
April 18th 2012


16453 Comments


thought you forgot how to write

pos, if only for the last sentence

Digging: Swallowed - Lunarterial

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
April 18th 2012


16137 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It appeared I had for a while. I still have three reviews only barely started lol.

wabbit
April 18th 2012


7012 Comments


this didn't have a review?!

I fucking love this album. It's so weird yet so catchy

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
April 18th 2012


31403 Comments


Elementary phallus

Digging: Objekt - Flatland

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
April 18th 2012


16137 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

*phalli

Athom
Staff Reviewer
April 18th 2012


17224 Comments


there's a wannabe gang of methed out bros in orange county that took their name from these dudes

Ire
April 18th 2012


41805 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

called love merican

Athom
Staff Reviewer
April 18th 2012


17224 Comments


PENI Death Squad. despite my haircut, I am not involved in the white power movement.

Blackbelt54
April 18th 2012


4276 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Cool album

americanohno
April 18th 2012


1601 Comments


"there's a wannabe gang of methed out bros in orange county that took their name from these dudes"

Yeah I watched their episode of Gangland. They seem like pretty bad dudes. One of their guys got real high and wasted some cops all to show his mad respect/love for Odin.


Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
April 18th 2012


18746 Comments


lovecraft + punk probably = good

Digging: Monolake - Hong Kong

chambered69
April 18th 2012


1253 Comments


band is awesome

BarkHammer
April 18th 2012


125 Comments


'Yeah I watched their episode of Gangland. They seem like pretty bad dudes. One of their guys got real high and wasted some cops all to show his mad respect/love for Odin.'

Sounds like a day in the life of Balls.

BallsToTheWall
April 18th 2012


44714 Comments


Good band/review,etc.

Digging: Reverend Bizarre - Return to the Rectory

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
April 19th 2012


31403 Comments


*phalli


No, just the one for me thanks

porch
April 19th 2012


8459 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

finally

love this band, one of my faves

TheNotrap
April 19th 2012


8109 Comments


Probably not my kind of stuff but the review is very good, short and to the point.

Have a pos.

Katechon
April 19th 2012


684 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I like their first one better.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy