Opeth
Heritage


1.5
very poor

Review

by Schizo94 USER (4 Reviews)
April 17th, 2012 | 140 replies | 6,638 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Lame and disjointed - so NOT Opteh.

11 of 50 thought this review was well written

To sum it up, short and sweet: this album is a huge disappointment and quite honestly, it sucks. Opeth has lost everything that made them one of the most interesting and unique bands in metal: 1 - graowls; 2 - blast beats; 3 - coherent transitions (like the one in Black Rose Immortal at 04:05 or 05:50 in The Drapery Falls, among others); 4 - emotive solos; 5 - Martin Lopez; 6 - Peter Lindgren.

Instead of having brutal blast beats accompanied by monstruous growling and face-melting heavy riffs, we have mellotrons, flutes, and even african bongos (!) combined with ***ty transitions and 70s circus jazz riffs. Seriously, what the ***, Mikael? If I wanted to hear lame, cheap 70s instruments, I'd have picked a Jethro Tull or King Crimson CD instead!

Now, don't get me wrong, I'm actually pretty openminded and I consider Damnation to be one of the best albums this band has ever released. But Heritage is just different. Heritage doesn't have many emotive, soulful moments and solos, and it doesn't have catchy pop-influenced choruses like the one in Windowpane or In My Time Of Need! Heritage is just... boring.

There are some cool aspects, like The Devil's Orchard's chorus, which I enjoyed ("God Is Dead", what a shocking novelty! OMG it sounds so evil!) or Folklore's outro, which is definitely the best part on the entire album (so emotional, epic and intense!!!) but those parts only correspond to 3 minutes, which means, approximatedly 5% of the entire album. The rest of it is pure crap. No graowls, no beat blasts, no catchiness whatsoever, no energy, no powah.

Avoid this album at all costs, unless you're an old grandpa who likes to collect 70s prog records or if you have trouble falling asleep.


user ratings (1890)
Chart.
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Ovrot
April 16th 2012



10490 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

pos'd

AsoTamaki
April 16th 2012



2525 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

We all long to hear more of those unique graowls from Opeth.

Not bad for a troll review.

dammets
April 16th 2012



2035 Comments


needs more gray owls

The7thVermicide
April 16th 2012



925 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I know this is not exactly the best work of Opeth ,but ,C'mon , a 1,5 ?

Piglet
April 16th 2012



4653 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

maaaan, why do people even bother trolling any more?

FearThyEvil
April 16th 2012



12480 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I honestly don't even think it's a troll review. If so, it lost more credit then before.

BallsToTheWall
April 17th 2012



44164 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

Compelling review my friend, have a pos.

Fluttertrank
April 17th 2012



17098 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

dont see why this album gets so much shit.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
April 17th 2012



7164 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2

Review has no powah.

Digging: Ty Segall - Manipulator

zxlkho
April 17th 2012



3461 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

bad review is bad

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
April 17th 2012



18291 Comments


POS

Digging: Octex - Idei Lahesna

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
April 17th 2012



18291 Comments


optehs best album

Schizo94
April 17th 2012



8 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

This is not a troll-review, I was genuinely disappointed with Heritage.

Watershed had disjointed transitions, but at least it had some emotive, deep thought-provoking moments like the solo in Burden or Hessian Peel's first half.

Heritage just feels too shallow and highly uninspired, and makes it seem like Opeth have lost their passion for playing music.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
April 17th 2012



15784 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

review of the year

Digging: Maybeshewill - Fair Youth

AsoTamaki
April 17th 2012



2525 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is not a troll-review

Negged.

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
April 17th 2012



18291 Comments


opteh so emoshunahl

Graveyard
April 17th 2012



5694 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

"I wanted to hear lame, cheap 70s instruments, I'd have picked a Jethro Tull or King Crimson CD instead!"

Negged

Digging: Total Control - Typical System

Irving
Staff Reviewer
April 17th 2012



7164 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2

opteh so emoshunahl

Ahahahah

KjSwantko
April 17th 2012



9276 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

No powah

ha. Had to Pos this. I agree with all the points made too.

macadoolahicky
April 17th 2012



1835 Comments


No.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy