Istapp
Blekinge


4.0
excellent

Review

by Hawks USER (70 Reviews)
April 13th, 2012 | 31 replies | 2,887 views


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Elitists beware, you're in for a scare.

1 of 1 thought this review was well written

Just take a look at my summary for a second. If that statement applies to you, the reader, then you might as well just stop reading right now. If not, then you're in for quite a treat. Istapp is a Swedish melodic/epic black metal band that was formed not all that long ago in the year 2005 and this album, Blekinge is their debut album. Istapp is a band that mixes together a plethora of styles into their melodic black metal foundation and I'll explain to you exactly what I mean by that.

With all of that being said, they're not a melodic black metal band that is very similar to some of the earliest bands of the genre such as Dissection or Sacramentum. Blekinge has a very modern feeling to it. The production is extremely clean and glossy. Even with perfect production, Istapp still does a fantastic job of keeping the intensity of black metal and the general cold feeling that melodic black metal should have. This is protrayed the best through the riffs.

If you've ever listened to Taake, then you can kinda get a feeling for what some the riffs sound like here. If you haven't, then it's basically a lot of fast and catchy tremolo picking with tons of melody. The Taake influence isn't the only one that is presented here. Istapp is also extremely influenced by Borknagar and Wintersun. There are plenty of other influences as well, but those two are the most prominent, other than the main Taake influence. The Borknagar influence comes from the many viking metal influences that are sprinkled throughout. Mainly in the epic atmosphere that you get from listening to this and the clean vocals. You could honestly mistake Vintersorg for being the clean vocalist here. Not like that's a bad thing. You can here Wintersun based on the slight power metal influence this has, again in the guitars. A lot of the riffs are upbeat and almost cheerful and heart-warming. I know that's a weird way to describe a black metal album, but it's just the way it is.

Like I just explained, this album mixes together many styles and goes in a bunch of different directions. You'd think it was a two hour long album just because of that, but it's just under 40 minutes, 37 minutes to be exact. So if you're someone who likes your black metal melodic and almost cheesy in a way, then Blekinge is a perfect album to listen to. This would also be perfect for someone just getting into the genre.



Recent reviews by this author
Xanthochroid Blessed He With BoilsCradle of Filth Midnight in the Labyrinth
Antediluvian Through the Cervix of HawaahMarduk Dark Endless
Der Sturmer A Banner Greater than DeathFunebre Children of the Scorn
user ratings (21)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hawks
April 13th 2012



35603 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Classic Goosebumps reference in the summary.

Digging: Engraved - Before The Tales

TheSpirit
April 13th 2012



17719 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

nice i like this album

Digging: Venus Star - Nigredo Expulsion

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
April 13th 2012



16310 Comments


oooh gotta hear

Digging: Ulver - Bergtatt

Hawks
April 13th 2012



35603 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Yeah this album rules. I think you'd like this one Crysis.

Hawks
April 13th 2012



35603 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Fuck yeah Silent. I'm trying to edit in more albums in the recommended section, but it's fucking up so I'll just say it here. Fans of Windir, Equilibrium, Moonsorrow, and Myrkgrav will also enjoy this.

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
April 13th 2012



18298 Comments


if they take cues from taake i will def listen

Digging: Octex - Idei Lahesna

Hawks
April 13th 2012



35603 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Yeah I think you'd probably enjoy this too Hype. Definitely give it a chance.

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
April 13th 2012



18298 Comments


m/

TheSpirit
April 13th 2012



17719 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hmm i don't get too much of a Taake vibe here honestly. These guys set out to be melodic whereas I think Taake just happen to play black metal that is melodic.

Hawks
April 13th 2012



35603 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I can see where you're coming from with that, but I don't know, I just hear a lot of a Taake sound in some of the riffs. Obviously it's not the only influence though.

CaptainDooRight
April 13th 2012



28828 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Finally a review. Whew what a slow boring day on sput.

Good job Hawks auto pos because I love you and am not afraid to say it.

Digging: Tukaaria - Raw to the Rapine

FelixCulpa
April 13th 2012



1239 Comments


For basically coming from the warmest part of Sweden they sure are interested in cold. Blekinge is a county in the southern region of Sweden, fyi. Nice review hawks.

Hawks
April 13th 2012



35603 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Much appreciated guys.

CaptainDooRight
April 13th 2012



28828 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Hmm i don't get too much of a Taake vibe here honestly. These guys set out to be melodic whereas I think Taake just happen to play black metal that is melodic."

well described. I'll keep that in mind when listening.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
April 13th 2012



16310 Comments


You can here Wintersun based


hear*

Hawks
April 13th 2012



35603 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Shit I didn't even realize I did that. I'll fix it when I get back on the computer. Thanks for pointing that out Crysis.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
April 13th 2012



7164 Comments


Just take a look at my summary for a second. If that statement applies to you, the reader, then you might as well just stop reading right now.

Stopped reading. But for a completely different reason.

Digging: Ty Segall - Manipulator

taylormemer
April 13th 2012



4916 Comments


At least he's warning us now.

Hawks
April 13th 2012



35603 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Stopped reading. But for a completely different reason.

Cool story bro.

Hawks
April 13th 2012



35603 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Stopped reading. But for a completely different reason.

Cool story bro. Tell me more.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy