Chromatics
Kill For Love


4.5
superb

Review

by Martin L. USER (44 Reviews)
April 9th, 2012 | 77 replies | 11,259 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: RIYL: sexy night drives, dancing with a lover and slowly bobbing your head wishing for this perfect moment never to end, a modern retelling of Loveless, losing track of time

10 of 11 thought this review was well written

Before strolling into the dark of Chromatics second full-length, I felt myself wondering Hey this 90-minute album looks far too long to be enjoyable... Thankfully, I came to my senses, gave Kill For Love my hand, and drove blindly into what has proven to be an extraordinarily engaging, interesting, and cigarette-smoke-clogged listen. Don’t let the length fool you, it’s is a meticulously crafted masterpiece that combines indie-pop ebullience, synth bliss, and post-punk dread into a package that simultaneously teaches you lessons about sorrow, ecstasy, and rock & roll. Or at the very least- it’s really fucking chill.

Known best as the providers of the backbone to 2011’s Drive soundtrack, Chromatics build on this synthy, moody atmosphere by incorporating catchy standouts like the spectacular title track, as well as drawn-out epics and hazy slow-burners. The album plays on the popularity of releases like M83’s Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming while maintaining an identity of its own, thankfully. This is convenient, because Kill For Love can be compared to the aforementioned double-album in more ways, such as its go-for-broke length. It’s in this facet I find answer to the complaints of Kill For Love being bloated: rather than overstuffed with goodness, Chromatics have crafted something that tends to lose itself in time. Tracktimes go by the wayside when one loses themselves in Ruth Radelet’s crooning on “Back From The Grave” or the constant ticking in the background of “These Streets Will Never Look the Same.” It’s a timeless album; this is true both in the way that time seems to be a non-factor throughout as well as in the ecstasy of Kill For Love that make me feel like I’ll still be jamming their cover of Neil Young’s “Into The Dark” 20 years down the road, when I’ve long-ago given up on the idyllic world of a world on Molly epitomized, here.

Front-loaded for power, Chromatics’ second release begins as charismatic as can be with a quartet of tracks that have unlimited replay value. But Kill For Love ebbs and flows fluidly. It brakes from the tour-de-force section with a downshift when “Broken Mirrors” and “Running From The Sun” reinforce the band’s ability to hold your hand, dance slowly, and hold onto those fleeting moments of perfection. It takes hold and never lets go. What’s more, there rarely is any sort of climax throughout the 90-minute whirlwind, which is both odd and fitting. Rather, the album sways to and fro slowly and sleekly-- and before you know it, you’ve been hit with what is bound to be one of the best albums to be released for a long time. Aptly-named closer “No Escape” strikes you with the silky smoothness of a chocolate bar, then quiet waves of synth and harmonized vocals wash over you gently before Kill For Love bids farewell.



Recent reviews by this author
Aidan Baker Already DrowningPity Sex Feast of Love
NoMeansNo WrongHuata/Bitcho Split
The Men New MoonGiles Corey Hinterkaifeck
user ratings (161)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
Major Tom CONTRIBUTOR (3.5)
A broken kind of paradise…...


Comments:Add a Comment 
carouse
April 9th 2012



300 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

first time I saw you post - one idiotic opinion and nothing else

Just kidding, I respect your different view of this album but urge you to try it again. I'm assuming it was the tracks in the beginning that tickled your fancy, and the others that you thought were filler?

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
April 9th 2012



18005 Comments


no that pretty much sums up baseline

only listened to this once so far and it was cool but nothing special, ill listen again later

Digging: Autechre - Draft 7.30

carouse
April 9th 2012



300 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"I only need to listen to an album one time to remember it forever because I'm an advanced being."

Oh, well then.

"My favorite tracks were Kill For Love, Into The Black, Back From the Grave, These Streets Will Never Look The Same."

So, yes.

carouse
April 9th 2012



300 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I was just referring to my question earlier about how I had assumed it was the tracks at the beginning (mostly) that you enjoyed.

carouse
April 9th 2012



300 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Oh no, it wasn't said in a pejorative sense. Those are my favorites as well if I had to choose single tracks, I just like this album as a whole much more than its singular pieces.

chambered69
April 9th 2012



1253 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

great review martin i'm glad you like this




i feel like this is the album i've been waiting for for a long time

carouse
April 9th 2012



300 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I feel the same way! It's absolutely perfect for the time being.

DBlitz
April 9th 2012



1690 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

couple of songs the middle, black mirrors-running from the sun, nearly ruined it on my first listen. well i guess candy is ok. but the other 3 almost made me forget i enjoyed the first 30 mins a great deal, so i just skip those 3 tracks while listening now. oh and that 14 min song at the end is easily skippable too

album is really nice tho, love the mood/atmosphere

Manic_
April 9th 2012



447 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

pretty fun and nostalgic record, one of my favorites this year so far.

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
April 9th 2012



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I can't believe this album passed me by, I'm going to go and have serious words with my music blogs...

Listening to it now, it's been pretty good so far.

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
April 9th 2012



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Okay, listened through it a couple of times. I like it, it's cute, but it just kind of glazes by uneventfully. Couple good songs, but they aren't incredible. Very Ulrich Schnauss-y in that regard; seems to happen with a lot of electronic/ shoegaze projects.

chambered69
April 9th 2012



1253 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

it's cute, but it just kind of glazes by uneventfully.



cute? rly? thats really not a word i would use to describe this lol

ShadowRemains
April 9th 2012



20227 Comments


this sounds really good

CaptainDooRight
April 10th 2012



28300 Comments


not really feeling this

needs a little Jenny

Digging: IQ - The Road of Bones

DoubtGin
April 10th 2012



6748 Comments


it's a bit too long, but most of it is great

These Streets Will Never Look the Same is my favourite song on here

carouse
April 10th 2012



300 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm glad many people here seem to be enjoying this.
Is this worth a feature, maybe? Or is that being too optimistic?

thebhoy
Emeritus
April 11th 2012



4459 Comments


This is probably only the third album that I've heard yet this year that I can really dig (Andrew Bird and Lotus Plaza are the other two; Vijay Iyer and Cloud Nothings were good but nothing great)

chambered69
April 13th 2012



1253 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

raise your hand if you never ever want these streets to end

Anthracks
April 14th 2012



3668 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

dream poop

chambered69
April 14th 2012



1253 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

wowza you have no ears



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy