Fanfarlo
Rooms Filled With Light


3.5
great

Review

by Davey Boy STAFF
April 7th, 2012 | 22 replies | 4,770 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: “Tightrope, blank sheet, everything could change today”.

With the heightened proliferation of means to access such a diverse range of music over the better part of the past decade, it is fair to state that the array of influences available to young, up-and-coming musicians has never been greater. On the flip-side, however, the listening public (as well as critics, journalists and the like) are also more adept at spotting such influences. While many artists view being brandished as “derivative” as an unavoidable nuisance and take it in their stride, others use it as the fuel to fire their growth… One such outfit is London-based quintet Fanfarlo, who have fundamentally reinvented themselves on their Ben Allen (Animal Collective, Deerhunter) produced second LP ‘Rooms Filled With Light’.

Practically utilizing the “kitchen sink” approach to instrumentation on their superb – if familiar – self-released debut LP ‘Reservoir’, it was difficult not to compare Fanfarlo’s combination of chamber-pop and indie-folk to the likes of Arcade Fire, Beirut and Grizzly Bear. That’s not to say such moments do not exist here, since the jovially bouncy ‘Tightrope’ and mildly tropical ‘Feathers’ could have snuck on ‘The Suburbs’ without anyone noticing, while I’m certain the alluringly quirky ‘Tunguska’ is actually a Beirut tune. However, the folk influences of their debut are now all but gone, replaced by a strong aroma of 80s styled new-wave electronics. Nowhere can this elegant and intricately detailed change in approach be heard better than on opener ‘Replicate’… Whereas ‘Reservoir’ opener ‘I’m A Pilot’ was a stomping, drum-heavy introduction, the entirely drum-less ‘Replicate’ begins with staccato strings and Simon Balthazar’s very Win Butler-esque vocals. An almost tense feeling gradually unwinds, making for an effective opener, but odd choice as single.

The clear objective of ‘Rooms Filled With Light’ is to meld these newfound electronic tendencies with the quintet’s disparate musical weaponry. The results are mixed, with more success achieved when the tempo is upbeat and multi-instrumentalist Cathy Lucas is deployed to provide extra vocal harmonies… The aforementioned ‘Tightrope’ is one such example, as is single ‘Deconstruction’ and the quiet-loud dynamics of ‘Lenslife’. Nowhere near as instant or accessible as its predecessor, the melodies are often subtle here, choosing to unravel slowly rather than forcing themselves into one’s subconscious. The main concern is that the electronic components too often drive such melodies, instead of complementing the baroque instrumentation to reach memorable heights… Even pleasant tracks which lean on the poppier side of the spectrum, lack that killer hook to take them to the next level. It is here where dialing down the tremendous horn breaks, or under-stating Justin Finch’s neglected bass-lines are both a blessing and a curse, depending upon the individual track.

Despite the obvious influx of keys, synths and samples, perhaps the most telling element of ‘Rooms Filled With Light’ is its methodically paced tracks… Two in particular: the meandering ‘Bones’ and gorgeous pseudo-closer ‘A Flood’. The former is simply mundane and not worth investing in, while the latter’s boy-girl harmonies and alluring slow-build is the album’s genuine pleasant surprise… In fact, it is essentially a validation of the direction which Fanfarlo have chosen to follow. Make no mistake about it, the reinvention attempted here is of such a high degree of difficulty that even seasoned veterans would struggle with such amplified ambition. To that extent, ‘Rooms Filled With Light’ is more than an interesting transitional release, it is a bold and moderately successful grower which will reward the patient. If they can somehow harness the lessons learned from this experimentation, reduce the filler, and replace it with their debut’s lush and soaring orchestral arrangements, then Fanfarlo could do more than shake off the “derivative” tag, they could – dare I say it – release a classic!

"So come on let's dissect it, let's cut it up 'till it's gone.
Let's break it up into pieces and throw away what we don't understand.
It comes together again, it comes together again somehow".

Recommended Tracks: Tightrope, A Flood, Deconstruction & Feathers.



Recent reviews by this author
Emmure Eternal EnemiesThe Pretty Reckless Going to Hell
Broods BroodsThe Jezabels The Brink
Fanfarlo Let's Go ExtinctAbandon All Ships Malocchio
user ratings (22)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 7th 2012



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Not so much a review for an overlooked album, as much as it is for an overlooked band.

I heavily recommend listening to both of their albums so as to hear the change in sound the band has made. You'll like one of them, it's just a matter of which.

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
April 7th 2012



6441 Comments


This sounds really interesting.

Unfortunately, NPR took down the stream

Digging: Interpol - El Pintor

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 7th 2012



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Interesting" is definitely a good way to describe it clercqie.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 7th 2012



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Here are the videos for the 1st 2 singles (remembering that I thought 'Replicate' was a strange choice for a single):

Deconstruction: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=irE7miqG_LU
Replicate: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iZT2M3YM3PA&feature=relmfu

And this is a live session (not as good as the recorded version) for my highlight track 'Tightrope': http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9pFKQYH2nwM&feature=related

Meanwhile, this is one of the highlights (Harold T Wilkins...) from their debut to compare: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QnR2oVUTPCo&list=UUS6AhsV7me28YCKGMF88JkQ&index=18&feature=plcp


StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
April 7th 2012



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

This album was a bit of a let-down compared to Reservoir. The rustic approach to that album was just so full of warmth and personality that any shift in style was bound to produce something comparatively lifeless.

There're no equals to "I'm a Pilot", "Luna" or "Finish Line", for one. It's still good though, but I just take issue with the direction; they should have exploited the little niche they'd carved for themselves a bit more. Maybe by taking a year or two more just to really rinse out a truly great album.

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
April 7th 2012



6441 Comments


Thanks for the links, Davey!

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 7th 2012



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

No probs clercqie.

At the end of the day Stranger, I guess I agree that this album does not compare to its predecessor (which is a 4.5 for me). But I'm unsure I agree that they could have bettered it had they kept going down the same path (recalling that their debut was a long time coming & quite a few singles had already been released over the years).

While it still may not come to anything, I guess I repeat what I said in the last paragraph of the review: "If they can somehow harness the lessons learned from this experimentation, reduce the filler, and replace it with their debut’s lush and soaring orchestral arrangements, then Fanfarlo could release a classic!"

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
April 7th 2012



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I just don't know how well those orchestral arrangements would work without the rough, fuzzy setting that Reservoir provided. We'll see, hopefully, in any case.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 7th 2012



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Understand where you're coming from... I guess that's the part that isn't easy... But hey, making a classic has never been easy & the fact that this band has the potential to, is only a small part of the way to delivering on that promise.

PorkchopExpress
April 7th 2012



387 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I actually like them pretty equally, though I would say I prefer Reservoir if I had to choose (but only because it has Fire Escape). I do like this though, and I'm glad to see it get a review. I'm surprised it didn't have one yet, honestly.

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
April 7th 2012



6441 Comments


His voice really really resembles School Is Cool:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vlw6GfsHPQc

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 7th 2012



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Porkchop, I'd go 1 step further & say I'm surprised at the general lack of ratings here for this band. It's interesting you like them around the same, as I think they're quite different. Would you agree with that.

Yeah, nice comparison clercqie. The lead singer of this English band is actually a Swede, so while he has an English accent now, I think you can hear a few inflections here & there which add something just a little different to the mix.

PorkchopExpress
April 7th 2012



387 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah I totally agree that they're very different. However, I think both albums are good on their own merits, and the new direction they took on this one is good, just in a different way.

thebhoy
Emeritus
April 7th 2012



4459 Comments


Yeah I agree with this Davey, it's a pretty fun listen without anything too memorable

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 7th 2012



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Agreed porkchop, I do still think this is good on its own merits. I guess it just has that bit of filler, which I don't think their debut had at all.

Keelan, did you prefer their debut (if you have heard it) or this ?

Ending
April 7th 2012



1893 Comments


Feeling on top of the world right now, knowing all but two of the albums in your recommendations.

Great review though, I like this so far. You're doing a fine job as my #1 alternative and indie music
supplier.

Knott-
Emeritus
April 7th 2012



10195 Comments


"Lenslife" just terrified with me with those left-panned hollow drums... took me totally off-guard.

Cheers for this rec, Davey... I feel like it might require quite a lot of listening to get to grips with fully but it's great at the moment.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 8th 2012



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks Ending... I never thought I'd be anyone's #1 indie music supplier!

No probs Adam. Ensure you also listen to their debut, in order to give this album a lot of perspective.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
April 8th 2012



7174 Comments


Interested in checking this out - but is there anything that differentiates them from the Arcade Fire + Noah and Le Balein + Beirut crowd?

Digging: Ty Segall - Manipulator

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 9th 2012



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I guess that they mix all of those influences on one album is enough of a differentiation for mine.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy