Isis
Live 6 (11/16/2007)


4.5
superb

Review

by Alex Newton USER (43 Reviews)
April 4th, 2012 | 31 replies | 5,286 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Isis finally unleash a concert recording that lives up to their legendary live show.

6 of 7 thought this review was well written

It’s not every band that can release more live albums than studio LP’s and still have fans clamoring for more. While Live VI is the third proper live set from post-metal giants Isis (the other three were haphazardly assembled bootlegs), it’s significant for two reasons: it’s the first piece of music from the band since their 2010 dissolution, and it’s the most comprehensive document of their live show yet released. Despite the set being one continuous show, six different albums (including early EP’s Mosquito Control and The Red Sea) are represented here. The resulting sonic palette is accordingly diverse, from the primal raging of Red Sea and Hive Destruction to the brilliantly executed centerpiece trio 'In Fiction', 'Holy Tears', and 'Weight'. The latter even includes singer Maria Christopher, whose reverb-drenched mantras were sorely missed in previous outings.

For such a disparate collection of songs, the set list flows remarkably well. The band takes the stage as a horror-movie industrial loop fades in, then bursts into the crushing swells of 'Hive Destruction'. Having emphatically broken the ice, Turner and company continue with a fantastic rendition of 'So Did We', which seems to have evolved somewhat over the years. The initial riff, for instance, is slightly more streamlined than the Panopticon version, and drummer Aaron Harris throws in dramatic double-bass fills as the song builds. The clean verse in the middle is an album highlight, with Turner’s echoing cries about resisting the passing of time creating a haunting juxtaposition to the song’s ever-increasing momentum. 'Not In Rivers, But In Drops' enters over rolling tom-toms, forsaking brutality for eloquent layers of counterpoint guitar, enduring several sonic shifts before finally giving way to the incessant, coarse riffs of the misleadingly-named 'Gentle Time'. Each song peaks and troughs, the three guitarists meticulously creating an aural landscape. At times the music seems a medium through which Aaron Turner describes a painstakingly assembled primeval world, raked by powerful storms of distortion strategically parting to reveal fields of luscious melodies. Metaphorical tangents aside, there just seems to be something greater at work behind all this.

The songs’ full visceral effect is made possible by the excellent sound quality, which here is worlds better than the first four albums of Isis’ live series, and another step up from soundboard recording Live V. Aaron Turner’s vocals, in particular, are clearly heard amidst the thunderous layers of guitar and percussion. As mentioned before, Christopher’s presence further sets the performances of Oceanic cuts 'Carry' and 'Weight' apart from their incomplete versions elsewhere. As with Live V, the pieces run uninterrupted, including sound bites of the crowd between songs. This continuity gives a strong impression of the listener actually being at the show, making it easy to drift away in the music without constant reminders that it’s just a recording. Isis were always first and foremost a live band, and the “transcendent” live experience they aim for is very nearly replicated here. Just close your eyes and let the music take you wherever it may, be it a prehistoric world or the front row at a concert. Or maybe both at the same time.

Recommended:

So Did We
In Fiction
Weight



Recent reviews by this author
Echoes of Eon ImmensityThe Great Old Ones Tekeli-Li
Thou HeathenGamma Ray Empire of the Undead
Soreption Engineering The VoidCynic Kindly Bent to Free Us
user ratings (22)
Chart.
4.4
superb

Comments:Add a Comment 
Tyrannic
April 4th 2012



3261 Comments


you recommended weight. yesssss.

they include the girl live? sounds awesome. very well written, pos'd

CaptainDooRight
April 4th 2012



28335 Comments


cool will have to check

Digging: IQ - The Road of Bones

pedro70512
April 4th 2012



2414 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

If you neg please let me know why.

CaptainDooRight
April 4th 2012



28335 Comments


def wasn't me bro, I didn't neg or pos as I didn't even read ur review yet.

Also I've never negged a review before.

But if someone negs they should come forth.

I'm actually implementing a new policy that if someone negs and doesn't explain themselves, the neg will be deleted and the negger will face a temporary ban. The only exception is when the review obviously deserves one.

pedro70512
April 4th 2012



2414 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

@CaptainDooRight - No worries, I figured as much. Sounds like a harsh policy but I'm sure not
complaining. I figure a neg means the review ought to be re-written, as opposed to having minor issues
or a stance you disagree with.

Shukal
April 4th 2012



59 Comments


you probably got a neg for recommending btbam =[
anyway, the review is great. pos.

pedro70512
April 4th 2012



2414 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

It doesn't say "sounds like", it asked what I recommend. I recommend BtBAM because it's another
exceptionally good live album by a progressive metal band that emphasizes the intellectual nature of
their music.

If I change it to, say, Neurosis, will you un-neg? Messing up on something not actually in the review
is a terrible reason to have a black eye on it.

pedro70512
April 4th 2012



2414 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Alright it's Neurosis now. But it's good to know people at least look at my recommendations. Sorry to get all asdfupset over it, I just take my reviews very seriously. Now I know to extend that to my in-review recs.

pedro70512
April 4th 2012



2414 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

And before anyone gets pissy about Wolves being there, please be aware that they opened for Isis at this show. Turner even thanks them after 'Weight'.

CaptainDooRight
April 4th 2012



28335 Comments


"@CaptainDooRight - No worries, I figured as much. Sounds like a harsh policy but I'm sure not
complaining. I figure a neg means the review ought to be re-written, as opposed to having minor issues
or a stance you disagree with."

It's a policy that is well worth it and will ultimately resolve the concern new and upcoming reviewers face from review to review. Sputnik is an equal opportunity music database and no superiority shall be given to trolls.

Tyrannic
April 4th 2012



3261 Comments


he changed his rec section before i could neg


DAMNIT

Shuyin
April 4th 2012



11170 Comments


ghost negs suck, i got plenty even in my good revs


Digging: Blut Aus Nord - Memoria Vetusta II: Dialogue with the Stars

pedro70512
April 4th 2012



2414 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Pff, I did no such thing. It was Neurosis all along. Why would I dare recommend BtBAM in an Isis
review? #LearnfromYourMistakes

Relinquished
April 4th 2012



24439 Comments


you deserve that neg if you actually recced btbam and one more for bitching about it

pedro70512
April 4th 2012



2414 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Well I don't mean to bitch. It's just a neg, I suppose everyone gets them eventually. I accept that I
made a careless rec, fixed it, and will be more thoughtful in future reviews. I think this is settled
now.

JAV
April 5th 2012



1921 Comments


I'll have to check this out.
I was lucky enough to see them with 27 so Maria and Ayal made Weight and Carry even better.

Tyrannic
April 5th 2012



3261 Comments


i do believe i fancy this pedro character

JAV
April 5th 2012



1921 Comments


Love you too potato

glezz
April 5th 2012



235 Comments


Is this only available in the Box Set released last month?

pedro70512
April 5th 2012



2414 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I got it from iTunes (hurrdur, paying for me musics). All six are there separately, though somebody needs to let them know that nobody's gonna pay $9.99 for a collection of bootlegs.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy