Black Sheep Wall
No Matter Where It Ends


3.0
good

Review

by Adam Thomas STAFF
March 21st, 2012 | 39 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Heavy as balls

Really all this review should read is “Black Sheep Wall are fucking heavy”. In full that's all one really walks away with after any experience with the band, be it live or on recording. There's not too much more to them than that. Black Sheep Wall's first release I Am God Songs was an interesting hybrid of noisy sludge and metalcore that came along at just the right time for it to seem fresh. Unfortunately freshness doesn't always lead to staying power. It works wonders when in the mood for it, but is far from a regular listener in terms or replayability.

So now four years and a crew of new members later, how have the southern Californians' progressed? Well, they really haven't much. It is obvious that the writing core of I Am God Songs is still in tact, as while not as noisy throughout, what Black Sheep Wall has done on No Matter Where it Ends is still rooted in the same vein of down-tempo sludgecore that's more Disembodied than Grief, only now it is a more refined and polished offering. This is both good and bad as Black Sheep Wall have never sounded more on point, but alas, the noisier elements on I Am God Songs gave it a warped and twisted sense of personality that sounded downright evil which is missing on No Matter Where it Ends. By smoothing their rough edges they also got rid of their greatest dynamic of crushing riffs and gnarled feedback intertwined into beastly tracks that sounded like they we're recorded in the depths of hell. That's not to say that No Matter Where it Ends isn't a good listen, because on a track by track basis it does everything that it should: it kicks you outside the head like a mule with lead shoes – but over the course of the entire album it becomes homogenous with little variance in sound. Fortunately though, there are tracks like one two punch of “Torrential” and “Ambient Ambitions” that are just too damn good to get lost in the flow with their sullen latter-era Corrupted influenced chords and churning monster riffs, even if Trae Malone's vocals sound as if they were copied and pasted from any of the other songs on the album over them.

After all is said and done, No Matter Where it Ends is an album that feels a little bit too safe in its own shoes. While Black Sheep Wall accomplish what they set out to do, one can't help but feel like it suffers from a stifling case of tunnel vision that keeps it from being so much more.



Recent reviews by this author
YOB Clearing The Path To AscendUnited Nations The Next Four Years
Matter TeraphimThe Hotelier Home, Like NoPlace Is There
Owls TwoTaking Back Sunday Happiness Is
user ratings (37)
Chart.
3.3
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Ignimbrite
March 21st 2012


5345 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Pumped to hear this. Great review.

Digging: This Will Destroy You - Another Language

Sevhead
March 21st 2012


569 Comments


with the bands you name-drop, this sounds like it deserves a listen. album art is super badass

Athom
Staff Reviewer
March 21st 2012


17213 Comments


It's definitely worth a spin.

Digging: Inigo Kennedy - Vaudeville

Sevhead
March 21st 2012


569 Comments


nice dig.

wacknizzle
March 21st 2012


13265 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good review redsky, hope this is more enjoyable than the rating makes it sound because I loved Luminality and I'm downloading the album now. I also hope there's atleast one song that one here that is on par with Modest Machine which is my favorite song from them.

Digging: Dioramic - Supra

cvlts
March 21st 2012


8956 Comments


yeah this gets tiring fast.

heavy as fuck though

Athom
Staff Reviewer
March 21st 2012


17213 Comments


their drummer is also in http://passengerca.bandcamp.com/ who are pretty cool.

MO
March 21st 2012


18687 Comments


good old starcraft

wacknizzle
March 21st 2012


13265 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Fuck, I can't find anywhere to download this, if anyone has a link to drop in my shoutbox that would be sick. I'd go to the store and get this but they haven't set a US release date yet.

Athom
Staff Reviewer
March 21st 2012


17213 Comments


I don't think there's a leak or anything. I got it from the label.

wacknizzle
March 21st 2012


13265 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Lucky you, I'm ordering it from Season of Mist now, cuz I don't think ill have to wait for the US release date for it to ship.

ffs
March 21st 2012


4878 Comments


didnt know this was out

i am god songs is pretty dece, will have to check this

wacknizzle
March 21st 2012


13265 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The only place you can get this now is mp3 dl from amazon or ordering a Cd form Season of Mist, it hasn't leaked yet.

Forevermore
March 21st 2012


129 Comments


Redsky should leak it then.

Ignimbrite
March 21st 2012


5345 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

if he leaked it I could get hella bounty on what so yeah I need a leak

accompliceofmydeath
March 21st 2012


4218 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Oh shit, a new one? Didn't even know about this.

Digging: The Swarm - Parasitic Skies

accompliceofmydeath
March 21st 2012


4218 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Also, mentioning Disembodied merits you an auto-pos.

Ignimbrite
March 21st 2012


5345 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

well he's staff so

wacknizzle
March 21st 2012


13265 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I didn't used to like I Am God Songs much as a whole, alot of the songs just felt very loose and unstructured so I pretty much just obsessed over Modest Machine. I've been real into the album lately, it's a alot better than I remember.

accompliceofmydeath
March 22nd 2012


4218 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@Ignim: I just meant pos'd, like when you write pos'd on a staff review...



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy