Anti-Flag
The General Strike


3.5
great

Review

by Adam Thomas STAFF
March 21st, 2012 | 29 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A solid set of tunes for the pinko bastard in all of us.

Anti-Flag have come a long way from their beginnings as a bunch of kids who spent too much of their time listening to Operation Ivy and Crass records. Their once overtly blunt and juvenile “fuck it all” politics have now been honed and crafted into viable critiques of the American system that are far removed from their “You gotta die for your country, that's shit!” days, although the same sentiments can still be found. They hit their stride with New Kind of Army's rallying cry and carried it through the Bush administration before losing their way with the help of RCA records. For the last 10 years they've comfortably been more Green Day than Leftover Crack, but they've managed to retain a sharp sneer beneath their anthemic political punk that sets them apart from the American Idiots and the like that gives their anger genuine grit rather than the set dusty coffers of board room marketing. The General Strike is what seems to be the end of this decade long journey of rediscovery. The guys in Anti-Flag finally feel at home in their own skin again. With 12 songs at a mere 27 minutes, The General Strike is straight and to the point punk that still carries traces of their big production major label experiment with its polished tones and big choruses. Even so, there's enough grit included, mostly from Chris #2's bark, to raise a few eyebrows, even on those who gave up on Anti-Flag when they started busting out the acoustic guitars and the big picture albums.

That being said, it is an Anti-Flag album so basically you know what you're getting into. Every song is intended as a rallying cry for individualism and the sane side of US politics but it can all get lost every now and again under the constant us vs them railing. Not that there are weak points in the message, it's just that the one thing that Anti-Flag lost right around the time Bush Jr. took power was their handful of inane numbers like “Summer Squatter Go Home” and “Spazz's House Destruction Party” that reminded us that the world isn't always life or death. There's only so much you can hear the same message before it starts to lose its meaning. Luckily, with the album being so short it wraps up right around the point where your brain starts yelling back “God dammit! I get it already”. All in all, The General Strike is all we can really ask for from Anti-Flag these days: a solid set of tunes for the pinko bastard in all of us.



Recent reviews by this author
At the Gates At War with RealityWeezer Everything Will Be Alright in the End
YOB Clearing The Path To AscendUnited Nations The Next Four Years
Matter TeraphimThe Hotelier Home, Like NoPlace Is There
user ratings (66)
Chart.
3.2
good
other reviews of this album
Statrick Pickles (2.5)
What I failed to learn from Anti-Flag:...


Comments:Add a Comment 
TheGardener
March 20th 2012


150 Comments


Nice Review. Used to be a big fan of their old stuff and they've got a pretty fun live show. Will check this out.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
March 20th 2012


16785 Comments


Sweet didn't know these guys released anything. I always sort of begrudgingly enjoy their music, so I'll pick this up when I get the chance.

Digging: Damien Rice - My Favourite Faded Fantasy

Athom
Staff Reviewer
March 20th 2012


17224 Comments


I find it ironic that the other review for this album is written by an employee of an investment firm when the album is inspired by the Occupy Movement.

ridingchillwaves
March 20th 2012


93 Comments


while more respectable than their fellow warped tourians,
i'm still not impressed by the "eff 'murica" sentiment...


Athom
Staff Reviewer
March 20th 2012


17224 Comments


It's anti-nationalist but far from "eff 'murica" as you so put it.

iFghtffyrdmns
March 20th 2012


7047 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

I find it ironic that the other review for this album is written by an employee of an investment firm when the album is inspired by the Occupy Movement.

hah yeah man it's definitely ironic, i guess I just have different priorities and opinions these days.

your review is concise and perfect, obviously you just understand that I don't agree. then again, maybe it's just personal.

fantastically done on the counterpoint, you pinko bastard. cheers.

ridingchillwaves
March 20th 2012


93 Comments


Hmmm.

That's just what I got from their past work, not specifically this album.

but I guess I shouldn't judge considering after I first tried to listen to "Indie sucks, emo sucks, hardline sucks, you suck!" I pretty much disregarded this band...

iFghtffyrdmns
March 20th 2012


7047 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

but I guess I shouldn't judge considering after I first tried to listen to "Indie sucks, emo sucks, hardline sucks, you suck!" I pretty much disregarded this band...

you are not a human being

ridingchillwaves
March 20th 2012


93 Comments


yeah, I know right! What's wrong with me? That song is so punk.

puppetboy69
March 21st 2012


3 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Heard the album a couple of weak's back. I'm definitely with you about the strong set of tracks. the only bad critique i have about this album are the lyrics for "The Neoliberal Anthem", "The Ranks of the Masses Rising" and the bridge they offer up for the song "Resist". They just feel like blind/empty anger in an us vs. them mentality, with no real point to drive them home. Still, that being said, The musicianship in the three songs I mentioned is extremely solid.

I also want to highlight that Im a huge fan of what Chris #2 brings to the band and his barking singing style just keep's getting better and better with each album.

Spec
March 21st 2012


27269 Comments


pos

Digging: Midnight - No Mercy for Mayhem

ConsiderPhlebas
March 21st 2012


6157 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

nice work

Hep Kat
March 21st 2012


15356 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeeeah boi

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
March 21st 2012


6504 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Album's kinda meh

Digging: Recondite - Iffy

Activista anti-MTV
March 21st 2012


3148 Comments


Loved the review... band is fine by me. nostalgic

Regulator
March 21st 2012


607 Comments


hmmm, this peaks my interest. their last few efforts haven't been exactly what I liked Anti-Flag for


Kris.
March 21st 2012


12424 Comments


better dead than red

xfearbefore
March 21st 2012


1246 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is actually pretty good, although not remarkable or anything and it's the same album they've made for years but there's some good spark in a couple of songs, mainly the "The Ghosts of Alexandria".

Digging: Negative Approach - Tied Down

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
March 21st 2012


50850 Comments


I don't like how they switched to short songs and 20 minute albums

Digging: Bobby Barnett - Little Wounds

Satellite
March 22nd 2012


20826 Comments


good review

not sure if i could enjoy a new anti-flag album, but maybe i'll try



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy