Summoning
Let Mortal Heroes Sing Your Fame


5.0
classic

Review

by A.K. USER (66 Reviews)
January 18th, 2006 | 69 replies


Release Date: 2001 | Tracklist


I got this cd really long ago, back when it was new and loved it right from the beginning. I was amazed at the amount of detail and ornamentation that was in this cd. The balance of technicality (which is still rather minimal) melody, and rhythm creating amazing atmospheres for each song. All the songs are unique as well, they all have parts that one can instantly remember them by, such as the clarinet in the beginning of Ashen Cold or the strings and horns of A New Power is Rising. The thing that makes the cd even more amazing is that it was concieved orchestrated and played by two people.

If you're familiar with Summoning you know that they are very Tolkein/Lord of the Rings influenced, and if you're into that kind of music but don't know Summoning this is the perfect place to begin. It has more of the old medieval feel than Stronghold yet the Instruments are clearer than on Dol Guldur or Minas Morgul. The production is excellent. except for the guitars which are just about as distorted as they can get. The drum machine still plays that familiar beat but keeps things interesting when need be giving us Timpani and Tom parts that are a nice variety from the usual snare/bass/tambourine beat.

The cd starts with "A New Power is Rising", which is the usual hymn like intro that Summoning cds have and builts up gradually, starting with just a French Horn and gradually building up, adding more and more instruments (btw Summoning does all these istruments with Keyboard) until it reaches a very epic conclusion. Than comes "South Away", a song dominated by medieval trumpets and some good samples.The chorus is great, and never gets old, and the vocals are first heard on this song, and as usual they are great. Next come In "Hollow Halls Beneath the Fells" and "Our Foes Shall Fall" which I think of a litlle as one song because they give me the same kind of vibe. The verse of In Hollow Halls... and intro of Our Foes Shall Fall are particularily good. "The Mountain Kings Return", one of the longest songs on the cd has a pretty guitar dominated intro (for this cds standards) and a great bridge. All the playing stops and then a solo instrument plays followed by a Sample of "So We Come to it in the End" and a fill into the chorus. Genius song structure for this song. "Runes of Power" is next and the strings and horns remind of the first song. The chorus has no singing except for a sound sample which fits perfectly. Then comes"Ashen Cold". Great intro. Great chorus. Great Bridge. Great Verse. Great Song. The last song is "Farewell" in which Summoning incorperate clean singing for the first time in the chorus and the result is great. Wonderful trumpet lines as well in this song. Very good closer.

Pros:
Good production, vocals, good use of samples, general good feeling and every song has it's own unique style.

Cons: None really, some may find the cd a bit repetitive (not the songs but riffs are usually repeated a lot) but I can find almost nothing wrong here.



Recent reviews by this author
Fanisk NoontideEred Wethrin All Song Ceased
Forest Foredooming the Hope for EternityEmyn Muil Túrin Turambar Dagnir Glaurunga
Deafheaven SunbatherKreuzweg Ost Iron Avantgarde
user ratings (156)
Chart.
4
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Silenius
January 18th 2006


305 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Nevermind...This Message Edited On 01.18.06

Aakon_Keetreh
January 19th 2006


448 Comments


good review!
:thumb:

Dethtrasher
February 17th 2006


2211 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Never heard of this band and I really hate the genre.
The review is good but I thought it was a three man crew.

Neoteric
February 17th 2006


3243 Comments



Never heard of this band and I really hate the genre.

The review is good but I thought it was a three man crew.

Then why did you rate it 4?

Silenius
February 17th 2006


305 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Summoning kicked out their drummer after their first cd and are now only two people.


If you have never heard of the band why did you rate the album???This Message Edited On 02.17.06

Dethtrasher
February 18th 2006


2211 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

nevermindThis Message Edited On 02.18.06

Neoteric
February 18th 2006


3243 Comments


I rated the REVIEW because I thought that it made sense.

I thought that it was the REVIEWS that would be rated, not the bands.

If everyone digged the same band for some reason and the REVIEW(s) was pure crap would you still rate 5:s because you dig the band?

The ratings are your opinion on the album. If you were to rate the review then you could just vote yes or no. You've mucked up all your ratings now

Dethtrasher
February 18th 2006


2211 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I don't care, no one knows how I rate stuff on this site. And no one knows if I told the truth in my previous comments on this review.

Silenius
March 16th 2006


305 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

/Bumped for epic awesomeness.


Soon I will review the new cd by Summoning.

Txus
June 13th 2006


75 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

OMG, I can't believe I didn't saw this review earlier. I think this is an amazing album (As everything Summoning has done) I love it.

Nice review as always.

King_Of_Terrors
June 19th 2006


52 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Noice review. I prefer your track-by-track ones though, but I still like this. Probably my favorite album by Summoning, along with Oath Bound.

King_Of_Terrors
June 19th 2006


52 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I didn't know they used to have a drummer?This Message Edited On 06.19.06

Silenius
June 21st 2006


305 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

They had one up until Lugburz. After that they kicked him out because he was an asshole.

summonerofmetal
February 4th 2007


27 Comments


I've only heard some of these songs but my fav is runes of power this is a hella cool band and you should be b!tch slaped if you say otherwise.

Poet
January 20th 2008


5935 Comments


Ashen Cold is pretty much just beautiful.

Dethtrasher
May 27th 2008


2211 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I'm sorry to say this but I think that the guitars in this album is complete bulls***. I didn't liked this at all to be honest.

Dethtrasher
May 27th 2008


2211 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

God bless double post.This Message Edited On 05.27.08

Hawks
May 27th 2008


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

IMO the only album from Summoning worth listening to is Minas Morgul.

Dethtrasher
May 27th 2008


2211 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Then I will check out that album, but it will most likely be my last one as well.

Hawks
May 27th 2008


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Some of their other albums like Oath Bound and Nightshade Forests are ok, but nothing special. Minas Morgul is the one to go with though. That album is amazing.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy