Adrenaline Mob
Omerta


2.0
poor

Review

by PerpetualChange USER (2 Reviews)
March 13th, 2012 | 38 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: More like a talent circus than an Adrenaline Mob: Lots of skillful performances, but little discipline and even less songwriting.

It is no secret that I did not like the Adrenaline Mob EP much. In my opinion, the EP was quickly thrown together, poorly produced, and very underwhelming in the songwriting department. While this full-length album is much better than the first taste of the Mob we got a couple of months ago, it's still not very good. The musicians are talented, and the actual sound of the album is good; unfortunately, the songs aren't. The project, as a whole, is completely lacking in any substance of maturity.

Regardless, the album starts off on a fairly good note. The first song, Undaunted, is a traditional hard-rock/metal offering, but at least it's got plenty of the promised "adrenaline" the Mob claims to have. The next song, Psychosane, is not bad either, and much better than the version we heard on the EP. Though I can't really pinpoint the difference between the two, the recording here just sounds tighter, more rehearsed, and better sounding. Still, it suffers from the horrendous spoken-word segment. I'm not sure who actually liked that, but Mike Portnoy for some reason does not seem to be able to accept what is perhaps the most common thing said about him since he stopped winning drummer awards: that he needs to step away from the microphone forever (No, Mike, it's not just 'internet trolls' that feel that way).

The best song on the album might be the third song, "Indifferent", which has sort of a classic metal vibe to it (think "Eden's Curse"). At no later point on the album do the Mob sound as sure of themselves and together as they do on "Indifferent", and after the song ends the album plummets in quality. It is as if Omerta follows that typical commercial album format' start hard with three solid songs, throw in a bunch of songs no-one will listen to more than once, and stick a potential single (Angel Eyes) somewhere in the mix near the end of the record. Unfortunately, little about the album is memorable, and when it is, it's often for the wrong reasons: because you hear some really strained vocals (Believe Me), or some really silly lyrics (Freight Train).

There's an undeniable level of talent here, but the end result is a Brooklyn circus. Russell Allen strains his vocals to sound tough and "metal", even more than he has on the last two Symphony X records. Sometimes it sounds good, and other times it sounds like he's trying to hard. Mike Orlando performs the same, or similar, sounding tap-solos over and over again, and never pulls it together to play something that someone who is not a shredder might appreciate. Mike is just there; he gives a good performance, but drums alone can't save the fact that the songs are just not good. The lyrics stink, frankly, and never move beyond the adolescent (I guess being a fan of the band means you consider hormonal teen-rage to be synonymous with 'adrenaline', though).

Given an outside songwriter and decent producer, the band might actually be able to do something interesting. But, as is, they're just as average as average metal gets. This, as sports fans know well, is what happens when you assemble a lot of talent together without a thought for discipline, direction, or maturity.


user ratings (101)
Chart.
2.8
good
other reviews of this album
Subrick (3)
See? Radio rock can be good!...

Palimpsest (3)
Well, this was a surprise....

related reviews

Coverta

Comments:Add a Comment 
Willie
Moderator
March 13th 2012


16117 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Tell me that you didn't steal an Amazon.com review...

Digging: Kenn Nardi - Dancing With the Past

PerpetualChange
March 13th 2012


4 Comments


Nope. I'm the writer in both cases. I usually just post on Amazon, but when I showed a friend my review he said that I should post it here, too. So I did.

Palimpsest
March 13th 2012


77 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

It just so happens that I wrote an Amazon review as well. But I will be posting a review on here with entirely different writing. Please don't copypasta.

AsoTamaki
March 13th 2012


2525 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Lol, Amazon. I only read their reviews when I'm buying no name electronics or something.

Maybe I will review this if no one else gives it a good score.

TriangularDuck
March 13th 2012


87 Comments


really? that chick from fucking Halestorm is on this? And I thought these guys couldn't get any more hilarious

KjSwantko
March 13th 2012


9446 Comments


Look at that album cover

Ikarus14
March 13th 2012


554 Comments


Wow. The past year or two realy weren't kind to Portnoy.

ChuckyTruant
March 13th 2012


15725 Comments


Is teh drumz gud?

Destructerator
March 15th 2012


853 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Giving this a spin, not expecting much musically. That album art is pretty cool though.

Destructerator
March 15th 2012


853 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Lol, Amazon. I only read their reviews when I'm buying no name electronics or something.
I only read their reviews after I'm waiting for something to arrive.


Tikicobra
March 15th 2012


573 Comments


I love that album cover.

D41V30N
March 20th 2012


949 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

"and other times it sounds like he's trying to hard."
Shouldn't it be "too hard"?

Anyway, good and simple review. Pos.
Album is the worst stuff I've heard this year. Mike Portnoy fails. And the drums were so average that it was painfully boring. And song-writing... man... reminded me of Lulu.

Destructerator
March 20th 2012


853 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

The songwriting is fine, the problem is, listening to this album is like eating butter. Portnoy is only in this for the money, in a dying genre.

You don't get into metal anymore for the money.

D41V30N
March 21st 2012


949 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

"Portnoy is only in this for the money, in a dying genre."

He could've at least put some effort into what he did in the album. I mean, I was only listening to some of Dream Theater's earlier albums a few days ago and now I listen to this album and I go like: "Wtf? These two have the same drummer?". The difference in drumming is VAST!

Destructerator
March 23rd 2012


853 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Best way to describe this: I forgot about it the next day.

D41V30N
March 26th 2012


949 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Best way to describe this: a few great musicians making disturbed covers together.

Ticondaroga
March 28th 2012


231 Comments


I haven't heard this yet but it seriously sounds as though half of you rated this down because portnoy
toned down the drumming in this band this isnt prog btw.

AsoTamaki
March 28th 2012


2525 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

That's probably an accurate statement. This is quality hard rock/alternative metal. Check it out.

R6Rider
March 28th 2012


4714 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I haven't heard this yet but it seriously sounds as though half of you rated this down because portnoy
toned down the drumming in this band this isnt prog btw.


Not really. It's actually because if Portnoy wasn't in this band nobody would give a crap about whose playing drums.

It's that average.



Digging: Thou - The Sacrifice

Ticondaroga
March 29th 2012


231 Comments


Well like I said this isn't dream theater, or lte so I wouldn't go into it expecting the usual madness from him on this one its a completly different genre.that being said I haven't heard it yet but the eps drumming fit in with the music it wasn't bad by any means but obvious not spectacular either.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy