The Beatles
Revolver


5.0
classic

Review

by crandynewman USER (38 Reviews)
March 13th, 2012 | 87 replies | 2,853 views


Release Date: 1966 | Tracklist

Review Summary: This album shows the Beatles' Revolving to a new sound for the better!

1 of 6 thought this review was well written

After the bomb known as Rubber Soul, the group had to step up their game. So Ringo, Paul, George, and Ringo had to make a change involving the overall sound of there music, employing a more psychodelic and experimental sound that would later influence all of their albums to come, and had previously only been heard a little bit on Rubber Soul. This is the best direction the band could have took because it's probably the most mature album the band has to date, up to this point.

But you wouldn't know that based of the first song simply entitled Taxman. It's probably one of the worst songs on the album, and its a jarringly realistic tale about the dangers of powers in politics. I don't really like this weird political tone of the song and it makes it feel really odd but it does give the impression that the Beatles are at least trying to write about things that aren't girls and love. Where things really pick up are at the masterpiece of the album called Elenore Rigby. It is definitely one of the best Beatles songs of all time even though it doesn't even feature Ringo or George, instead replacing their parts with violins. It works though because of its depressing nature and great lyrics and melody, along with its stunning simplicity which just makes it way better.

I'm Only Sleeping is one of the other best songs on the album mostly because of its great melody, but then comes a big missed step: Love you To, which is one of the band's many sitar Indian influenced songs which I just don't care for. The sitar is a cool sounding instrument but not fit for entire songs and it never works with any of the completely sitar songs. There is some other great things though like the drug induced Yellow Submarine (which got its own great cartoon) For No One, and Got to Get You Into My Life (which is supposably also about drugs as well). Overall its not one of the best albums by the Beatles but it's certainly up there. This is their rise to power.



Recent reviews by this author
The Beatles Let It BeThe Beatles The Beatles
Stooma Against the WorldThe Beatles Magical Mystery Tour
The Beatles Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club BandSay Anything Anarchy, My Dear
user ratings (2742)
Chart.
4.5
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
crandynewman
March 13th 2012



799 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

part 6

TooLateToGoBack
March 13th 2012



1762 Comments


Great review, Crandy.

I suggest you try to make your summaries a little longer for future reviews, though. 3 paragraphs just doesn't cut it for some of these legendary albums.

Digging: Pianos Become the Teeth - Keep You

crandynewman
March 13th 2012



799 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

thanks toolate!

Palimpsest
March 13th 2012



77 Comments


POS

I mean this review is a pile of shit.

NightProwler
March 13th 2012



6337 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I love "Taxman" - such a powerful, guitar-driven song - and "Love You To" is great. I like their sitar-songs.

Your review wasn't really good either, sorry to say so, but it's very short and only describes a few songs very shortly, not really mentioning an overall feel of the album, other than just saying that it's a more mature album and so.

Your description of the album doesn't sound like a 5.

Slum
March 13th 2012



2579 Comments


"This album shows the Beatles' Revolving to a new sound for the better!"

what?

dimsim3478
March 13th 2012



4902 Comments


32 reviews? Great job, Crandy.












getafuckinglife

Digging: Microwave - Stovall

TITSandGORE
March 13th 2012



47 Comments


this IS a bad review, man. Sorry you had to sit through writing that. I'm sure it was the most dull yet horrifying thing ever. John Lennon would take a dump on you.

sniper
March 13th 2012



19048 Comments


"psychodelic"

TITSandGORE
March 13th 2012



47 Comments


lolz


urnamz2longfixit
March 13th 2012



34 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

um

The7thVermicide
March 13th 2012



925 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Is good but you can make a little bit longer

Recspecs
March 13th 2012



9829 Comments


Hey crandy do you have a girlfriend? Or do you jam your keyboard up your ass every day and call what comes out a review?

newjunkaesthetic93
March 13th 2012



1871 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"So Ringo, Paul, George, and Ringo had to make a change involving the overall sound"

I had no idea Ringo played such a big part in changing their overall sound.

omnipanzer
March 13th 2012



21442 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Might be time to hang this alt up for a while sir.

omnipanzer
March 13th 2012



21442 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm seeing a trend in your typos: Ringo, Paul, George, and Ringo

newjunkaesthetic93
March 13th 2012



1871 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"Overall its not one of the best albums by the Beatles"

Wrong.

omnipanzer
March 13th 2012



21442 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"the most mature album the band has to date, up to this point."
Redundant

"But you wouldn't"
Should a paragraph be started with the word but?

"it never works with any of the completely sitar songs."
Lovely wording here.

"There is some other great things though like the drug induced Yellow Submarine"
*are

You are stating assumption as a fact. It is supposed to be a kids song and have nothing to do with drugs although one could guess all they like. You later state it as a possibility but this sentence needs to be edited.


crandynewman
March 13th 2012



799 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"32 reviews? Great job, Crandy."

thanks dim!


"And yet, you rated this son of a bitch a 5/5"

its still a great album system!


macadoolahicky
March 13th 2012



1835 Comments


Oh boy, you're back



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy