Six Brew Bantha
Six Brew Bantha


4.0
excellent

Review

by B R A N D O N S C O T T USER (103 Reviews)
March 3rd, 2012 | 29 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: the Ted Bundy of grind

In four songs and five minutes flat the Canadian act Six Brew Bantha's self-titled full-length is an uncompromising slab of grindcore/powerviolence; with heavy metal's distortion and hardcore's sense of discord, you can do very little but watch in horror as Six Brew Bantha rips out your throat, its murderous intent moving too quick to prepare reaction.

Six Brew Bantha is much more grindcore than powerviolence - bonds to the more metallic side of the genre are strewn quite literally everywhere, (see opener "Perpetual Debt" for some deliciously deathly riffage) and even most of the album's more "hardcore" elements seem much further rooted in grind than the alternative. The vocals of lead singer Bryan have no small part in this; from filthy gutturals and throaty hardcore howls to frenzied shrieks, his schizophrenic performance often plays deeply into the perception of the music, a force which clearly dominates the overall vibe of the record.

Whether it be the straight-up blasting of "Violence Fuels Hatred" or the powerviolent dissonance of "From Vice To Crutch", there isn't really a "weakness" to be found on Six Brew Bantha; the songwriting as well as its execution is superb. Sure, a few more songs wouldn't have hurt, but its brevity is more a gift than curse - the four short yet concise tracks make this extremely easy to revisit. When it comes to providing quality grindcore, we can ask no more of this Canadian power trio.



Recent reviews by this author
Cara Neir The OverwatchCarved Cross Demo III
Black Beasts IIAzarath Blasphemers' Maledictions
Doth Datura WrightiiCara Neir Sublimation Therapy
user ratings (12)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
thechodewarrior (4.5)
It's not possible to listen to this and not want to break sh*t....


Comments:Add a Comment 
TheSpirit
March 3rd 2012


17986 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

[a]http://sixbrewbantha.bandcamp.com/album/s-t-lp[/a]

Album is available for free download and I highly recommend it. Been blasting this all day and it is truly awesome as it the rest of the group's discography. Review is short but once you've heard this it will all fall into place.


Enjoy

Digging: Volahn - Aq Ab Al

jayfatha
March 3rd 2012


2882 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Pos'd damn just checked this out and it's good as fuck

TheSpirit
March 3rd 2012


17986 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thanks dude, glad you enjoyed


dunno whether to raise my rating or not, there really isn't anything wrong with this at all but since it's sooo short giving it a four just didn't feel right

kount
March 3rd 2012


1279 Comments


descent into nothing is gudtoo

jayfatha
March 3rd 2012


2882 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't know i'm thinking a 4 probably, it is too short but it feels better than 3.5

Tyrael
March 3rd 2012


20945 Comments


does this have polyrhythms

Digging: Azealia Banks - Broke With Expensive Taste

TheSpirit
March 3rd 2012


17986 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yes but they hide it well



very well

Tyrael
March 3rd 2012


20945 Comments


one does not simply

hide polyrhythms

TheSpirit
March 3rd 2012


17986 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I ask only for the strength to defend my people!

Xenophanes
Emeritus
March 3rd 2012


10617 Comments


This sounds interesting, great review.


is your name a gundam ref?

TheSpirit
March 3rd 2012


17986 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thanks man :]

and yes, it is a gundam ref haha

Hawks
March 3rd 2012


35838 Comments


Hmmm I might check this out. Excellent review as always buddy.

TheSpirit
March 3rd 2012


17986 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks mang. You should definitely check it out though, no if and/or buts about it mister



TheSpirit
March 3rd 2012


17986 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Had to up my rating

Apollo
March 3rd 2012


10357 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

love the band name and I can dig the music too

thechodewarrior
March 4th 2012


62 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

goddamn i love this band. they're local and they're really good guys too

CaptainDooRight
March 5th 2012


30215 Comments


interesting, may have to check this

Digging: Fleurety - Min Tid Skal Komme

trappedinside
March 7th 2012


1 Comments


whoa... thank you so much for the kind words but the full LP is actually 18 songs, the whole thing will go up online as soon as the cover art is finished (which should be any day now), we are doing a 2 month north american tour in support of the LP, if we're playing near you come hang out with us! dates can be found here: http://youwillconsume.blogspot.com

TheSpirit
March 15th 2012


17986 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

wow, awesome, can't wait to check out the other tracks

DinoCap
May 24th 2012


1 Comments


Can anyone hook it up with a download link?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy