Napalm Death
Utilitarian


4.5
superb

Review

by TBliss2 USER (24 Reviews)
February 27th, 2012 | 123 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: For those that can bring themselves to listen to anything post - nineteen eighty five, it is clear that these veterans are on top of their game.

Extreme metal royalty in their own right, the twenty five year and counting career of Napalm Death has been astonishingly consistent. With such genre defining releases as 'Scum' and 'Fear, Emptiness, Despair' shaping what we will come to know as grindcore, the bands fearsome, blugeoning wall of noise sound may have remained unrelentingly vicious, yet it is mabye for this reason that it is easy to forget that the Birmingham quartet have always found room to embrace the leftfield. This is no more apparent than on the bands quite exceptional fifteenth effort 'Utilitarian'.

What is so remarkable here is how Napalm Death are continuing to redefine what can be perceived as 'extreme'. Of course, the album contains a glut of the trademark bile spitting intensity, such as the ravenous 'Errors In The Signals' and some skin flaying riff work of 'Quaranteen' or 'Orders Of Magnitude's punkish snarl. There is certainly no lack of the sonic violence that the band has always served up so vehemently, indeed at points they sound more irate than ever.

Yet, the inclusion of some undoubtedly head turning endeavors really do display a healthy willingness to avoid treading water. From atmospheric (although still wholly sinister) opener 'Circumspect', through to some sparring use of clean vocals on 'The Wolf I Feed', these new elements in the context of the bands craft come as a rather jarring eye opener, cleverly subverting any notions of extremity which we may have going into a Napalm Death record.

Special mention however must go the appearance of some shriekingly discordant saxophone on album highlight 'Everyday Pox'. Weaving its way shrilly over the relentless blasting, it is inharmonious, viseral, chaotic...and works flawlessly, evoking a stunning sense of hysteria that would have been nigh on impossible to achieve had the band not maintained such a keen eagarness to experiment.

'Utilitarian' ultimately proves what a momumental force Napalm Death continue to be today. Whilst many may dwell on the bands past glories, the fact remains that these pissed off Brummies continue to push boundaries and break rules when simultaniously remaining uncompromisingly savage and enduringly sincere. For those that can bring themselves to listen to anything post - nineteen eighty five, it is clear that these veterans are on top of their game.



Recent reviews by this author
Sacrilegious Throne Eternal ApostasyObscene Entity Obscene Entity
The Burial In The Taking Of FleshLower Than Atlantis Changing Tune
Martyr Defiled In ShadowsEveryone Dies In Utah Polarities (+//-)
user ratings (218)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
TBliss2
February 27th 2012


504 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Cheers for the pos dude. Cant get enough of this album.

stabbler
February 27th 2012


1415 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

loved time waits for no slave - as well their old stuff of course - so can't wait to pick this up

TBliss2
February 27th 2012


504 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I dont think you will be dissapointed man, I think this is the best thing they have done in a while

KILL
February 27th 2012


71981 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

great album

Digging: Exodus - Blood In, Blood Out

TBliss2
February 27th 2012


504 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nah was released today in Europe.

TBliss2
February 27th 2012


504 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Riff, the first Napalm demo was released in 1985, which was my point. Do your research. And as for everything else, you're just being fastidious because you dont agree with my opinion. Made me laugh though.

TBliss2
February 27th 2012


504 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I wasnt talking about the grind scene, I was talking about the band, clearly.

TBliss2
February 27th 2012


504 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Whatever, your opinion, no reason to neg and be such a dick about it. Review explains well enough why I think what I think.

KILL
February 27th 2012


71981 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

good review

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
February 27th 2012


7375 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah this is pretty great.

Good review, don't think this is anywhere near a 4.5 though.

TBliss2
February 27th 2012


504 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Cheers guys.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
February 27th 2012


6222 Comments


Damn, everybody says this slays, I should listen to the album stream asap.


Some corrections:

Extreme metal royalty in their own right, the twenty five year and counting career of Napalm Death has been astonishingly consistent

An extreme metal royalty in its own right, the twenty five year and counting career of Napalm Death has been astonishingly consistent

With such genre defining releases as 'Scum' and 'Fear, Emptiness, Despair' shaping what we will come to know as grindcore, the bands fearsome, blugeoning wall of noise sound may have remained unrelentingly vicious, yet it is mabye for this reason that it is easy to forget that the Birmingham quartet have always found room to embrace the leftfield

run-on sentence. Please split it and add punctuation, especially commas.


The text could use some more proofreading, in regard to the text flow.

It could be only me, though.

Digging: Seduced (AT) - The Proclamation

Hawks
February 27th 2012


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's good stuff. Pretty much what I was expecting.

Tyrael
February 27th 2012


20929 Comments


gd lbm

TheNotrap
February 27th 2012


8109 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Rules

Wizard
February 27th 2012


19556 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Tbliss, I would take a few pointers from Riff, as big a douche troll as he is. Fade knows his stuff.

'Fear, Emptiness, Despair' shaping what we will come to know as grindcore,

Fear, Emptiness, Despair was not part of the shaping of grindcore. By that point, they were more in tuned with taking grind in a different direction, mainly a more death metal direction. Grind had already been established at that point.

I know this is my opinion, but following ND for about 15 years now, I don't think this is anything groundbreaking, thus warranting a 4.5/ 5 is a little steep. They've done this same formula since Utopia Banished, mind you have done it better on some albums rather than others. I think you've given this album like 2 listens since it leaked a few days back, jumped all over the hype that they've been around for 25+ years and rushed a review out. Your writing style sums up the album well but I feel you're kind of a noob to Napalm Death. Have a pos' though for praising one of the most consistent bands on the face of this earth.

Digging: Nero Di Marte - Derivae

TBliss2
February 27th 2012


504 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I respect what you are saying Wizard, but Ive been listening to Napalm for just as long as you and have had this album for well over a week (I write for a another website and was sent this). I've taken the album in with repeated listens, and this is what I think, no matter what people think of me as a result, as a noob or whatever. I think my point was more about how, even so long into their career, they are still continuing to switch things up and experiment with different elements. I do get your point about FED, mabye I should have stated the more deathgrind direction they were beginning to take. But its cool dude, thanks for the comment and the pos.

Kris.
February 27th 2012


12404 Comments


slays hard

CakeWithCream
February 27th 2012


1025 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

everyday pox and leper colony are great tracks, but riff is kinda right about your summary, considering their classic album Scum wasn't released til '88

TBliss2
February 27th 2012


504 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

87, and like I said, their first demo was released in 85, I was making a point about die hard fans which dismiss any modern output.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy