Farewell Republic
Burn the Boats


4.5
superb

Review

by SowingSeason STAFF
February 23rd, 2012 | 88 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: One hell of a debut.

If you have ever woken up and watched the mist settle over a lake just before sunrise, you might have experienced a little piece of Burn the Boats. If you have ever heard the hellish clamor of metal striking metal in a horrendous car crash, you may also have experienced something from Burn the Boats. This debut album from Farewell Republic is a rare blend of beauty and chaos, mixing subgenres that range from shoegaze and dream-pop to psychedelic rock and indie-folk. At times dancing like flames in a burning forest and at other times flowing forth with the softness of a pristine brook, this is a record that dares to throw itself directly between placidity and pandemonium. It isn’t always pretty, and sometimes the arrangements will leave you wondering – but that’s what makes this such a haunting and daringly original masterpiece.

For as dissonant as it can be, Burn the Boats swells with hope-filled melodies. Sometimes it is in plain view, and other times it is hidden behind walls and walls of layered, distorted guitars. But throughout the entire experience, there is a pervading sense of harmony stemming from the album’s surprising unification of just about every style that it employs. From the way that ‘Time Won’t Mind’ resplendently erupts about two minutes in to the church organs and brass orchestra that close out ‘For Your Health’, the record is packed with unforgettable tunes, surprising twists, and transcendent atmospheres that never let up. The two best examples may be ‘Crimes’ and ‘Wake’, the first of which is driven by a sinister chord progression and 1920’s-styled classical piano, while the second revels in an uplifting chorus that floats just above the jarring, discordant electric riffs that saw through the air. Still, the album's whole is greater than the sum of its parts, with every single track contributing something unique and completely essential. For those who enjoy a murky, challenging, but ultimately uplifting listen, Burn the Boats is an album that shouldn’t be permitted to fall between the cracks.



Recent reviews by this author
Andrew McMahon in the Wilderness Andrew McMahon in the WildernessTitus Andronicus The Monitor
Tigers on Trains Antarctica In ColorAlt-J This Is All Yours
Yellowcard Lift a SailRobert Plant Lullaby And… The Ceaseless Roar
user ratings (29)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
February 22nd 2012


4507 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This sounds great

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
February 22nd 2012


16403 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

A rather quick write-up for an album that has really caught my attention. It isn't as fleshed out as it could be, but I hope this review gives you enough of an idea that you'll know if you want to check it out or not.

Stream:
http://music.aol.com/new-releases-full-cds/spinner#/12

Digging: Weezer - Everything Will Be Alright in the End

Xenophanes
Emeritus
February 22nd 2012


10611 Comments


Women has piqued my interest

Digging: Kayo Dot - Coffins On Io

iFghtffyrdmns
February 22nd 2012


7047 Comments


are their any bands with republic in the name that sowing won't review?

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
February 22nd 2012


16403 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Nope. And even less that I'd give lower than a 4 to

iFghtffyrdmns
February 22nd 2012


7047 Comments


wait.

So there are zero bands with republic in the name that you wouldn't review.
And less than zero bands with republic in the name that you'd give below a 4 to.

plz link me to these negative republic bands i'm sick of punk rock and that sounds kewl.

NOT EVEN READING YOUR REVIEW YET POINTLESSLY POINTING OUT LOGICAL FALLACIES IN THE DISCUSSION YES HA

Eclecticist
February 22nd 2012


3863 Comments


cool I usually like the music that you rate as a 4 or higher so I will definitely check this out

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
February 22nd 2012


16403 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

This isn't what I usually like though

Eclecticist
February 22nd 2012


3863 Comments


oh cool, a surprise

Scoot
February 22nd 2012


17812 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

good review will check

Scoot
February 22nd 2012


17812 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i don't know what the fuck it is but two things:

1) it's awesome
2) it's loud as hell

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
February 22nd 2012


16403 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Sweet let's get those ratings rolling in

Scoot
February 22nd 2012


17812 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

not done yet but what the hell

it's a 4.1-2 so far

Knott-
Emeritus
February 22nd 2012


10198 Comments


Seeing the word "dissonant" in a Sowing review: finish your entire drink

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
February 22nd 2012


16403 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

happens like once out of every 173 reviews

foxblood
February 23rd 2012


6797 Comments


man sounds amazing, i'll give it a listen

static2dope
February 23rd 2012


898 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is crazy good and way better than what I was expecting at first (based off the recommendations)

iambandersnatch
February 23rd 2012


1485 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

first song just blew me away a little bit on first listen (which is rare), this sounds really
promising

deepintheorchard
February 23rd 2012


644 Comments


^^^^Same here. This shit is crazy.

iambandersnatch
February 23rd 2012


1485 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

When he says "burn the boats" at the beginning he sounds like Dexter. Which is funny because Dexter loves boats. Listened to the rest, pretty good but I don't think anything else touches how satisfying the last section of the first track is.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy